RH1667 Hypersonic March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 if die die must have camry, ask BM to change the suspension to hard one and ask for 10year warranty....every 6 months there about need to change one set Can share why need to change to hard suspension? Also, i do not think any brand here gives 10 years warranty for its car. Thank you ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 i m currently driving a tomyam camry... care to elaborate more with regards to the suspensions... thanks squeaky over bump, whether slow or fast, then rattle, BM said the stock suspension got design spec issue. tom yam engineer came in 2009 to test drive and then modified the shock...those camry came after august 2009 may have been fitted with modified suspension, or of different spec.......BM still collecting more data to convince toyota japan of the problem......must change enough to prove a point, the workshop people said spoke with TRD people, their comment is the existing suspension design is too weak for camry......so if u like camry, live wth it. btw, BM still nego setlement with me on this issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 Can share why need to change to hard suspension? Also, i do not think any brand here gives 10 years warranty for its car. Thank you existing warranty is already 5 years. if thy always give problems, then they must extend warranty lah why change ? stock shock too soft and will hit mud guard over hump, hard one will wear out the top support faster and there goes to workshop again......repeat the cycle a few times and sian liao, no matter how good the service Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Danielgsx Neutral Newbie March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 Dun bother with Thaiyotas. Get a conti car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kreampuff 1st Gear March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 I hv a 3 yr old JDM Camry 2.4 G. I bought it because its not really exciting, in a good way. Its reliable, reasonable fuel consumption for 2.4l (I average 9km/h, 80%city, 20%highway), okay amount of torque to overtake smoothly, spacious and reasonably quiet interior. Maintenance is fuss free and cheap as most workshops know how to check a Toyota. When it comes time to sell it, I won't be anally raped by the dealer as there is always a market for a Toyota Saloon. To be honest, nobody's dream car is a Toyota Camry, but it is a fuss-free and economical way of getting from Point A to Point B in reasonable comfort. I have also considered upgrading to a BMW or Lexus saloon, but they are twice the price of my Camry. Are they twice as good? I don't think so and certainly not worth 2 times what I paid for my camry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 I hv a 3 yr old JDM Camry 2.4 G. I bought it because its not really exciting, in a good way. Its reliable, reasonable fuel consumption for 2.4l (I average 9km/h, 80%city, 20%highway), okay amount of torque to overtake smoothly, spacious and reasonably quiet interior. Maintenance is fuss free and cheap as most workshops know how to check a Toyota. When it comes time to sell it, I won't be anally raped by the dealer as there is always a market for a Toyota Saloon. To be honest, nobody's dream car is a Toyota Camry, but it is a fuss-free and economical way of getting from Point A to Point B in reasonable comfort. I have also considered upgrading to a BMW or Lexus saloon, but they are twice the price of my Camry. Are they twice as good? I don't think so and certainly not worth 2 times what I paid for my camry. to each his own my first camry was good. second one was no good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 Dun bother with Thaiyotas. Get a conti car. done that ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 existing warranty is already 5 years. if thy always give problems, then they must extend warranty lah why change ? stock shock too soft and will hit mud guard over hump, hard one will wear out the top support faster and there goes to workshop again......repeat the cycle a few times and sian liao, no matter how good the service OK, i see. Got mine in OCt 2009, hopefully it is already the new spec suspension. Only time will tell. Thanks for sharing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 done that ! good move! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 OK, i see. Got mine in OCt 2009, hopefully it is already the new spec suspension. Only time will tell. Thanks for sharing got mine in july 2009 but i sold it already last week, cannot tahan the suspension and ride :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 you really anti-camry~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 got mine in july 2009 but i sold it already last week, cannot tahan the suspension and ride :angry: why cannot tahan ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 OK, i see. Got mine in OCt 2009, hopefully it is already the new spec suspension. Only time will tell. Thanks for sharing BM says is new spec shock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 why cannot tahan ? the ride is not stable then if load 4 passenger, then on the hump must be very slow cos suspension too soft, servicing centre also sucks, say all ok no prob but actually it has and the rear seat sometime make noise dont know y i spent few k on it for modification, install soundproofing yet sometime tyre noise and wind noise enter thenchange to HID 6000k and some other accessories, though it look nice but still Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackseal 1st Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 Why would you want to install HID light? We don't need it on our roads and it's blinding to other motorists. It's the more important stuff on the 2.4 that you should install - Traction Control and VSC. Let me know if you could find it cos I would be interested as well. There is aftermarket traction control by Racelogic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 hi bro... with your kind of looks, you deserve a much better car... i believe you're under 30?? why bother to drive Camry?? cheers!! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 got mine in july 2009 but i sold it already last week, cannot tahan the suspension and ride :angry: Oh....perhaps it may be due to different driving pattern. I have no problem so far and quite happy with it. Hope you have gotten a ride that you like better now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 (edited) Oh....perhaps it may be due to different driving pattern. I have no problem so far and quite happy with it. Hope you have gotten a ride that you like better now. you can improve the handling and the ride by adding an alutec struct bar, cost $180 according to a TRD person I spoke to, the new Camry chassis has too much flex and the suspension (before Toyota / BM modified mine) was not updated with the new body of the new Camry, therefore the ride is unstable compared to the last batch of MIJ Camry that BM brought in. It is the same with the made in Aussie Camry.....you feel like the 4 wheels going 4 different directions mine was a 2.4 Camry with VSC but still of no help Edited March 22, 2010 by Fedup-camry ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...