Which business practices are unethical?

Ahtong

- Jack up prices before declaring storewide sale so that sale price = regular market price

- Claim you are almost about to win a prize when your actual chances are still 1 in a million

- Sell freebies as regular items

- Leave out GST when quoting prices

- Don't have stock, say have stock then make you wait long long

Anymore examples to discuss?

Edited by Ahtong

Bro, increase by 50% then reduce by 50% = 75% of original price. [:p]

For the GST portion, they are supposed to quote with GST unless there is a service tax which will be charged. Else you can complain to IRAS.

Edited my original post fill in the lobang [:p]

So that means all GST registered business other than F&B must quote prices inclusive of GST?

Aunty Lucy.

I used to buy the garlic roasted ground nuts for my dad. 1 bag used to cost $1.00. Out of the blue.. they suddenly price it $1.40 then reduce it to $1.20 then still have the cheek to put a peg that states "We absorb the additional 2% for 6 months". I lodge a complain to a bureau who is out to catch people who intend to take advantage of the increase in GST but... there are no action instead, they went to catch some kopitiam.

On 11/25/2009 at 4:22 AM, Ahtong said:

Edited my original post fill in the lobang [:p]

So that means all GST registered business other than F&B must quote prices inclusive of GST?

3.3 Price Display

3.3.1 Is it mandatory to display price tags which are inclusive of GST?

Yes, all prices displayed, advertised, published or quoted by a GST-registered person for any supply of goods or services should be inclusive of GST, unless prior approval has been sought from the Comptroller of GST to do otherwise.

There is only a few that are exempted, especially those that impose a service charge. The GST is still unknown & dependent on the service charge hence the exception.

i thk Sing Pools....the odds are sh*t...if the old uncles and aunties understood this and parked their regular betting money into a 30yr annuity, they no need to rely on CPF liao....sucks man! instead now so many auntie uncle have to wash toilet and collect tables...

On 11/25/2009 at 4:52 AM, Little_prince said:

for a live demo of unethical business practices just pay a visit to SLS....

On 11/25/2009 at 5:13 AM, Ngck said:

whatever Banks, petrol companies and SLS ah bengs are doing this very moment

wads SLS ?