As I get older, I learnt that LKY had to do what is needed

City100a

The unhappy ones stay behind to earn $$$. When even that is getting difficult, then it is bye bye.

This is the same reason why so many come here to be PR. When the wind shift direction, the leaves follow suit.

the unhappy ones should go other place earn money.... if here can earn money still not too bad mah...

There is often a confusing and fairly arbitrary argument made to separate the concepts of democracy (improperly conflated with the notion of an anarchistic mobocracy) and a republic. To avoid confusion and nit-picking, I'll just say that we're supposed to be a "Republic with a Democratically-elected Government". But how "democratically-elected" are we, really, when the ruling party takes such pains to rig the system to its unfair advantage? I posit that the democratic ideals our country was founded upon have been, and continue to be, betrayed.

i agree the election system seems unfair but it is legal

i believe one politician said "it is not our duty to ensure an opposition candidate get elected"

on that premise, opposition leaders need to be more creative

i am neutral but like i said previously credit should be given when it is due

eg

In the christian faith, God gave the ten commandments of which one specifically state thou shall not kill

but in the old testament there was killing

in fact God tested ABraham love for him by sacrificing his son's life for God but that killing did not happen

Mosses, many romans got killed so the promise people can be set free

and etc

it seem strange to me, that man can really make to believe anything if he is convince enough

i am not saying the ruling party is right or wrong but as an organisation to preserve its longevity, the organisation needs to work around the legal framework and be creative to ensure longevity of the party

do you think the american system of democracy is the best but look at the health care, only how many millions are insured and the rest are not

hospital dump patients along the streets because they cant pay (discreet of course)

the first country to use nuclear bomb killing innocent 100000s of civilian lives

we cant compare with the japanese because the japanese did not claim democracy

(the japanese were not right either)

invading other sovereign country (iraq)

left millions amputed and counting - mines left behind after vietnam war

freedom to bear arms - how many parents' crying for their lost kids

democrary - is theorectically good but in the real world there is a need to balance between socialism, a tinge of communism spirit and a twist with cultural injection

I take issue with this statement, "i agree the election system seems unfair but it is legal".

With virtually no opposition it is simple to enact laws to the ruling party's advantage. This is adherence to "Legalism". I am sure you know what this is. If the law can be changed to suit the interests of a select few, it is definitely not democracy, republic or even socialism. It is plain & simple Elitism.

the unhappy ones should go other place earn money.... if here can earn money still not too bad mah...

ya not too bad thatz why still here mah. If bad then go elsewhere lor.

These are the kind of FTs we are attracting anyway. So no reason why citizens cannot live by the same ideals. Sounds fair to me.

I take issue with this statement, "i agree the election system seems unfair but it is legal".

With virtually no opposition it is simple to enact laws to the ruling party's advantage. This is adherence to "Legalism". I am sure you know what this is. If the law can be changed to suit the interests of a select few, it is definitely not democracy, republic or even socialism. It is plain & simple Elitism.

i agree with you but we have to be realistic

if you belong to a party in competition where there is no credible opponent

you will sure win the first price

and if you are in policy making body and you are the only one and only member would you not make rules to ensure your longevity

this is survival and not elitism

this is darwinian animal instinct to survive

of course i am not exactly thrilled by the way it is done but what can we do

would you give up your family and friends to fight for a seat in parliment

i believe that every man can be bought with a price whether we like to believe it or not

price need not be monetary but threat included

hence when you are in rome we should play by the roman rules

In the christian faith, God gave the ten commandments of which one specifically state thou shall not kill

in fact God tested ABraham love for him by sacrificing his son's life for God but that killing did not happen

and etc

it seem strange to me, that man can really make to believe anything if he is convince enough

pls note that the Mosaic Law which consist of namely 10 commandments of which one of them is "thou shall not kill" was given 430 yrs after Abraham. So when Abraham was ask to sacrifice his son that there was no mosaic Law being taught to Abraham and Abraham was not bounded by the 10 commandments since God has not pass the 10 commandments, so God isn't contradicting Himself either.

Anyway, that story is also what we call a Typology in Bible study, meaning it is symbolic of a deeper truth. So what Truth? Abraham symbolise God the Father and Isaac his son symbolise Jesus. It tells of how God the Father willing to sacrifice his only begotten Son Jesus becuase 'God so love the world ' and so whoever believe in him will not die but have eternal life' John 3:16

Just tot of clarifying that in case anyone wonder y the bible teach ppl to sacrifice their children [laugh]

Edited by relacker

ya not too bad thatz why still here mah. If bad then go elsewhere lor.

These are the kind of FTs we are attracting anyway. So no reason why citizens cannot live by the same ideals. Sounds fair to me.

i need to qualify that i am not a FT

why do we keep calling FT, FT

our fore fathers were all FTs

we cant selectively redefinite FT for our conveniences

in the old days there were also good and bad FT

hence we should embrass FT as part of our society

do we really have a choice

pls note that the Mosaic Law which consist of namely 10 commandments of which one of them is "thou shall not kill" was given 430 yrs after Abraham. So when Abraham was ask to sacrifice his son that there was no mosaic Law being taught to Abraham and Abraham was not bounded by the 10 commandments since God has not pass the 10 commandments, so God isn't contradicting Himself either.

