Dover Park Hospice fund raising project proves a hit for wro

Yaloryalor

SINGAPORE: Charity fundraisers are common in Singapore. But an initiative to raise money to help care for the dying has highlighted a less charitable side of the nation.

The sunflower is a symbol of palliative care and Dover Park Hospice began selling them at Raffles Place on Monday to raise funds.

Those who donate S$5 can either plant a flower nearby or take it away.

But on Tuesday morning, volunteers arrived to find empty grass patches as all the 1,000 sunflowers planted the day before had been taken away.

Stefanie Yuen

the organiser sld know that people cannot be trusted. to be frank, i would have taken a stalk of the fake sunflower too coz its so nice....haha

they sld have gotten a volunteer to look after the flowers.

i think nowadays young ppl dun listen to old song.

dont pluck the wild flowers

[laugh] Maybe they listen to the wrong version. "Bu chai bai bu chai" aka "Dun take also wasted" haha..

[laugh] I think they listen la but becos it is fake flower so they pick lor. Need to change the title of the song liao [laugh]

路边的假花,你不要採

[laugh] [laugh]

pls lar simi ugly sgporean. i work arnd raffles and saw this pple planting these flowers in the morning, by noon time it is full. i thought it is some marketing gimmick again..... at no where was it stated it was for hospice or fund raising or whatever.

anyway i did not take any, in case you all think i did :wacko:

Even if there is no sign to say it should not be removed. Shouldn't it be do not take things which are not yours? There is also not sign to say it is free or everyone can take one.

pls lar simi ugly sgporean. i work arnd raffles and saw this pple planting these flowers in the morning, by noon time it is full. i thought it is some marketing gimmick again..... at no where was it stated it was for hospice or fund raising or whatever.

anyway i did not take any, in case you all think i did :wacko:

Even not stated for charity also should not take. [thumbsdown] Need to put a sign to say do not take? [sweatdrop]

Even if there is no sign to say it should not be removed. Shouldn't it be do not take things which are not yours? There is also not sign to say it is free or everyone can take one.

i agree but what makes everyone think it is only sgporeans that took the flowers. There are alot of foreigners at raffles even at night.

Even not stated for charity also should not take. [thumbsdown] Need to put a sign to say do not take? [sweatdrop]

so only SGporeans took it? Sure? And if the person had donated and planted the flowers, can he take it home afterwards?

Just 1 report and the term ugly sgporean? :wacko:

so only SGporeans took it? Sure? And if the person had donated and planted the flowers, can he take it home afterwards?

Just 1 report and the term ugly sgporean? :wacko:

We are long enough in this forum to see many reports of ugly sporean. This is jus 1 example.

Wat you said is possible too, maybe non-singaporean also took it. :wacko:

i agree but what makes everyone think it is only sgporeans that took the flowers. There are alot of foreigners at raffles even at night.

I was 'targeting' at any particular nationality.