Property tax is raised based on assumption

Help1

Reason for property tax hike

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/My%2B...122-181541.html

Sun, Nov 22, 2009

The Straits Times

By Sue-Ann Chia SENIOR POLITICAL CORRESPONDENT

THE property tax of HDB flats is being raised next year partly to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise, said Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew.

He gave the reason on Sunday when he was asked, at a dialogue with Aljunied-Hougang residents, whether the Government could have delayed it since the recession has just started to ease.

Noting that the adjustment had been delayed once, in 2008, Rear-Admiral (NS) Lui said: 'The problem is the longer you defer it, the larger the increase will be in the property taxes if HDB prices continues to go up.'

So will the property tax be lowered if the home price drops??? seems that Govt wants to take money from peasant first...how abt introducing further pay cut to all ministers inorder to forecast high inflation....

Reason for property tax hike

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/My%2B...122-181541.html

Sun, Nov 22, 2009

The Straits Times

By Sue-Ann Chia SENIOR POLITICAL CORRESPONDENT

THE property tax of HDB flats is being raised next year partly to avoid having to introduce a bigger increase later should home prices continue to rise, said Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew.

He gave the reason on Sunday when he was asked, at a dialogue with Aljunied-Hougang residents, whether the Government could have delayed it since the recession has just started to ease.

Noting that the adjustment had been delayed once, in 2008, Rear-Admiral (NS) Lui said: 'The problem is the longer you defer it, the larger the increase will be in the property taxes if HDB prices continues to go up.'

So will the property tax be lowered if the home price drops??? seems that Govt wants to take money from peasant first...how abt introducing further pay cut to all ministers inorder to forecast high inflation....

They can say GST raise is to help the poor liao.... what else they cannot say [thumbsdown] Lets move on

Sillypore is out of a recession so its time for them to raise everything again.

Electricity up... now thinking of ways to generate more public transport users. After that can up the fares again due to the effort spent.

Property taxes up, never mind that 3rm flats got hit the hardest in terms of percentage. An increase in home value must be good for you right? You can CASH OUT!!! Never mind that you will still have to pay exorbitant pricing for the next home, never mind that a significant portion of that increase goes back to CPF, after all, you can retire in JB when old.

Never mind that HDB gives 90% of valuation in event of fore-closure, gahment knows best. Even a PI will give you at least paper value + body!

Never mind that salaries have stagnated over the years due to certain factors, never mind the Gini Coefficient, never mind the income disparity. At least Singaporeans can still find dignified employment as tissue sellers, toilet watchers and table washers.

Our GDP is growing, hence it must be good for Singaporeans right? Psst... GDP is growing.. Time for us to raise their pay again if not a large % increase will make the public angry again.

Oh.. and we really need to have 10% GST. It seems that the poor in Singapore needs help.

We really need to move away from the 1 man 1 vote system too. After all, only those who are educated should know what's best right?

Higher housing prices create a negative impact on consumption expenditures by locking up significant disposable income for a long period of time.

Oh... HDB suffered $2,000,000,000 SGD loss this year.... and Temasek is selling bonds...

Citigroup on Global Imbalance.

Link.

They can say GST raise is to help the poor liao.... what else they cannot say [thumbsdown] Lets move on

yeah lor, ERP to help singaporean own cars, Foreign talent to create jobs, high pay for MPs to prevent corruption [bounce2]

read between the lines hor....

"rasie now to avoid big raise later" means u suckers better prepare for another raise later hor, this round is just for "warming-up", to stagger the things, so as not to hv one time big big big shock later...

Well actually, they would raise their pay if inflation was forecasted.

I am surprised he did not cite the 'curbing of excessive speculation' in the property market as a reason.

The coffers are dwindling because of 'excessive speculation' on their part.

Now they are just raking in more capital to patch up the gaps.

yeah lor, ERP to help singaporean own cars, Foreign talent to create jobs, high pay for MPs to prevent corruption [bounce2]

Pure rubbishs....

ERP was to reduce traffic jam...but u see CTE/PIE/ECP still jam right till to the gantries.........

Foreign trash to create jobs?...... yeah, they take away our jobs so that sinkaporeans can do waiters /security guards /cleaners etc.....but then these also taken over by prc , philippino liao.....

high pay to prevent corruption? why that apply to the chosen few only? the supposedly rigorous screening not working? cannot screen out those with character flaws? and these peoples are more prone to the temptation of corruption?

GST is medicine for the society.

the only silver lining, if there is, is to wait for Godfather to ROD.

and see if anyone dare to rise against the philosophy.

i dun believe his entire party share the common belief.

the late Mr. Ong Teng Cheong is one of them.

if u guys r free, go catch this show

vforvendetta.jpg

Edited by Ah_tee

knn based on assumption, in the past no need to pay for 3rm flat, but next yr bill me $50, multiple all family $50 min, a lot $$$$$$ [knife]

Well actually, they would raise their pay if inflation was forecasted.

I am surprised he did not cite the 'curbing of excessive speculation' in the property market as a reason.

The coffers are dwindling because of 'excessive speculation' on their part.

Now they are just raking in more capital to patch up the gaps.

are they serious about clamping down on speculation?

one of our dear MPs just dropped $6million on a marina bay condo... if not for being a director of keppel land, he would not have needed to declare his purchase. wonder if there are any more civil servants or ministers who quietly bought high priced condos, all while mr mah was telling average singaporeans not to worry about rising property prices.. [laugh]

i just received property tax ... no wonder it looked more than last yr

Just recvd mine too. $330 including Radio/TV license. [knife]

I still dont understand why we must pay property tax for a 99 year lease flat. Makes no sense. [:|]

So if you read in between the lines...they r saying property prices will continue to rise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

in another words... property tax will continue to rise [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry] ... think i better join the garmen job ASAP...