Why can Mazda 3 not resolve FC and underpowered?

Quantum

aircon off, HW 70%, City 30%, light pedal, speed constant at 80km/h, rpm about 2,2, can reach 16km/l

just one qn, when the rpm goes up during downslope, does it take up more fuel?

On 8/5/2010 at 8:56 AM, Quantum said:

nowdays it's difficult to get good FC, I remember 5 yesrs ago, even my sunny also easily got 15km/l, [thumbsup] now only 11km/l liao, don't why, most probably due to too many congestion to SG road

may be true but it still depends on the route one takes.

I am lucky that the route I travel on are usually not congested.

On 8/14/2010 at 2:36 PM, Andrewtyr said:

aircon off, HW 70%, City 30%, light pedal, speed constant at 80km/h, rpm about 2,2, can reach 16km/l

just one qn, when the rpm goes up during downslope, does it take up more fuel?

just turn on instantaneous FC monitoring feature on your mz3 & you will know the answer.

But I dun understand why your rpm goes up on downslope. do you step harder on accelerator?

Your FC is even more impressive. Are you driving new or old Mz3?

  On 8/17/2010 at 9:37 AM, Redboy said:

just turn on instantaneous FC monitoring feature on your mz3 & you will know the answer.

But I dun understand why your rpm goes up on downslope. do you step harder on accelerator?

Your FC is even more impressive. Are you driving new or old Mz3?

I am driving the old m3, stock.

Definitely can feel the engine brake if never retain pedal pressure, why waste the gravity? so I retain same pressure on the pedal all the while, downslope or level ground. Rpm increases with speed irregardless of the road gradient, I am not sure if rpm is linked to FC.

to achieve 16, must sacrifice so much, if the feeling is shiok having to achieve such mileage on little fuel.

On 11/5/2009 at 1:56 AM, RadX said:

pretty good leh...my mx-5 gives wifey about 11km/l....

my cx-7 a bit thirsty lah..8.5km/l [cool]

8.5km/l for that Tank is very good indeed! somemore TC one

In reply to M3ZZ, just for comparison, I have been using a Honda Civic 2.0A since new and for about 50% city 50% highway use, it has consistently been giving about 11.5 to 12 km/l.

Edited by Mooose

On 8/17/2010 at 9:49 AM, Andrewtyr said:

I am driving the old m3, stock.

Definitely can feel the engine brake if never retain pedal pressure, why waste the gravity? so I retain same pressure on the pedal all the while, downslope or level ground. Rpm increases with speed irregardless of the road gradient, I am not sure if rpm is linked to FC.

to achieve 16, must sacrifice so much, if the feeling is shiok having to achieve such mileage on little fuel.

absolutely right.

The secret to good FC is try to maintain constant pressure applied on accelerator as much as possible.

must be really disciplined in this aspect, so advice is not to use rightmost lane as there is when we tend to change speed frequently.

I use downslope to pick up speed with help from gravity and on level ground, I try to maintain same pressure on accelerator.

But to get 16, it's quite a challenge & sacrifice. care to share any further FC enhancing secrets?

  On 8/18/2010 at 1:22 AM, Mooose said:

In reply to M3ZZ, just for comparison, I have been using a Honda Civic 2.0A since new and for about 50% city 50% highway use, it has consistently been giving about 11.5 to 12 km/l.

orh...almost the same then. Thx for sharing Moose.

On 8/5/2010 at 8:56 AM, Quantum said:

nowdays it's difficult to get good FC, I remember 5 yesrs ago, even my sunny also easily got 15km/l, [thumbsup] now only 11km/l liao, don't why, most probably due to too many congestion to SG road

Sunny 15km/l...

you must be joking is it?

  On 8/18/2010 at 3:22 AM, Redboy said:

absolutely right.

The secret to good FC is try to maintain constant pressure applied on accelerator as much as possible.

must be really disciplined in this aspect, so advice is not to use rightmost lane as there is when we tend to change speed frequently.

I use downslope to pick up speed with help from gravity and on level ground, I try to maintain same pressure on accelerator.

But to get 16, it's quite a challenge & sacrifice. care to share any further FC enhancing secrets?

wheels pump to 270kpa, light footed, 2.25k rpm (will irk alot of drivers at the back esp at move off!), zero passengers, close windows, off air con, tt's about all I can think of

On 8/13/2010 at 9:18 AM, Japan96 said:

Lancer Ex got gud stability , gud FC gud look also Gud power too 1.5L producing 109 BHP

Pathetic car.

Look, my car so powerful people even take picture put in newspaper. [cool]

4928382604_5ed6aa4d06_b.jpg

Why do you said that?

I though quite nice from side & rear. Front is personal.

On 8/14/2010 at 2:17 PM, Travmufc said:

Mazda 3 does not look good at all though.