Need advise about causeway jams

Jubilong

I am planning a driving trip sometimt next month to malacca and have to come back 12th Dec which is a saturday night.

What is the best time to cross the causeway or 2nd link? What are the timing to avoid? much appreciated as I dont want to sit in the jam with the kids and also to plan my start off time from malacca.

If Saturday, mostly causeway will jam, even up to mid night. Take note now is school holiday.

But 2nd link should be safe, except weekdays peak hours, most of the time smooth traffic.

Ok thanks for all the replies. I would not mind paying more for 2nd link as long as it does not jam up. I guess I will leave malacca by 7pm and be back by 11pm hopefully...

u be wrong bout 2nd link

sg custom will most likely be smooth at times..

but just before u reached msia customs...

i ever kena...

jammed 2 km around the green colour msia road sign till customs

1.5 hours to clear...

GOOD LUCK

hi TS. coming back on sat night should be ok but try not to arrive at custom near to midnight coz the sg side would have less manpower to handle and mostly weekends lots of SGreans gg over for their weekly grocery trips (me included : p) and the jam wll usually start about 11pm onwards. This is the time where ICA guys changing shift too. Also, the boot checking will be more stricter on weekends knowing that we have lots of things cross over from boleh land to SG.

Not too sure about 2nd link as I seldom use (too ex la) and nothing to shop within 5km of the MY custom vicinity. But i remember when you reach SG customs the immigration lanes are quite messy if there are jams.

Hmm why not enjoy yourself longer at jonker there and come back later so as to maximise the time spent there. Your kids perhaps would also be fast asleep already due to the long car ride. [;)]

this malacca trip is for some business and then I have something important to attend to the next morning so need the rest the nite before..

Better to be informed...

u be wrong bout 2nd link

sg custom will most likely be smooth at times..

but just before u reached msia customs...

i ever kena...

jammed 2 km around the green colour msia road sign till customs

1.5 hours to clear...

GOOD LUCK

Yea, entering MY via 2nd link can be a horror at times. You can't see the jam until you go down the slope as you cross the 2nd half of the bridge. From that point to the custom is still another 2 km away. Sianz big time. If you are not the hiong type, do go near the left side of the lane. There will be lots of cut queue cars trying to eat into your lane as you reach nearer to the custom. Once someone start to cut queue, quickly another line will form behind this car. It's frustrating at times.

dear all,

.... jams at both links are unpredictable... peak is confirmed crowded... but for off-peak, to many ppl assume its off peak liao so totally unpredictable... a bit of luck is required to avoid a jam...

if you need to plan ahead and die die hate jams... try using the ferry service at Tanah Merah... scheduled timings... ^_^ The ferry operates four times a day and has capacity for 400 passengers and 70 cars on its car deck.

www.myoutdoor.com/desaru/gettingthere.htm

if you need to plan ahead and die die hate jams... try using the ferry service at Tanah Merah... scheduled timings... ^_^ The ferry operates four times a day and has capacity for 400 passengers and 70 cars on its car deck.

Hrrr ? Got car ferry to desaru mei ? I thot this service was terminated long time ago ?

i thought so too... 2 months i was drving along changi coastal road... just drove in the carpark there to have a puff... i VERY clearly saw the 3/4 tank sign there... unless i was dreaming?... ^_^