Xspace 1st Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 (edited) Is this? If not, what are the signs to take note for identifying a low profile tyre? Edited November 14, 2009 by Xspace ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 (edited) the height of tire sidewalls are expressed as a percentage of the tire's width. generally, 45% or below are considered low profile. Yes thats one. Edited November 14, 2009 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear November 14, 2009 Author Share November 14, 2009 Pai seh... Am I correct to say, I can buy a particular rim and install with either normal bui bui tyres or LP tyres? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 Pai seh... Am I correct to say, I can buy a particular rim and install with either normal bui bui tyres or LP tyres? i think better to decide what is the diameter of tire you want outright firstly. To have low profile then you "adjust" rim diameter i.e. get a large diameter rim to pull it off. Of course the rubber also must be low profile. but technically, you can fit bui bui or sam po tires but your tires got to fit the rim then it means the outright tire diameter not sama sama for both liao wor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear November 14, 2009 Author Share November 14, 2009 Yeah yeah.. big rims with LP tyres... Dope... Okay, this picture is just for laffs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 Pai seh... Am I correct to say, I can buy a particular rim and install with either normal bui bui tyres or LP tyres? A thing to take note. When you are on such LP tires the short height of the tire sidewalls does not allow a lot of the tire to "flex" during hard driving. In other words, the tire becomes rigid and very prone to slip. You will feel your car drifting a lot even on the dry. So do take care. You either become "driftking" or "pancake" if you hit a tree or barrier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 how about LP tires with soft compound? Still a compromise on grip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear November 14, 2009 Author Share November 14, 2009 Wah, sounds dangerous leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 (edited) sorry double post. Edited November 14, 2009 by Sg2303 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 Huh? Really? I have been driving with /45 tyres and so far no such slipping or drifting feel. And I saw a GTR fitted with 22 inch rims and /25 tyres. Anyway I have a question to ask. Please bear with me if it's a stupid question. Sorry TS to tap on your thread. Why is it that some cars have rims with 4 holes and some with 5 holes? Why can't they manufacture all to be the same? Is there any reason behind this? TIA! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 Some cars require 5 lug nuts due to higher torque loading at the wheels whereas other cars only require 4 lug nuts. Sure they could have 5 lug nuts but why do so at the expense of additional manufacturing cost if there is no need? Some pickups require 6 lug nuts and large trucks and buses require about 10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 I see. Thanks for enlightening me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 15, 2009 Share November 15, 2009 Some cars require 5 lug nuts due to higher torque loading at the wheels whereas other cars only require 4 lug nuts. Sure they could have 5 lug nuts but why do so at the expense of additional manufacturing cost if there is no need? Some pickups require 6 lug nuts and large trucks and buses require about 10. because cars are design by humans, and every humans think differently, ESP ang mo engineers and JAP engerineers. we can understand by login that bigger cars= bigger hub = more nuts. but why make so many differently type of pcd?? 100, 102, 114.3,120 etc etc etc LOL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 15, 2009 Share November 15, 2009 so u cant use their xclusive design rims on cheaper cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear November 15, 2009 Share November 15, 2009 because cars are design by humans, and every humans think differently, ESP ang mo engineers and JAP engerineers. we can understand by login that bigger cars= bigger hub = more nuts. but why make so many differently type of pcd?? 100, 102, 114.3,120 etc etc etc LOL. if you are in commercial than you know what is call commercial reason just look at our cell phone,non of the battery charger is interchangeable ,and now they had found out is a waste and not environmentally friendly so some of the big cell phone maker had agreed to use same charger head. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...