Pisces69 6th Gear December 4, 2009 Share December 4, 2009 My fren just bought a used hyundai verna 1.6A 2006. The used car dealer kept one key and just gave him the other key without remote. When my fren ask for the remote key, the dealer claim there isn't such key for this car. Need to make new one. Does the remote comes with this model? The dealer also claimed he must take 1 key in case the buyer default on the payment. Got such thing meh? I never get to see which key he took. ================= Maybe the remote key spoilt so dealer make excuse not to give. If he say its spoilt, the buyer might ask for a discount to cover the cost of a replacement remote. Or the car re-posessed so original remote key is still with the original owner. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antlau 1st Gear December 4, 2009 Share December 4, 2009 Frankly speaking, a 2nd hand car is worth only the paper value (OMV and that's very kind already, + COE) and probably some body value... That is how much one should pay, bargain bargain bargain (if one is not hard up to drive a car). Dont be a carrot. Always remember, the money is still in your pocket, the advantage is still in your hands. 1st hand owner has had the "shiok-ness" feeling of owning the car 1st hand liao, why should we help them to minimise their losses, top up their loan differences, by buying at higher than value 2nd hand cars? Just my humble point of view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winningeleven 4th Gear December 4, 2009 Share December 4, 2009 also looking for 2nd hand car now and most direct owners are selling their car as the same price as dealer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiny_planet Neutral Newbie December 5, 2009 Share December 5, 2009 Frankly speaking, a 2nd hand car is worth only the paper value (OMV and that's very kind already, + COE) and probably some body value... That is how much one should pay, bargain bargain bargain (if one is not hard up to drive a car). Dont be a carrot. Always remember, the money is still in your pocket, the advantage is still in your hands. 1st hand owner has had the "shiok-ness" feeling of owning the car 1st hand liao, why should we help them to minimise their losses, top up their loan differences, by buying at higher than value 2nd hand cars? Just my humble point of view. That will be the ideal case for buying an used car at paper value, probably you can only get these sort of price for cars that is almost to its end of the 10 years life ... I dun think can get any car at paper value if we talk about less than 3 years old car. Most car dealers take-in direct owner's car and resell it at least 6-8K (for Cat A cars) above the price they took in. Eg if a car dealer is selling 40k for a particular used car, we might be able to get from direct owner at say 34-36k. Can't blame the used car though as they also making a living and running a business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafeizhu Neutral Newbie December 6, 2009 Share December 6, 2009 Hi all, New to this forum so I have to hijack. Haa. I intend to buy a 2nd hand car which is 1yr plus old. However, I found a car which has $2 COE. So after driving for a 3-4 years, will car dealers give me a lower quote due to the $2 COE? The car seems good, just that the $2 COE is bothering me cos the next buyer will not get any COE credits back if they are gg to scrap the car. Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear December 6, 2009 Share December 6, 2009 Frankly speaking, a 2nd hand car is worth only the paper value (OMV and that's very kind already, + COE) and probably some body value... That is how much one should pay, bargain bargain bargain (if one is not hard up to drive a car). Dont be a carrot. Always remember, the money is still in your pocket, the advantage is still in your hands. 1st hand owner has had the "shiok-ness" feeling of owning the car 1st hand liao, why should we help them to minimise their losses, top up their loan differences, by buying at higher than value 2nd hand cars? Just my humble point of view. If everybody thinks like you, then perhaps nobody will want to sell their cars so quickly. Because that will mean driving the car out from the showroom and immediately having an omv+coe+body value car. There will still be people who are willing to buy used cars because of the lower upfront costs that they can pay, which may not necessarily translate to significant savings if you take into the various intricacies of the tax structure and rebates in Singapore into consideration. As long as there are such people, you can forget about paper value cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear December 6, 2009 Share December 6, 2009 That will be the ideal case for buying an used car at paper value, probably you can only get these sort of price for cars that is almost to its end of the 10 years life ... I dun think can get any car at paper value if we talk about less than 3 years old car. Most car dealers take-in direct owner's car and resell it at least 6-8K (for Cat A cars) above the price they took in. Eg if a car dealer is selling 40k for a particular used car, we might be able