Anyway, that story is also what we call a Typology in Bible study, meaning it is symbolic of a deeper truth. So what Truth? Abraham symbolise God the Father and Isaac his son symbolise Jesus. It tells of how God the Father willing to sacrifice his only begotten Son Jesus becuase 'God so love the world ' and so whoever believe in him will not die but have eternal life' John 3:16

Just tot of clarifying that in case anyone wonder y the bible teach ppl to sacrifice their children [laugh]

many thanks for the clarification

Nice doggy, but I think this one better.

molumen_happy_running_dog.png

Remember, it's running dog. [smash]

Now if you can find something for "lackey", you win this thread. [thumbsup]

Turbo4, Do note that our pledge is saying working towards a democratic society. This mean we are not there yet.

Also, Please note that democratic governement is only workable in country where the ppl are highly educated. All new start up country who are adopting Democratic are mostly in a worse shape than now. Also country like India and China are better off not going to the democratic society. Look at Zambawi, going democratic only allow them to bribe the poor ppl to give them vote. A country that is too poor is also not suitable.

Lastly, are you aware that democratic country have the biggest gap between the rich and the poor?

Its the same as human Rights Groups ideals, it sound good and logical, but in truth it is in-practical.

BTW Turbo4

Also, In regard to the FT issue. Do note that even your 'great' Democratic Master. USA cannot run away from this issue too. All you have to do is to log in to USA base Forum, you will realise that the ppl there are complaining mainly on the same issue we have here. This problem is not a Isolated Singapore problem. But a problem of the 1st world country. Do you know that the situation is UAE are even worse? My friend who work for 5 years there told me that the ppl there are having problem finding Job as ppl prefer to hired from oversea.

There is often a confusing and fairly arbitrary argument made to separate the concepts of democracy (improperly conflated with the notion of an anarchistic mobocracy) and a republic. To avoid confusion and nit-picking, I'll just say that we're supposed to be a "Republic with a Democratically-elected Government". But how "democratically-elected" are we, really, when the ruling party takes such pains to rig the system to its unfair advantage? I posit that the democratic ideals our country was founded upon have been, and continue to be, betrayed.

i agree the election system seems unfair but it is legal

i believe one politician said "it is not our duty to ensure an opposition candidate get elected"

on that premise, opposition leaders need to be more creative

i am neutral but like i said previously credit should be given when it is due

eg

and etc

i am not saying the ruling party is right or wrong but as an organisation to preserve its longevity, the organisation needs to work around the legal framework and be creative to ensure longevity of the party

do you think the american system of democracy is the best but look at the health care, only how many millions are insured and the rest are not

hospital dump patients along the streets because they cant pay (discreet of course)

the first country to use nuclear bomb killing innocent 100000s of civilian lives

we cant compare with the japanese because the japanese did not claim democracy

(the japanese were not right either)

invading other sovereign country (iraq)

left millions amputed and counting - mines left behind after vietnam war

freedom to bear arms - how many parents' crying for their lost kids

democrary - is theorectically good but in the real world there is a need to balance between socialism, a tinge of communism spirit and a twist with cultural injection

Hahaha.... Most of the time, the word "democracy" is not necessarily mean democracy.... Just look at the perfect example of North Korea who call themself DPRK and former East Germany (GDR). Both have a "Democratic" in their name but hardly democratic at all....

Edited by Tjkbeluga

I'm surprise, Darth_Mel didn't spew any vulgarities in this thread at all..... Looks too good for him to miss..... Or did I miss it?????

Edited by Tjkbeluga

The only thing I don't like is the sudden huge influx of FT which makes me feel irritated everywhere I go, even at my home. Neighbour is one of them and is very noisy, from grandpa to a 2-3 year old grandson.

Other than that, it's really incredible for a young nation to become what it is today.

YES YES! me too!

seepeh tulan when i walk few steps hear 1 person speaking 'zar men' 'qu narrr?' (We, Go where, China accent)

'yai, woat duu yew wan to yeat? (what do you want to eat, indian accent)

knnb!

i grew up la teh la kopi at kopitiam, play block catching, hantam bola...

i tink my children have to grow up listening to ah tiong chinese, f--king f--ked up indian english~

howhowhowhwohwohwohwoww [furious]

YES YES! me too!

seepeh tulan when i walk few steps hear 1 person speaking 'zar men' 'qu narrr?' (We, Go where, China accent)

'yai, woat duu yew wan to yeat? (what do you want to eat, indian accent)

knnb!

i grew up la teh la kopi at kopitiam, play block catching, hantam bola...

i tink my children have to grow up listening to ah tiong chinese, f--king f--ked up indian english~

howhowhowhwohwohwohwoww [furious]

Hahaha.... Didn't you encounter the, "kkkkkarrrckkkk! Pui!!!" too? Actually, this one, a lot of local ah pek also do that....