"White Van" scam-just to warn other fellow forumer

Topaz

Hey everyone,

I was searching actively online to look for help on this matter.

Pls advise. My dad was cheated into buying the speakers from 2 malaysian ah beng and they cheated him of $900, issued him a pseudo receipt stating $200 purchases instead. When my father called the company they had the audacity to tell my father to bring the receipt as a "proof" against them lor.

I was so mad when I found out my father bought from these crooks.

I just want to know if the brand of the speakers you bought were also ORIX.

Can we band together and take action against them? I believe there is a syndicate lurking around to prey on unsuspecting people.

Yes my father is gullible in handing them so much money, you can say serve him right for believing their stories but they were really aggressive.

I called the police and they said that it wasn't really cheating since my father willingly gave the money but i do believe their methods are illegal

Any advise since we have their van details what to do to them.

Don't we have any law that protects consumers. As I am currently a student I really don't know how should I go about with the procedures. Help Help!! since we can't get our money back we should help deter them from cheating others.

They strike at yew tee area and I believe in other heartlands as well.

On 12/7/2009 at 9:25 AM, Beautiful_dae84 said:

Hey everyone,

Pls advise. My dad was cheated into buying the speakers from 2 malaysian ah beng and they cheated him of $900, issued him a pseudo receipt stating $200 purchases instead. When my father called the company they had the audacity to tell my father to bring the receipt as a "proof" against them lor.

Can we band together and take action against them? I believe there is a syndicate lurking around to prey on unsuspecting people.

Yes my father is gullible in handing them so much money, you can say serve him right for believing their stories but they were really aggressive.

I called the police and they said that it wasn't really cheating since my father willingly gave the money but i do believe their methods are illegal

Don't we have any law that protects consumers. As I am currently a student I really don't know how should I go about with the procedures. Help Help!! since we can't get our money back we should help deter them from cheating others.

sorry man...but take it as a lesson learnt...

On 11/27/2009 at 8:55 AM, Topaz said:

Wifey was in driving off car when a van stop beside her n a AhBeng in uniform signal her to stop n wind down windscreen, Ah beng ask my wife for help n ask her if she have a moment to spare, wifey come down n they ask her if she can take their goods-some speakers into our car, wife say dun wan but Ah beng say they really can't bring this speaker back to their office or they will be in trouble, They told wifey that these speaker cost $2999 n show her a mag wth the picture of the speaker, wifey say no need but they block her n refuse to let her get back into her car n beg her to help them, n ask for some "beer money" $800... wifey knows something is fishy but as she is all alone n worried that they turn violent, she told them only have $50, they ask if she have ATM card to draw more money, as wifey is rushing for time n these r 3 ah bengs corner her she no choice but relent, she brought the speakers fr them.... it is actually a low-end speaking selling at a mid-range speaker price....

In future if any forumer saw this van stop beside u n ask u for help to take their speaker n ask for coffee money, just drive off immediately, don't entertain them...it is a scam!! [:(]

btw, the van no. is GW 5884 A but the alphabet may be wrong... anyway this van is not white but green/blue colour;

May refer to this site for more info...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_van_speaker_scam it is a long time scam but many pple is still fallen for it, n they seem pretty aggressive recently.

report this case to the police, they will do something about it.

On 12/7/2009 at 9:25 AM, Beautiful_dae84 said:

Hey everyone,

Can u post a copy of the receipt here ?

On 12/9/2009 at 12:23 PM, Blackseal said:

Can u post a copy of the receipt here ?

ya sure... they even gave a handphone number with teh "salespersons" name. Then everytime you call them they don't pick up or they simply say this is a shared telephone. I checked with M1 this is a prepaid sim card. They can't trace those scammers.

post-59788-1260528179_thumb.jpg

post-59788-1260528207_thumb.jpg

On 12/11/2009 at 10:43 AM, Beautiful_dae84 said:

ya sure... they even gave a handphone number with teh "salespersons" name. Then everytime you call them they don't pick up or they simply say this is a shared telephone. I checked with M1 this is a prepaid sim card. They can't trace those scammers.

Actually u can do something about it to warrant the gov attention :

1) Make a report at commercial crime division and a police report to get the ball rolling.

2) Post this story and attach a copy of the same receipt for readers to see. Let the public be aware of such scam

3) Send an email to law minister K. Shanmmugam asking him to direct the respective department to look into this matter. This will expedite investigation.

