Cat being tied up and left to choke

Friendstar

On 11/23/2009 at 1:59 AM, Kxbc said:

That stray is very well fed and probably very human friendly given that it and its friends have been cared for by caregivers. It is sad that its trust in humans is breached.

Its left ear is tipped, means it has been neutered and therefore, will not mate, and thus no mating call.

I wonder if one person catches an animal abuser in action and takes it upon himself/herself and whack until the abuser is injured to save the stray animal, will that person be charged?

Sad to say, yes, the person will be charged for hitting the abuser.

I'd like to string the bastar d by the balls and watch his eyes pop out like the poor defenseless cat.

Bloody SOB will choke on a fishball and die with his farking eyes wide open. KNNBCCB! [furious]

The cat never do him any wrong, go and kill the cat until like that. Next time someone st7ring his

farking son by the neck with piano wire. [furious]

Talking about stray cats and cat lovers, i have seen ppl feeding stray cats in neighbourhood. What i don't understand is if they really love the cat, why don't they bring them home and keep? Stray cats can sometimes be annoying to ppl, like sleeping on top of cars and leaving scratch marks, making funny noise at night, although most of them are harmless but not all ppl like cat.

  On 11/23/2009 at 2:39 AM, Roh96 said:

Talking about stray cats and cat lovers, i have seen ppl feeding stray cats in neighbourhood. What i don't understand is if they really love the cat, why don't they bring them home and keep? Stray cats can sometimes be annoying to ppl, like sleeping on top of cars and leaving scratch marks, making funny noise at night, although most of them are harmless but not all ppl like cat.

There could be many reasons, including but not limited to:

1. That person already has some cats at home and it's full house. Most times it's this.

2. Family objection

3. You do know about the antique HDB ruling on cat ownership? Well, some folks can't risk it as the flat is all they have.

Actually it's better for the caregiver to feed and care for them.

1. Community cats scavenging for food in dustbins will dirty the place. Well-fed cats have no need to scavenge.

2. Responsible caregivers do bring the cats to the vet for neutering (which will stop all mating activities and that eerie cry by the tom cat) and other illnesses.

3. I tend to find an estate with well cared for community cats and dogs a better place to live in vs a place void of any animal presence. My estate has a few community cats and once had a community dog (which died after a hit and run). They welcome you home at the lift almost every day. Brings a smile to my face.

I think you main gripe is prob the community cats sleeping on top of your car. I really don't mind it. Cats naturally like high grounds so the car seems to be a good vantage point. Anyway, the cats over at my estate don't seem to enjoy sleeping on cars. They tend to lounge around the void deck area.

On 11/23/2009 at 2:39 AM, Roh96 said:

My neighbourhood got quite a number of stray cats too. Have seen them resting on top of cars many times. Shittt all over the grass patch.

Told off the person feeding these stray cats a few times........ [furious]

If she cares so much, why dont she go find a place for these cats ?????? Just feeding them is not the right solution. Its causing hygenie problems and worst still scatch/bite a curious kid or something......then who is responsible ? [shakehead]

One fine day, im gona call the authorities to clear them out. [mad]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

  On 11/23/2009 at 3:38 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

My neighbourhood got quite a number of stray cats too. Have seen them resting on top of cars many times. Shittt all over the grass patch.

Cats typically bury their faeces. Those may be dog faeces you see. So far, the only faeces I see in my estate is dog faeces (typicall bigger than cat faeces) which were not cleared by their inconsiderate owners. But most dog owners in my estate tend to clean up after their dogs pee/poop.

Told off the person feeding these stray cats a few times........ [furious]

If she cares so much, why dont she go find a place for these cats ?????? Just feeding them is not the right solution. Its causing hygenie problems and worst still scatch/bite a curious kid or something......then who is responsible ? [shakehead]

Please see my message above. May I understand what kind of hygiene issues are you talking about? Community cats are generally clean as they groom often, even taking into account that they live in the streets. If you are refering to toxo, then any animal, including humans, which have consumed contaminated raw food may catch this parasite.

If you are afraid that your kids will be scratched, then a good way is to educate them how to approach a cat properly. With the parent supervising them and the parent knowing what are the tell tale signs a cat is irritated (growling, flicking its tails back and forth vigorously, ears pulled back), that chance is reduced a lot.

Actually, the cats are more afraid of humans given the relative size difference. They are generally more afraid of small kids as their behavior are often random and unpredictable and more often than not, screaming and jumping.

But approaching a human friendly cat helps. Squat down a few metres away from the cat. Call to it with a soft voice. No shouting or screaming. If it is curious enough, it will move towards you. Else, let's not force the encounter.

I have seen a parent in my estate supervising their toddlers' meeting with the block cat (which is not the most child friendly cat on earth. It prefers adult companionship) and all have been good. The kid will squat 1m or so away calling the cat which will ignore the kid. [laugh] The parent will be behind the kid, keeping an eye on the chance meeting. I can see how happy the child is because she was smiling all the time while trying to coax a response from the cat. According to the father, this happens almost everyday when they take a walk.

Cats don't bite or scratch unless antagonise. But they will do so in self defense if cornered. As long as you see the warning signs and have the child back off, nothing will happen. Anyway, I have been scratched a few times by community cats when I have to bundle them up for vet visits. It's always superficial scratches. Washing it off quickly with some disinfectant soap works beautifully. Heals in a day or so. No scarring as well.

