Why can Mazda 3 not resolve FC and underpowered?

Quantum

On 11/15/2009 at 9:28 AM, Picanto said:

for power, need to get at least the mazda mazda 3 2.0.

the bigger engine driving the M3 chassis is a perfect combination.

as for FC wise, i do not know.

What I understand is the bigger cc car has a better FC than the 1.6L one

On 11/17/2009 at 1:58 PM, Unfazed said:

I feel that Mazda appeals more to yuppies, younger in age and looks win their hearts at the first sight. Sat in an old mazda 3 and wondered y ppl bought this machine. Unrefined engine with price comparable to Civic or Altis and with comfort near to zero level. Worse, floor the throttle, all u hear is sound.

Think lotd of brand has improved their engine for the recent yr. Take a look at Mitshi, Nissian, Subaru all came out with 1.5L car and their hp is in par or even higher than the 1.6L one. Mazda is slow in this area, they seem to tackle the ascetic aspect rather than performance/FC.

Let us see whether their new Smart Idle Stop System (SISS) can help improve their badge when it is out to the market

On 11/17/2009 at 1:58 PM, Unfazed said:

I feel that Mazda appeals more to yuppies, younger in age and looks win their hearts at the first sight. Sat in an old mazda 3 and wondered y ppl bought this machine. Unrefined engine with price comparable to Civic or Altis and with comfort near to zero level. Worse, floor the throttle, all u hear is sound.

it can't be that bad. maybe you are one of those rare people.

Maybe I am a yuppie then. Had my Mazda 3 1.5 years ago and I am still loving it every minute of the day. I do not need to drive very fast, so the slow pick up does not bother me. My mileage is not high so the relatively high FC is not that much of a concern either. I am the driver so the cramped back seats again do not bother me.

I drove an Altis before the Mazda 3 and all I know is:

1. When I am walking towards the car, I know which exterior I prefer.

2. I know that my interior does not look like cheapo wood panels

3. The leather on my car door does not peel off by itself.

4. My side skirt does not drop off for no reason

5. I can corner with greater stability

To each his own.

Maybe I am a yuppie then. Had my Mazda 3 1.5 years ago and I am still loving it every minute of the day. I do not need to drive very fast, so the slow pick up does not bother me. My mileage is not high so the relatively high FC is not that much of a concern either. I am the driver so the cramped back seats again do not bother me.

To each his own.

agreed! i drive one too!

I drove a stock Mazda 3 HB now and there is no loud noise from the engine. In fact, i have comments from my colleagues who sat in my car and wonder why it is so quiet compare to their cars. The poor FC is due to the weight. I not sure if everyone know but the C1 platform of Mazda is share with Volvo and Ford Focus, thus it is heavy and but the handling is good. The metal is also very hard cause twice ppl knock into my car, (not going to mention brand but they are japanese car), they suffer severe dent whereas mine is just slight dent and scratches with repair bill around SGD200 after knocking and paint spray. So all i can say is that I am very happy with the Mazda 3 HB. With the bad congestion in SG these days, I place my safety above power thus for those who like nice design car with good safety, can go for it. Actually, hope there are less of it on the road so that it is more unique. Quite a stupid thought.

On 11/5/2009 at 1:52 AM, Mzrmazda3 said:

My Mz3 gives me an average of 11.3km-11.8km/l [nod]

It's running on 17", bodykitted, partially soundproofed with an aftermarket exhaust [nod]

Like that consider thirsty boh [flowerface]

Me not Mz3 but a little lamb Mz2, 1098kg . FC ard 14+km/L since day 1 , if whack all the time worse FC ard 12+km/L. Running on 16" ,aftermarket exhaust, some chocolate bar. Mileage now 101000Km .

Edited by Chogokin

On 11/5/2009 at 12:54 AM, Seaweed said:

FC??...nothing much can be done...u move a heavier body...u used more fuel...commonsense...underpowered?? they already have an answer for you mah...they have 2000cc available mah...ha ha ha....don't u think so??

Yes, they even has the MPS 3 - with turbo...hahah

Drove a CX-7 previously - very nice drive and in no way underpowered - zoom zoom

On 11/5/2009 at 1:56 AM, RadX said:

pretty good leh...my mx-5 gives wifey about 11km/l....

my cx-7 a bit thirsty lah..8.5km/l [cool]

Wow, you could get 8.5km/l for your CX-7 - kowtow to you...hahah

I couldn't get beyond 7.5km/l - usually only 6.5km/l

But driving it was a joy - in fact, I still prefer it to my current ride :(

On 12/23/2009 at 2:32 AM, Xtrocious said:

Wow, you could get 8.5km/l for your CX-7 - kowtow to you...hahah

I couldn't get beyond 7.5km/l - usually only 6.5km/l

But driving it was a joy - in fact, I still prefer it to my current ride :(

[laugh][laugh] aiyah you say so many times...buy again lah...hahaha

On 12/22/2009 at 4:14 PM, Chogokin said:

Me not Mz3 but a little lamb Mz2, 1098kg . FC ard 14+km/L since day 1 , if whack all the time worse FC ard 12+km/L. Running on 16" ,aftermarket exhaust, some chocolate bar. Mileage now 101000Km .

Bro, your mileage is consider very [thumbsup] liao [nod]

My Mz3 have travelled 111600km since day 1 [bounce1]

On 11/17/2009 at 5:04 PM, Axela1989 said:

To each his own.

agreed! i drive one too!

No wonder yr nick is like mine.

On 12/23/2009 at 2:41 AM, Mzrmazda3 said:

Bro, your mileage is consider very [thumbsup] liao [nod]

My Mz3 have travelled 111600km since day 1 [bounce1]

As long everyday when you see yr car u dun feel sian can liao. I always wanted to add posion but pocket not deep enough haiz

On 12/23/2009 at 2:34 AM, RadX said:

[laugh][laugh] aiyah you say so many times...buy again lah...hahaha

But I don't like the new 2010 model...hahah

Looks like I have to live with my C200 until the next next face lift [shocked]

On 12/23/2009 at 6:07 AM, Chogokin said:

As long everyday when you see yr car u dun feel sian can liao. I always wanted to add posion but pocket not deep enough haiz

Yeah Bro [drivingcar][drivingcar]