GoodCar 4th Gear November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 at least there u can kao pei them openly if u not happy But I see there are a lot of forum in singapore also can Kao Pei leh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 dont be silly. SGP is what today is purely due to one reason - LOCATION world 1 busiest port is based purely on LOCATION without LKY Singapore will still be today but without Sir Stamford Raffles , Singapore wont be today Wah so easy one arh, ok lah, we all no need to work hard becos got good loaction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 But I see there are a lot of forum in singapore also can Kao Pei leh. No lah.. we should ask them which country in Asean can Kao Pei openly. I know singapore can. As long as you dont hold a big crowd can liao. I always kao pei at kopi tiam about gahmen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie November 19, 2009 Author Share November 19, 2009 No lah.. we should ask them which country in Asean can Kao Pei openly. I know singapore can. As long as you dont hold a big crowd can liao. I always kao pei at kopi tiam about gahmen. must join you one day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew Awards ... Lee was awarded the Ig Nobel Prize in 1994.[23] ... I think you just shot yourself in the foot again. Please, do look up the Ig Nobel Prize, and what LKY received it for. Yes, I'll concede he richly deserved that one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 (edited) this is the best post so far! *clap.....* to those unhappy or even angry ones, don't like lky? don't like lhl? don't like pap? leave the country lor... nobody is stoping you And WHY should anyone do that? People who were born in this country, served NS for 2 to 2.5 years, and continue to serve the nation by means of reservist and income tax bloody well have a right to speak up! Who are you to question these freedoms? And who are the gahmen to question our very Constitution? In the very same vein of your post, I would reply that if you don't like what we, the true patriots of this nation, say, please feel free to leave. Don't you dare attempt to silence us, though. Edited November 19, 2009 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 Which Asia counry arh, please enlighten? Taiwan and S. Korea are both developed, and they have real democracy. HK used to be among their number until they got subsumed by China, but they still have a surprising amount of leeway. But I'm not including HK since their freedom has become diluted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 No lah.. we should ask them which country in Asean can Kao Pei openly. I know singapore can. As long as you dont hold a big crowd can liao. I always kao pei at kopi tiam about gahmen. Correct. I think as long as kao pei for good reason and for the good of society, than there is nothing to fear. But if the agenda or intention is to split the society and create havoc, then I think not only "cheng hu" cannot tolerate, even good man in opposition and normal level headed citizen also cannot toleratet It is always very easy to quote out of context to stir s--t, but will take a lot of effort to explain and put things right. Find faul is always easy, just like driving fast on a straight road, it is a no brainer job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 Taiwan and S. Korea are both developed, and they have real democracy. HK used to be among their number until they got subsumed by China, but they still have a surprising amount of leeway. But I'm not including HK since their freedom has become diluted. I don't envy those type of politic in Singapore for one good reason. Do we have land to plant potato to fill our belly? We have to be very realistic of our natural constraint. Do not be fooled by the advocation of freedom and right groups who have hidden agenda. Every country has it's own situation to take care. To me, Freedom and right for human being in a developing nation is to get food for the people and led them out of poverty. Yes, Singapore may have acheive that generally, but a lot of our neighbours have not. At the end of the day, we must all go back to look at the basic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie November 19, 2009 Author Share November 19, 2009 And WHY should anyone do that? People who were born in this country, served NS for 2 to 2.5 years, and continue to serve the nation by means of reservist and income tax bloody well have a right to speak up! Who are you to question these freedoms? And who are the gahmen to question our very Constitution? In the very same vein of your post, I would reply that if you don't like what we, the true patriots of this nation, say, please feel free to leave. Don't you dare attempt to silence us, though. i agree with you completely as we respect each other views there will always be two sides to a discussion everybody is patriotic but the way in which we go about differently does not make one less patriotic hence i would like to hear your point of view with all honesty as i challenge myself everyday thanks and you are right no one should attempt to silence anyone less of course to detriment of our society Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yorkshire 3rd Gear November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 And WHY should anyone do that? People who were born in this country, served NS for 2 to 2.5 years, and continue to serve the nation by means of reservist and income tax bloody well have a right to speak up! Who are you to question these freedoms? And who are the gahmen to question our very Constitution? In the very same vein of your post, I would reply that if you don't like what we, the true patriots of this nation, say, please feel free to leave. Don't you dare attempt to silence us, though. by all means.. speak up.. LOL.. so patriotic turboflat4, what have you done for the country? silence you? what for?? freedom? what are you having now? kpkb in a public forum.. go on.. speak up, be a man.. LOL you can say whatever you want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 Taiwan and S. Korea are both developed, and they have real democracy. HK used to be among their number until they got subsumed by China, but they still have a surprising amount of leeway. But I'm not including HK since their freedom has become diluted. Singapore is not Democracy country. All along it had been Republic. Also, Do you really think Democracy is the best form of