As I get older, I learnt that LKY had to do what is needed

City100a

On 11/20/2009 at 8:19 AM, Joseph22 said:

Aiyo, we are here because we got nothing better to do lah.. Some more know working hours cannot go to Kopi tiam and sit down and talk leh..

Its just a heated relax debate lah

A bit OT: I agree with you. Actually, after the inevitable initial acrimony of writing about a sensitive topic, I think we can respect each others' viewpoints, even if we don't agree with them. I do realise some of what you say has merit, and I actually enjoyed the back-and-forth with you and City100a (I also have PM from him, which I will respond to). You're both pretty reasonable. [thumbsup]

In stark contrast to that poor retarded kid Yorkshire who seems to put me to [sleeping] everytime. Really not even worth responding to. [laugh]

sorry forgot to add.

Singapore is still not ready for pure democracy cause in actual fact, because of our fast raising economic to developed country.( in 1 generation) the social Gap and Educational gap are still not close enough. in fact, it is due to our fast raising economic status that is why the income gap between the rich and the poor is getting bigger.

IMHO, currently the only way to bridge the Income gap is for most of our children to study hard and get a good diploma or degree so as to have a reasonable high starting salary and try to work something out.

On 11/20/2009 at 8:25 AM, Nolicense said:

good read.

i guess the genesis of democracy requires a certain stage of development too of course.

Yes that is what i am driving at on democracy.

To me the only full proof governing policy that is the best is communist.

However, having said that it is the best. It will not work out in real life because ppl are mostly greedy. meaning that Communist will never ever work to its full potential as it required every single soul to work for the welfare of the whole country. If even 1 person is not willing to, the whole consistution will begin to rot and collapse.

Not saying you have to follow every little thing the US does - for instance, the right to bear arms is a contentious issue even in the US. But that's really the point, people are allowed to hold, express and defend their own opinions in public over there. It's not really the case here, is it?

On 11/20/2009 at 8:24 AM, Turboflat4 said:

A bit OT: I agree with you. Actually, after the inevitable initial acrimony of writing about a sensitive topic, I think we can respect each others' viewpoints, even if we don't agree with them. I do realise some of what you say has merit, and I actually enjoyed the back-and-forth with you and City100a (I also have PM from him, which I will respond to). You're both pretty reasonable. [thumbsup]

In stark contrast to that poor retarded kid Yorkshire who seems to put me to [sleeping] everytime. Really not even worth responding to. [laugh]

you've just proven my viewpoint about you! LOL it would be wise for you to read your first post directed at me, especially the last sentence.. did i attempt to silence you on your views?

this is a public forum, everyone can post their thoughts, echo their beliefs, debate on the differences, there is absolutely no need to issue threats..

hey, galantspeedz make a similar post, why don't you go threaten him?

i'm one of those boliao people that visit forums like joseph22 has said, don't have to be so serious, believe all of us are here to burn time [;)]

Edited by Yorkshire

On 11/20/2009 at 8:32 AM, Turboflat4 said:

Not saying you have to follow every little thing the US does - for instance, the right to bear arms is a contentious issue even in the US. But that's really the point, people are allowed to hold, express and defend their own opinions in public over there. It's not really the case here, is it?

You can arh... at kopi tiam. You just cannot anyhow hold rally.

You must understand the reason for this.

Singapore is a very small country. (interm of size.)

If you have riot at Jurong, Changi is also going to be affected. Given this, in order to have a stable looking society to attract oversea investor or MNC stability is very important. dont forget, singapore do not have any natural resource to attract them. the only good thing we have is our location. But the same can be said of any surrounding nation too.

On 11/20/2009 at 8:41 AM, Joseph22 said:

If you have riot at Jurong, Changi is also going to be affected. Given this, in order to have a stable looking society to attract oversea investor or MNC stability is very important. dont forget, singapore do not have any natural resource to attract them. the only good thing we have is our location. But the same can be said of any surrounding nation too.

the rich mixed of cultural differences in Singapore is one of the key factor that Singapore remains attractive to foreign investor

dun mean.... u doesn't support the P@P ...singapore will be like indonesia.....

u sound so alike like our garment which like to threaten with all the threatening tales...

btw...u can have the level of democracy.....but living in standard of north east asia...

i had been abroad for 4 years..... i have seen alot....

u just been myopic on what u know......

it's ok...to have this mentality nothing wrong with it...just continue to P@P for life....... maybe one day..casket service can use cpf or also can us JB services also..no worries

China-born martial arts film star Jet Li has finally opened up about his newly-minted Singaporean status in an interview with the Taiwanese media during an APEC meeting held last week. A few months ago, he made headlines when he become a Singaporean and bought a luxurious S$20 million bungalow at Binjai Rise but remained tightlipped on the topic of his new Singaporean citizenship,

Jet was present at the APEC CEO Summit 2009 as a representative for being an International Film Star and Founder of his charity organization, One Foundation. He shared, "I will never reveal how much money I have spent, and how much money my wife has given me to do charity work. I don't need to be ranked, I am willing to do it."

