Multi-Split A/C

Happily1986

My family is planning to buy a new multi-split A/C (system 3) to replace the current one which is 10 years old. Any bros here have had their pre-existing systems changed in their households?

1.) Did you get the piping changed as well?

Because the PVC housing is routed through some built-in furniture so it could be quite problematic. Am wondering if leaving the current piping intact is okay or will it compromise the new setup.

2.)How did you calculate your compressor requirements?

<length of room (feet)> * <breadth of room (feet)> * 65 (Did you use this formula?)

Seems like Multi-split units with 4 ticks and using R410A are pretty expensive [sweatdrop]

Anyone got lobang or know of any promotion? [grin]

if u are changing to inverter..

Then all pipes needs to be change as inverter are using different pipe..

The sales guy will calculate for u on the compressor requirement based on your floor area, so no worries

Toshiba is a good brand, reliable.. and u can try Gain City...

So far, they are quite reliable as I have been using them for over 10 years.

Edited by Actan72

Just want to share with u.

If there are so many detachable parts. Things will come loose eventually.

The feedback I hear is for mitshibushi, it can be quite noisy..

actually, this whole inverter thing is nonsense and just a marketing gimmick, they just coin this term and say it can save $200 a year over another model without ticks, and then charge $1k more expensive than a non-invertor model. what is the point of paying over $1k more for an inverter, and then hope to recoup back over 5 to 10 years ? and you dont know if it really saved electircity or not, there is no way to tell.

infact if u up btu, u nid change piping liao,theres 2 cent,3cent 6 cent etc piping...

ya volume is feet x 65 is the normal standard to count what btu u need in your room...

actually no nid interveter la..get normal one, on ur fan to full speed,set 18 degree first..1 hour your change to 24 degree and slowest fan..compressor no kick in can liaoz..

good enuff to save energy and comfort to sleep

Spend a bit more and go for Daikin. My Daikin System 4 is more than 10 years and still serve me well. The compressor Unit is just outside my Master Bedroom ant it is extremely quiet. Important thing to note is regular servicing is a must if you want your air-con to serve you well.

My Daikin system 4 was about 10 years old few years back.

One of my colleage then introduce me to change to mitshubishi inverter because of good experience.

My usage pattern is consistance, using only 2 aircon unit at night for 2 rooms.

temperature setting at 24 to 25 degree depending on the season.

Simple cleaning on the filter every 3 months.

My electrical bill was reduced by $100/month dollar after the change to inverter aircon. This was how efficient invertor aircons are.

One year I save 100 X12= $1200 dollars.

Was this good enough to convince people to change to inverter aircon?

Now I sleep better knowing that I have use less energy to help the green movement. [:)]

Edited by GoodCar

actually, this whole inverter thing is nonsense and just a marketing gimmick, they just coin this term and say it can save $200 a year over another model without ticks, and then charge $1k more expensive than a non-invertor model. what is the point of paying over $1k more for an inverter, and then hope to recoup back over 5 to 10 years ? and you dont know if it really saved electircity or not, there is no way to tell.

bro, the saving of energy and money using invertor is true base on my actual usage.

I have save $1200/ year since I install an inverter aircon 3 years ago.

you really believe jack neo meh <_<

It is not about believing, it is really true that it is easy to clean.

Maybe the aircon man will not be too happy, because now people can clean the aircon themself liao.

So If I am the aircon man, I will ask people don't buy this type of aircon

Just want to share with u.

If there are so many detachable parts. Things will come loose eventually.

The feedback I hear is for mitshibushi, it can be quite noisy..

At the lower end, only two parts are detactable so that you can reach the fan to clean it easily.

This two part should not contribute to noise,the fan may be if it is not cleaned properly.

Never go for Panasonic inverter! My friend changed his a/c to this brand and ended up part of the room cool and most part don't. It's set to 21 degree C with full fan speed but it doesn't help. :wacko:

Complained to Panasonic and the technician advice is, "please turn on your fan at the same time in order to cool the whole room"... my friend almost exploded! [furious]

Never go for Panasonic inverter! My friend changed his a/c to this brand and ended up part of the room cool and most part don't. It's set to 21 degree C with full fan speed but it doesn't help. :wacko:

Complained to Panasonic and the technician advice is, "please turn on your fan at the same time in order to cool the whole room"... my friend almost exploded! [furious]

[shakehead] agree with you that is one LJ reply.

bro, the saving of energy and money using invertor is true base on my actual usage.

I have save $1200/ year since I install an inverter aircon 3 years ago.

Bro, your inverter system multi split is same BTU for every split unit? I went to coolserve.com.sg and saw they have different configurations e.g.

System 3, 5xxxx Btu X2 + 8xxxx Btu

Anyone using new Daikin Inverter, using new refrigerant R410A or R22 (freon)?

R22 will be banned from production from 2010 onwards hence i feel that the pricing for refrigerant top up will increase substantially onwards.