Standard Chartered Marathon 2009

Davidklt

wanna give a big [grouphug][thumbsup] to the volunteers of this event. THANK YOU. u are the unsung heroes [sunny]

Which section of the volunteer team?

The Medical team? Marshal team? or those giving free noodles at noon?

from news, there is this guy proposed to his gf and got accepted...what a tough and tiring way to propose, hopefully the gf appreciates the thought and not expecting for a romantic place to be propose...

No wonder! I saw this guy with a bouquet of roses while limping my way past Esplanade ( i had severe cramps at 40km and 41km...i wonder if any of you that were running notice the pathetic guy by the road at those distances). He had a marathon tag on ( oh how i hate him at that moment....finished and had a mood for romance while i was hurting so much) and i was kidding with my friend that he's going to propose.......so i was right! ^_^

And yes, i also hydrate myself before and during each of the water stations, i still had cramps, guess i didn't train hard enough to prevent them coming.

Also, i would like to thank Simplesilver and all the volunteers. All of them did excellent jobs.

Although i do have a question for Simplesilver....did the organzing committee purposely put prettier support girls at the starting distance to spur people on? Not that it affect me....a lot......>.>

Edited by S7834g

And yes, i also hydrate myself before and during each of the water stations, i still had cramps, guess i didn't train hard enough to prevent them coming.

It's the depletion of salts in the body during endurance races, and insufficient training. And I was just told drinking 100 Plus in the morning of the marathon is not good enough, must be drinking 100 Plus (or other sports drinks) for 2 weeks before race. This is from a veteran marathoner.

Can always try it out next year! :D[thumbsup]

It's the depletion of salts in the body during endurance races, and insufficient training. And I was just told drinking 100 Plus in the morning of the marathon is not good enough, must be drinking 100 Plus (or other sports drinks) for 2 weeks before race. This is from a veteran marathoner.

Can always try it out next year! :D[thumbsup]

lol. This year kanna takan pretty jialat...still in much consideration for ANY marathon in the future.Thanks for the advice tho. [laugh]

Congrats to all who ran yesterday. :D Hope everyone achieved their targets but if not, rest up and we can encourage and motivate each other again next year. [thumbsup]

First time doing SCSM and it was a real eye-opener. Couldn't imagine such a huge crowd as I approached the finishing line. I must have pissed quite a few people off 'cos I was knocking into them. :ph34r: I was just focusing on putting one foot ahead of the other at that point. Haha.

Going to sign up for Sundown soon, hope to see you guys in the Sundown thread (if there is one) next year. [cool]

lol. This year kanna takan pretty jialat...still in much consideration for ANY marathon in the future.Thanks for the advice tho. [laugh]

its pretty addictive.. and v satisfying to complete

sundown is a v different feel. some likes it, some hates it

due to different environment and less pple.

i find standchart too crowded.

sundown is more like running ur own race...

---

abit the pain.. 1st time is always v pain..

like i MC 2 days.. the sun .. cant walk .. like can limp 1/2 step at a time.. imagine tat time

i think walk 50m abt 15 mins to car... then drive home at 60kmh due to leg weak..

and worst to come.. multi storey carpark at 3rd floor.. limping down.

now.. i more training more ready.

and a good nike elite socks.. with a high end $200+ acis gel shoes makes a difference.

no more blister like last yr

shoes now i no longer use army shoe which got support then no cushion , numbs my leg after 30km. my acis still can wriggle and feel after i completed.

leg only 1 pair... cannot change... shoes can, thus must give ur leg the best if u wanna run far.

Sundown feeling is very different.

The starting time for 42km is at 12midnight!

So you get to enjoy the cool breeze(if you are lucky enough),

and enjoy the view while jogging along ecp, the night view with stars! :D

just for more info. my first marathon was Sundown 2009,

I witness a shooting star at 23km while talking on the phone.

It was really really beautiful~ :wub:

Also, i would like to thank Simplesilver and all the volunteers. All of them did excellent jobs.

Although i do have a question for Simplesilver....did the organzing committee purposely put prettier support girls at the starting distance to spur people on? Not that it affect me....a lot......>.>

EHH. Welcome and thanks. It was nothing la~ :D

Hmm. Not really on purpose la.

Because the committee never see the volunteers before.

Perhaps you got lucky this year with all the prettier ones? [:p]

i like sun down more.. no sunburn hahahah ... but i hate the bridges... sian ... 3rd one on steps and 4th one already piang liao....

yeah. hate those stairs! so irritating.

but this year sundown I cheated 2km. =P

at 19km, we cut and walked to mac and eat breakfast.

than walked out and found we were at 21km already. woooo!

yeah. hate those stairs! so irritating.

but this year sundown I cheated 2km. =P

at 19km, we cut and walked to mac and eat breakfast.

than walked out and found we were at 21km already. woooo!

You sure? Becos 21km is nowhere near Mcdonald... At 19km, you would have passed Mcdonald isn't it?

19km haven't pass mac! (:

21km was at this overhead bridge connecting to Marina Parade which is not far from Mac.

Or am I wrong?

EHH. Welcome and thanks. It was nothing la~ :D

Hmm. Not really on purpose la.

Because the committee never see the volunteers before.

Perhaps you got lucky this year with all the prettier ones? [:p]

No lah, because i maintained a slow pace at the start so i kept to the left. Therefore, I had a good look at the cheerers....but i guess everyone else was more concentrated on their run to notice. Can't blame me for being "distracted". [:p]

Hahaha. You kinda reminded of a Youtube clip -->

If you cant be distracted, you are well-trained, or you could be just inhuman? :/