4) Make a criminal complaint at the sub court against the perpetrator via their co and suppposed salesperson. They will be asked to defend themselves in court.

5) Get as many reporters to interview you over this matter via Straits Times, Newpaper, Today, chinese press etc etc...this will draw attention and warn others of such scams.

Let's just hope the members of such syndicates get caught and charged to save innocent victims from further harassments and scams...

On 11/27/2009 at 9:57 AM, Soundphile said:

not just 2-3 yrs ago.. i encountered them abt 6-7 yrs back.. can't believe they r still doing it.. LOL

Definitely more than ten yrs. I kena from them. [:(]

On 12/11/2009 at 10:57 AM, Blackseal said:

Actually u can do something about it to warrant the gov attention :

1) Make a report at commercial crime division and a police report to get the ball rolling.

2) Post this story and attach a copy of the same receipt for readers to see. Let the public be aware of such scam

3) Send an email to law minister K. Shanmmugam asking him to direct the respective department to look into this matter. This will expedite investigation.

4) Make a criminal complaint at the sub court against the perpetrator via their co and suppposed salesperson. They will be asked to defend themselves in court.

5) Get as many reporters to interview you over this matter via Straits Times, Newpaper, Today, chinese press etc etc...this will draw attention and warn others of such scams.

Let's just hope the members of such syndicates get caught and charged to save innocent victims from further harassments and scams...

I don't mind doing all these but point 5 is the problem. If we draw alot of attention, these gangsters might find trouble. They work as a syndicate. eventhough we can nab a few of them but the rest will come after my dad coz my father was wearing his uniform that day when he was aproached and they know his work place. so in other words my father is afraid of further troubles. I tried posting in stomp to warn others but they didn't publish my story [mad]

On 12/11/2009 at 3:22 PM, Beautiful_dae84 said:

I don't mind doing all these but point 5 is the problem. If we draw alot of attention, these gangsters might find trouble. They work as a syndicate. eventhough we can nab a few of them but the rest will come after my dad coz my father was wearing his uniform that day when he was aproached and they know his work place. so in other words my father is afraid of further troubles. I tried posting in stomp to warn others but they didn't publish my story [mad]

Bro...I understand your point...but u must remember they have scammed so many unsuspecting victims....you do not wish to see another helpless woman or guy to be a victim of such scams...Right ? Worst point is they attempt to use force on some victims....that is a big NO NO...So if u have the power to stop them, I think u and other victims should come forward to do the right thing by what I've suggested. The more victims come forward...the press will take note and publish a story. Syndicate or not...when there is a story / headline...the gov will have to take action to appease the public....Remember the old days when our country have so many gangster ? It's becoz many people complaint and the gov took action to eradicate them...If you are complacent....nothing will happen...You have to start the ball rolling my friend...

A woman's reaction to violent behaviour is different from a man's. A man may think he can fight himself out of the situation, but a woman has more to worry about e.g. rape, bruises,etc. Of course, unless its a butch then different story lah [cool]

On 12/12/2009 at 2:35 AM, Xefera said:

A woman's reaction to violent behaviour is different from a man's. A man may think he can fight himself out of the situation, but a woman has more to worry about e.g. rape, bruises,etc. Of course, unless its a butch then different story lah [cool]

agree. thats why always try to stay in the car especially encountering suspicious strangers. you never know what they are going to do.

On 12/12/2009 at 2:35 AM, Xefera said:

ps. uu replying to which post? lol.

I kenna them outside lavender mrt before, juz got out of car only they drive up and tell me got "free" speakers wanna give me, i tell them not interested and they were like: "What? Free u also dun want?" I shake my head and walk off. Surprise they neva perster me somemore but instead pester another guy behind me....maybe i look poor? Hahaha

On 12/20/2009 at 3:32 PM, Geminik said:

I kenna them outside lavender mrt before, juz got out of car only they drive up and tell me got "free" speakers wanna give me, i tell them not interested and they were like: "What? Free u also dun want?" I shake my head and walk off. Surprise they neva perster me somemore but instead pester another guy behind me....maybe i look poor? Hahaha

Exactly the same thing happened to me 3 months ago at a MSCP at Hougang Pt area. I was there cleaning up my car.

They looked shock like free also don't want. Last unit already. Fin can close shop. Asking for small coppee money.

I was just thinking where got free lunch in sg? Then the white van just sped off to another MSCP nearby. Too tired and shock to properly react then. Should have taken down their plate num.

Later I was worried they would come back n scratch my car, so I parked elsewhere that day.