to get from direct owner at say 34-36k. Can't blame the used car though as they also making a living and running a business. To tell you honestly, you will be surprised to come across people who approach you to buy a less than 3 yr old car for paper value and a bit more only. I am speaking from experience and I did get a shock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear December 6, 2009 Share December 6, 2009 To me i think that there shld still be savings... if new n 2nd hand car dep. abt the same... i might as well buy 1st hand right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotouch Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Got my Jazz from there last July (Car registered Sept 2005) Listed price $39k, bargained to 35-36k Car was in pretty good condition. Except my side mirror paint got chipped 2 weeks later , they might have patched it and the paint just chipped off and wiring in my left mirror broke, Kah Motor fixed it for $35. bro, do you have any tips on choosing second cars? i heard many scary stories of cars being assembled with other scraps of metal after being totaled, a spray of paint over conceals everything. Any tip for a new driver like me??? I'm interested in jazz 1.3m as well, and i'm wondering what is your FC, km/l Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 bro, do you have any tips on choosing second cars? i heard many scary stories of cars being assembled with other scraps of metal after being totaled, a spray of paint over conceals everything. Any tip for a new driver like me??? I'm interested in jazz 1.3m as well, and i'm wondering what is your FC, km/l only buy auth dealer cars, dun buy PI cars... call the AD and check the mileage and history, make sure no hanky panky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 11, 2009 Share December 11, 2009 bro, do you have any tips on choosing second cars? i heard many scary stories of cars being assembled with other scraps of metal after being totaled, a spray of paint over conceals everything. Any tip for a new driver like me??? I'm interested in jazz 1.3m as well, and i'm wondering what is your FC, km/l to be safe, you can buy 2nd hand jazz from Kah motors. it comes with warranty from them. expensive but you pay for peace of mind. at least kah motors will never cheat you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear December 11, 2009 Share December 11, 2009 Hi all, New to this forum so I have to hijack. Haa. I intend to buy a 2nd hand car which is 1yr plus old. However, I found a car which has $2 COE. So after driving for a 3-4 years, will car dealers give me a lower quote due to the $2 COE? The car seems good, just that the $2 COE is bothering me cos the next buyer will not get any COE credits back if they are gg to scrap the car. Thanks in advance. dream on. when u wanna buy it from them, they will say altho coe is $2, current coe is high so they will put a premium on it. but when u sell to them, they will say coe only $2. at most peg it to 1k for u since coe is now higher than $2. got this first hand encounter before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhanwenjie Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 thinking of getting a 2nd car... but do not know what is the reasonable price to asked for ~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kuek66 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 Do some home work (sgcarmet) + Go down to used car market (AML, Turf City....) personally = Good Bargain $$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahksim Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 bought my current ride from a dealer who advertised on sgcarmart. list price 68k and the deal closed at 65k. met up with the previous owner of my car, he managed to get back 62k. so dealer earned about 3k. i think is reasonable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 Do some home work (sgcarmet) + Go down to used car market (AML, Turf City....) personally = Good Bargain $$ there is no substitute for legwork when buying a 2nd hand. the prices at sgcarmart is only an indication. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 true i think sgcarmart price is just guideline to let people know the price but usually u can get cheaper rate when u are a seruis buyer it also goes with 1st hand cars since nowdays 2nd hand cars are getting more and more let us bargain our way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 18, 2009 Share December 18, 2009 cash is king. the reason why owners end up selling their cars to dealers is becos dealers can pay full cash to settle. i have this advantage when buying cars. most of my cars are bot direct from owners, super quick easy transaction, full cash settle. Price i buy is better than from dealer, price the seller sold is also better than selling to dealer. win-win dont flame me hor... yup. totally agree. jus sold my rsz to direct buyer at 3-8k higher than dealr quote a month n half back, while cheaper than sgcarmart list price by a few grands, somemore my OMV higher than PI by 5k. i oni dep 3k/yr for dat car, so win-win like what u say. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...