"I have not been shooting any movies for the past one-and-a-half years. During this time, I have been going on business trips and have flew around the world 50 times My wife gives me the money for this expenditure. I hand all my money over to my family."

In an interview, the actor silently acknowledged his new Singapore citizenship, "Compared to other cities, Singapore is a lot cleaner. The security is a lot better and the weather is hotter. There is a warmer climate in Southeast Asia too. A bilingual education system, a mix of cultures with some western influences. These are the main aspects that attracted my attention."

On 11/20/2009 at 8:31 AM, Joseph22 said:

Yes that is what i am driving at on democracy.

To me the only full proof governing policy that is the best is communist.

However, having said that it is the best. It will not work out in real life because ppl are mostly greedy. meaning that Communist will never ever work to its full potential as it required every single soul to work for the welfare of the whole country. If even 1 person is not willing to, the whole consistution will begin to rot and collapse.

I disagree there, not because practically commie won't work as u said but idealogically the system of government is wrong. no separation of powers. this is the single most important thing in any form of government.

i am not arguing idealogy please note, just the institutions required to safe guard the interests of the people.

On 11/20/2009 at 8:41 AM, Joseph22 said:

You can arh... at kopi tiam. You just cannot anyhow hold rally.

You must understand the reason for this.

Singapore is a very small country. (interm of size.)

i think public speaking is a very contentious point. for full interest of the people, the people must be allowed to fraternise. not allowing them to do so is very communistic in trying to restrict the freedom of information with the people.

On 11/20/2009 at 9:06 AM, Lv3338 said:

dun mean.... u doesn't support the P@P ...singapore will be like indonesia.....

u sound so alike like our garment which like to threaten with all the threatening tales...

btw...u can have the level of democracy.....but living in standard of north east asia...

i had been abroad for 4 years..... i have seen alot....

u just been myopic on what u know......

it's ok...to have this mentality nothing wrong with it...just continue to P@P for life....... maybe one day..casket service can use cpf or also can us JB services also..no worries

Lv3338 my comment got nothing related to supporting P@P please be read what am i commenting on before you post and comment on my post. your post is totally off topic to what i am saying about.

On 11/20/2009 at 8:52 AM, Yorkshire said:

the rich mixed of cultural differences in Singapore is one of the key factor that Singapore remains attractive to foreign investor

Yeah the question is how do we achieve this status. it definitely not through democracy. cause USA have the worse case in term of racism.

On 11/20/2009 at 10:01 AM, Nolicense said:

I disagree there, not because practically commie won't work as u said but idealogically the system of government is wrong. no separation of powers. this is the single most important thing in any form of government.

i am not arguing idealogy please note, just the institutions required to safe guard the interests of the people.

Actually in true communist there is a separation of powers. just that the separation is base on one own strenght and weakness. meaning placing ppl suitable for the job at the post.

But i also agree its only the ideology that is good. nothing else will work.

On 11/20/2009 at 10:04 AM, Nolicense said:

i think public speaking is a very contentious point. for full interest of the people, the people must be allowed to fraternise. not allowing them to do so is very communistic in trying to restrict the freedom of information with the people.

I agree on this point. but at present state, i find ppl are not ready yet. Cause the personal responsiblity of singaporean are seriously still not there. Singaporean on a whole are not a group of very smart ppl. Hard working yes. but smart no. Most ppl are still taking things base on face value of other.

On 11/18/2009 at 6:00 AM, City100a said:

As I get older, I learnt that LKY had to do what is needed

it is for the overall benefit of our society and hence some may loose out (which included me and my family)

there are few policies that dont quite make it but this is life

we cant please everyone

looking at our neighbours, we should consider ourselves lucky

we do not have any natural resources

i see it this way, LKY and his team lead but the people are the ones that eventually made singapore what it is today

lets put our difference aside and move forward together

i salute our fellow singaporeans

lol.. how old are u now? singapore's natural location and predominance racial ratio already make things thing easy for the old man.

due respect to him, but if its wasnt him, others will probably do the same. how things turn out we dont know, could be better could be worse, i am sure there are people who are so fed with them that they are willing to take a chance if they can

for me, i simply dont care, i am a "quitter" who is a winner overseas because i took risk then come back after i won. one man's meat is another's poison, singapore current system is really a poison for me because i feel no matter how good talented a normal singaporean, he/she will never have a fair go because we will never stand out when compared to the elites and the expatriates, i rather live as a second class citizen with a chance of fair play then as a third class citizen who basically work for the country, sucked dry and as cheap labours to defend the visitors.

this is only my sentiments, i am not an elite, i grow up in kampong until i go primary shcool then neighbourhood high school, with average results, speak hokkien and canton growing up.

Edited by Rainmaker