governement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 I don't envy those type of politic in Singapore for one good reason. Do we have land to plant potato to fill our belly? We have to be very realistic of our natural constraint. Do not be fooled by the advocation of freedom and right groups who have hidden agenda. Every country has it's own situation to take care. To me, Freedom and right for human being in a developing nation is to get food for the people and led them out of poverty. Yes, Singapore may have acheive that generally, but a lot of our neighbours have not. At the end of the day, we must all go back to look at the basic. I agree with you. Just look at all those third world country that had been decieved by the rights group and democratic groups to become a democratic country. Where are they now?? They are actually in a far worst situation than before. Democracy to work in the country have a lot of other requirement that is needed to be fulfil before it can be achieve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 Why suddenly boh lang liao? Mai scare leh, I not "Cheng Hu" lang ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 Why suddenly boh lang liao? Mai scare leh, I not "Cheng Hu" lang ! because there are a few sex thread out there la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 Singapore is not Democracy country. Really? I think the guy who wrote our pledge may have something to say about that (and I've read that LKY was the final one to polish the text before submission to Parliament). Also the guy who designed the flag (what does one of the stars stand for again?) All along it had been Republic. There is often a confusing and fairly arbitrary argument made to separate the concepts of democracy (improperly conflated with the notion of an anarchistic mobocracy) and a republic. To avoid confusion and nit-picking, I'll just say that we're supposed to be a "Republic with a Democratically-elected Government". But how "democratically-elected" are we, really, when the ruling party takes such pains to rig the system to its unfair advantage? I posit that the democratic ideals our country was founded upon have been, and continue to be, betrayed. Also, Do you really think Democracy is the best form of governement? Yes, I do, at least the "democratically-elected republic" form thereof. Which we haven't had for a long time, given the injustices prevalent in the system. The whole point of such a system is that it's supposed to represent the will of the people *and* the rule of law, as enshrined by the Constitution. Clearly, the former is often not being represented, as witnessed by the numerous complaints about everything from ERP to the FT immigration/citizenship policies. And the latter is only given lip service. Remember the powers that the Elected President was supposed to have, as enshrined in a Constitutional amendment? Remember what happened when the first Elected President actually tried to exercise these powers to protect the assets of us, the people? No system of government is perfect. But democracy is the best of a bad lot, largely because if something goes tits-up with the nation, we at least have the chance to effect a change peacefully, and without bloodshed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 19, 2009 Share November 19, 2009 by all means.. speak up.. LOL.. so patriotic turboflat4, what have you done for the country? silence you? what for?? freedom? what are you having now? kpkb in a public forum.. go on.. speak up, be a man.. LOL you can say whatever you want I'm not going to dignify your flame-bait nonsense, except to say this: true patriots have enough of a deeply-felt stake in this country to speak up about perceived social injustices. It doesn't take much to side with the big, bad powers-that-be who hold all the cards - that makes you little more than a craven sidekick to a big bully. It takes far more courage, integrity and honour to oppose the injustices inflicted by the big bully. Courage, integrity and honour - those are the traits that define a patriot, but what would you know about those? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie November 19, 2009 Author Share November 19, 2009 There is often a confusing and fairly arbitrary argument made to separate the concepts of democracy (improperly conflated with the notion of an anarchistic mobocracy) and a republic. To avoid confusion and nit-picking, I'll just say that we're supposed to be a "Republic with a Democratically-elected Government". But how "democratically-elected" are we, really, when the ruling party takes such pains to rig the system to its unfair advantage? I posit that the democratic ideals our country was founded upon have been, and continue to be, betrayed. i agree the election system seems unfair but it is legal i believe one politician said "it is not our duty to ensure an opposition candidate get elected" on that premise, opposition leaders need to be more creative i am neutral but like i said previously credit should be given when it is due eg In the christian faith, God gave the ten commandments of which one specifically state thou shall not kill but in the old testament there was killing in fact God tested ABraham love for him by sacrificing his son's life for God but that killing did not happen Mosses, many romans got killed so the promise people can be set free and etc it seem strange to me, that man can really make to believe anything if he is convince enough i am not saying the ruling party is right or wrong but as an organisation to preserve its longevity, the organisation needs to work around the legal framework and be creative to ensure longevity of the party do you think the american system of democracy is the best but look at the health care, only how many millions are insured and the rest are not hospital dump patients along the streets because they cant pay (discreet of course) the first country to use nuclear bomb killing innocent 100000s of civilian lives we cant compare with the japanese because the japanese did not claim democracy (the japanese were not right either) invading other sovereign country (iraq) left millions amputed and counting - mines left behind after vietnam war freedom to bear arms - how many parents' crying for their lost kids democrary - is theorectically good but in the real world there is a need to balance between socialism, a tinge of communism spirit and a twist with cultural injection ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...