Most kids I know naturally like smaller animals like dogs, cats, hamster and bunnies. If parents can supervise their meetings, it helps.

One fine day, im gona call the authorities to clear them out. [mad]

Have you thought about this senseless killing? Just being able to call someone to get rid of something which has not done anything wrong. Is this something we want to pass on to our children? Don't like it, kill it? Not the values we want to incalcate in our next generation.

A stray cat is just imho just an anmial. As in all animals, there is a level of unpredictablility about thier behavoir. Especially a stray one.

Its pretty silly to restrict my kids running around my estate or playground just because of these cats.

Its also quite irresponsible for you to say all scratches and bites are harmless to you and assuming its to all. You have no idea the cat's conditions and not qualify to make such assumption.

If cats dont shiit on the grass patch ? Then where they shiitt ? U mean they just disappear ?

IF nobody wants to be responsible..........then the authorities should step in to do the necessary.

IMHO....its more cruel to just let them roam around uncare for. Just merely feeding them is not the solution.

On 11/23/2009 at 4:34 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

Its also quite irresponsible for you to say all scratches and bites are harmless to you and assuming its to all.

You will only get scratches or bites when you provoke them. They are not dogs, who can sometimes bark at you just bcoz they dun like you. (I kanna-ed b4 [smallcry])

You have no idea the cat's conditions and not qualify to make such assumption.

All he say are facts. And come to think of it. I've seen many cats before but not their faeces. And I also never see them urinate before. But I always see them cleaning and preening their furs e.g. when they see a puddle of water they will "bathe" themselves. So what hygiene issues are you talking about?

If cats dont shiit on the grass patch ? Then where they shiitt ? U mean they just disappear ?

As said by Kxbc, they bury.

IMHO....its more cruel to just let them roam around uncare for.

"more cruel to just let them roam around uncare for"? They got limbs got legs got backbone, they can find food for themselves. Whether they managed to survive depends on their survival ability. If they found food, they survive. If not, they die. Simple.

Just merely feeding them is not the solution.

There is no problem here. So why need solution?

Just my 2 cents.

Edited by Alfisti168

I don't agree. I can't say for dogs but for cats, even community cats, their actions are pretty predictable because all they think about is food, shelter, fight or flight.

I am not requesting that your kids not run around the estate. But don't tell me everywhere they go to, there are community cats around?

I wouldn't like to be scratched but what I am saying is that, most times, the scratches are superficial.

Most cats bury their faeces so they tend to pass motion in sandy areas where they can cover them.

Do you know what the authorities do to the captured cats? They are killed unnecessarily. Feeding and monitoring them gives them a chance to live out their lives which is around 10 for a stray.

Actually you are wrong to say that cats roam. They don't. Esp if they have found a shelter with adequate food, water and safety. Cats prowl around their territory to secure it so that no other cats will come over to share their food. Usually, that territory is a block or two for female cats and a few more blocks for male cats.

Do you also know that many of these community cats are day time companions to the old folks who sit around the void deck shooting the breeze? They interact with them and in return, they get some company to pass the time.

I went through my post again re-reading it. It has been very factual with no outburst. I just wanted to present another side of the argument so that you may have a better understanding of these harmless animals living alongside us. Unfortunately, you do not seem to appreciate it.

I think you know that your child's behavior is shaped by you. I hope he/she/they can be more community cat/dog friendly in the future.

Regards.

The food are serve to them on newspaper and left thereafter........these attract cockcoaches. Isnt this a hygiene issue ?

Educating my kids on these cats is one thing......but being kids, they are curious and like to run around and touch animals. They are kids not some dog on a leash.

Touching official pet dogs is one thing which i can condole, its totally different from touching a stray cat.

Like i said before, if nobody wants to stand up and be counted and be fully responsible for these stray cats, then its in the best interest of the community for the authorities to step in.

On 11/22/2009 at 11:58 PM, Keithchue said:

wonder if the killer is caught, will he face the same punishment?

DEATH BY CHOKING?

Death by choking = hanging.

No no no. Too humane le.

I recommend 凌迟.

On 11/23/2009 at 4:59 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

The food are serve to them on newspaper and left thereafter........these attract cockcoaches. Isnt this a hygiene issue ?

Faint. Must be those aunties. Haiz.

btw uu said dogs can condole but cats cannot? IMO it should be the other way leh. By any measure, cats are more hygienic than dogs. IMO.

Uu hv bad experience with cats b4?

Edited by Alfisti168

The authorities do step in...SPCA kills about 300 animals a day? (Correct me if I'm wrong).....those are the strays caught when you complain to the cops or anyone...they are turned in to SPCD who try to find a home for them...but as is usually the case, after a whiole when no one claims them, they are put down...

If you are open to another perspective, I would advise you teach your kids the full facts...perhaps even bring them to SPCA to educate them ...as it is, I think your kids will not get the full picture, and will likely come away with the skewed perspective that "strays" are bad....

  On 11/23/2009 at 5:06 AM, Jamstart said:

Yeah, to become a cat in his/her next life.

yeah, also to get tied up and left to choke..