Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Any bro or sis using Royal engine oil? Pls share your experience. Tks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Back in 2005, have used the RP 10W40 on my Hyundai Accent for 2-3 times. Value for $$$, no complaints.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 Thank you! Any other bro using or tried this oil before? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 I think its purple in colour when pour from the bottle. After its in the engine does it go purple to black or changes to another colour like yellow before black? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Engine will sounds rough after 7kkm. That's what i felt on my car before i changed to OWS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Any bro or sis using Royal engine oil? Pls share your experience. Tks! IMHO, RP is Value for money. I didn't use it beyond 5K though . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 IMHO, RP is Value for money. I didn't use it beyond 5K though . Regards, Hur? Just 5K? Then not worth leh. Why still value for money? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Hur? Just 5K? Then not worth leh. Why still value for money? Still alot cheaper than Amsoil and Redline right? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spoony 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 same here abt aft 7k++...dun feel smooth anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 Oh seems like the review on RP is not very good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 tried it few years ago. bot 12 quart of 5W30. its was cheap that time, only $9+. Can only say that nothing so special other than the purple colour oil. can start to sense the rough feeling after 8K+.. If im not wrong, the current price is on par with Amsoil at $13/quart. Might as well get Amsoil that can last longer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 The purpose of my survey to use RP is not the cost. As I went to a workshop recommended by a friend, the shop only use RP. The boss say RP till very good so I wanna ask you guys if its true. Now seems like other than cheap ( I also dunno exactly how much), there is no good feedback.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 5k rough liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Good for a round of tracking at PG circuit only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 Really CMI leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 its not because royal purple very good its because royal purple give him very good price and fat margin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 its made in where??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 I have not used Royal Purple oil before, but I read from BITOG forum that it is a good oil except for the price as compared to Amsoil and Redline. But locally it is cheaper compared to the two, so its different comparison perhaps? I know few types of engine oil which contain high amount of moly (molybdenum disulfide), they're Royal Purple, Schaeffer and Redline. I'm now using Schaeffer (the #9000 is same price as Royal Purple) and I feel moly gives the engine a smoother feeling as compared to other oil without. The idea that my engine internal is plated with moly thereby giving extra protection gives me comfort feeling. Would like to try Redline, but kind of pricy for my bread n butter car. I hear Royal Purple tend to shear to a lower weight after some mileage, hence probably that's where some people feel its "rougher" where infact its the lighter viscosity that's causing the engine to sound louder. Some say the phenomena of engine oil (not necessary Royal Purple, other oil too) shearing to lighter viscosity is by design, because as time and mileage accumulate, engine oil would become thicker as it oxidise and saturating with contaminent. Not sure what is Royal Purple base oil grouping, but i hear the "Synerlec" could be ester additive from a group V oil. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...