What makes a Swift Sports so fast?

Picanto

  On 12/11/2009 at 1:27 AM, Ken4555 said:

no way swift pick up as fast as WRX... if both stock... WRX of course faster, even the base WRX...

Swift is fast cause of the power to weight ratio... and mods to it make a lot of difference...

if we are considering ALL FULLY STOCK condition cars with correct tyre pressure, manual gearbox, same road conditions, same quality petrol, same engine oil, no lightened parts... blah blah blah.... and all driven by the same standard driver... then you will have an accurate rough idea of each car's performance... cause most cars on the road are very different in weight... weight of driver, boot load... petrol tank full anot... blah blah blah...

if its heavy traffic driving or sharp corners circuit, driver skill plays a very big part...

dont laugh but i once raced with a ferrari F-50 (i think) from orchard hotel coming out of modestos till Plaza singapura that side... when we passed parklane after the left corner, i was in front... wahahaha.. i was driving a CRX 1.6... [laugh]

:blink:

true, skills play a part too..

On 12/11/2009 at 1:27 AM, Ken4555 said:

no way swift pick up as fast as WRX... if both stock... WRX of course faster, even the base WRX...

Swift is fast cause of the power to weight ratio... and mods to it make a lot of difference...

if we are considering ALL FULLY STOCK condition cars with correct tyre pressure, manual gearbox, same road conditions, same quality petrol, same engine oil, no lightened parts... blah blah blah.... and all driven by the same standard driver... then you will have an accurate rough idea of each car's performance... cause most cars on the road are very different in weight... weight of driver, boot load... petrol tank full anot... blah blah blah...

if its heavy traffic driving or sharp corners circuit, driver skill plays a very big part...

dont laugh but i once raced with a ferrari F-50 (i think) from orchard hotel coming out of modestos till Plaza singapura that side... when we passed parklane after the left corner, i was in front... wahahaha.. i was driving a CRX 1.6... [laugh]

singapore do not have a road registered F-50 in singapore.

and most probably the "supercar" wasn't even racing with you.

or could it be a wannabes in a china make with heavily souped up bodykits?

Edited by Turbonetics

On 12/11/2009 at 9:03 AM, Turbonetics said:

singapore do not have a road registered F-50 in singapore.

and most probably the "supercar" wasn't even racing with you.

or could it be a wannabes in a china make with heavily souped up bodykits?

it was a ferrari lah... just dont know the model... china make?... dont b a d**k

and yes it was racing with me, at least it seemed like... cause i went next to him... rev rev and speed up... then he full blast past me so loud... then when he slow down i over take him and this continued till PS... the uncle inside want to show off to his chick... haha... i must hv looked so stupid but it was kinda fun...

On 12/11/2009 at 4:48 PM, Ken4555 said:

it was a ferrari lah... just dont know the model... china make?... dont b a d**k

and yes it was racing with me, at least it seemed like... cause i went next to him... rev rev and speed up... then he full blast past me so loud... then when he slow down i over take him and this continued till PS... the uncle inside want to show off to his chick... haha... i must hv looked so stupid but it was kinda fun...

most likely the uncle changed his mind not to waste time on you.

fyi,how do you know he full blast?Ferrari are already loud even at low rpm.

and you really look stupid to rev rev.

btw,how many horses your CR-X running at?

On 12/11/2009 at 11:50 PM, Turbonetics said:

most likely the uncle changed his mind not to waste time on you.

fyi,how do you know he full blast?Ferrari are already loud even at low rpm.

and you really look stupid to rev rev.

btw,how many horses your CR-X running at?

stock ferrari is not like those super loud ones...

well, wen i passed him, he drop gear and i heard tyre screeching and when he passed me was like in a flash and i felt like an aeroplane passed me.

yes i looked stupid.. can u stop reminding me... but i was young and was a little tipsy... thank god no accident and didnt get caught...

My CRX, more than 10 years ago liao... Z3 engine only... microtec tuned and the usual honda upgrades... the car was light so was very fun to drive... did a dyno at autowreke last time... dyno sheet somewhere in my storeroom... cant remember how many horses... less than 200hp... i had close ration gear box ....

talking to you brings back many fond/sad memories... haiz.... wanna show u the pic.. back then camera phones were super rare... but i think i took a pic with a nokia 7610 i think... trying to find my thumbdrive..

  On 12/11/2009 at 4:50 PM, Ken4555 said:

and guts too... ^_^

agreed. my bro shared with me a story that last time his fren drove a lao pok kar (forget the model) used to play at OG. Then got a bet with a fella driving ferrari. Guess what, his fren outrun that ferrari and the driver smell no smoke!! cos the driver skill and guts sucked..My bro fren zip in and out the traffic but the driver too afraid to get scratch on his half a million car so drive like turtle lor..haha

On 12/13/2009 at 4:09 AM, DMC said:

agreed. my bro shared with me a story that last time his fren drove a lao pok kar (forget the model) used to play at OG. Then got a bet with a fella driving ferrari. Guess what, his fren outrun that ferrari and the driver smell no smoke!! cos the driver skill and guts sucked..My bro fren zip in and out the traffic but the driver too afraid to get scratch on his half a million car so drive like turtle lor..haha

yup... heard these stories before... when it comes to racing in traffic... guts play a bigger part then power...

but if highway and i rev a ferrari i must be trying to be stupid... haha... [laugh]

I think what Bro Knighttan wanted to say was that racing on any road not meant for high speeds is downright irresponsible as a car user. Will be too late to regret if anyone gets hurt or killed in an accident.

Drive safely everyone! [laugh]

On 12/15/2009 at 2:59 PM, Gorakar said:

I think what Bro Knighttan wanted to say was that racing on any road not meant for high speeds is downright irresponsible as a car user. Will be too late to regret if anyone gets hurt or killed in an accident.

Drive safely everyone! [laugh]

Actually, I think he meant "WTF?!"