JX83 3rd Gear July 26, 2010 Share July 26, 2010 Just wanna share my 2 cents, for those of you that say that it can achieve 13 to 15 km/L, in my mind, in Spore? I was like WTF!!!! LIAR!!!! In my mind lah.... I can tell you I can only achieve that kind of FC travelling in NSH constantly at 100km/h in between petrol kiosks. So no matter what you say about its the driver not the car crap, I wun believe you... btw my mz3 is completely stock. Haha don like that said ah maybe he is the 1 out of 10 ppl that can do it :) I remember one time when I was washing my car at mscp was chatting to a guy about his mz3.. Ask him about his car fc and told him I was quite interested to buy at 1st as it look nice.. He told me fc wise is quite bad.. I believe a stranger won't lie about that right.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 26, 2010 Share July 26, 2010 (edited) 2l? might as well get maz6. I never understand why ppl pay 2l price for a 1.6l body size. I mean if it is a real sport car, nothing to say but maz3? a waste right? paying higher for a smaller body? you pay for the nice body and stability not power. i think most ppl buy maz 3 because of its nice styling than anything... power should not be a consideration if getting a maz3. LOL... [laugh] You will hardly see Mazda 3 in 1.6L form, Civic in 1.6L form, Altis in 1.6L form in other markets. This is uniquely Singapore. The fact that Singapore's traffic is start-stop and top speed isn't high does not mean one should choose a small engine in a big car shell. On the contrary, a bigger engine with good power-to-weight ratio is important to ensure optimum fuel consumption and good drivability. Edited July 26, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 26, 2010 Share July 26, 2010 Singapore importing all these 1.6L are due to the taxes.If there isn't this taxes and COE,I would have gotten a 2L and above car.It's silly to drive a car that underpower and consume similar petrol compare to their higher power plant counterpart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 LOL... [laugh] You will hardly see Mazda 3 in 1.6L form, Civic in 1.6L form, Altis in 1.6L form in other markets. This is uniquely Singapore. The fact that Singapore's traffic is start-stop and top speed isn't high does not mean one should choose a small engine in a big car shell. On the contrary, a bigger engine with good power-to-weight ratio is important to ensure optimum fuel consumption and good drivability. Not true leh, the Civic 1.6 is also sold in the Middle East market, particularly the Egypt . Civic 1.6 though has a larger shell, it is comparatively lighter than its 1.8 and 2.0 counterpart. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Do you mean road tax in particular? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 My M3 2L, Texas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cm_0612 Neutral Newbie July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Haha don like that said ah maybe he is the 1 out of 10 ppl that can do it :) I remember one time when I was washing my car at mscp was chatting to a guy about his mz3.. Ask him about his car fc and told him I was quite interested to buy at 1st as it look nice.. He told me fc wise is quite bad.. I believe a stranger won't lie about that right.. haha....seriously I would be very interested to know how he do it then. Maybe he can teach us mz3 drivers a trick or two...:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Just wanna share my 2 cents, for those of you that say that it can achieve 13 to 15 km/L, in my mind, in Spore? I was like WTF!!!! LIAR!!!! In my mind lah.... I can tell you I can only achieve that kind of FC travelling in NSH constantly at 100km/h in between petrol kiosks. So no matter what you say about its the driver not the car crap, I wun believe you... btw my mz3 is completely stock. can be done. It's all in the mind & right leg, bro! Service your vehicle at recommended intervals, keep tyres at optimum pressure etc. How one drives is important. Must judge traffic conditions & try to regulate pressure on accelerator(i.e. knowing when to speed up & when to ease off) I observed that FC increases when we keep changing our speed too much suddenly. so try as much to keep acceleration gradual & dun follow too closely to other vehicles. If follow too closely, it's likely that you have to brake & lose momentum. It's safer also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear July 27, 2010 Share July 27, 2010 Haha don like that said ah maybe he is the 1 out of 10 ppl that can do it :) I remember one time when I was washing my car at mscp was chatting to a guy about his mz3.. Ask him about his car fc and told him I was quite interested to buy at 1st as it look nice.. He told me fc wise is quite bad.. I believe a stranger won't lie about that right.. but did he tell u how much getting km/l???? what i am saying is maybe he was getting 15-16km/l on his old car and thus his mz3 can't match up? when pple ask abt my MPV, i always say bad (coz it's worse than my previous sedan) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cm_0612 Neutral Newbie July 28, 2010 Share July 28, 2010 can be done. It's all in the mind & right leg, bro! Service your vehicle at recommended intervals, keep tyres at optimum pressure etc. How one drives is important. Must judge traffic conditions & try to regulate pressure on accelerator(i.e. knowing when to speed up & when to ease off) I observed that FC increases when we keep changing our speed too much suddenly. so try as much to keep acceleration gradual & dun follow too closely to other vehicles. If follow too closely, it's likely that you have to brake & lose momentum. It's safer also. Not on a mz3 driving in spore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear July 28, 2010 Share July 28, 2010 Not on a mz3 driving in spore... i am also driving mz3 in singapore in fact, i have never driven outside singapore give it a try, bro! if you don't bother to try, you won't know! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cm_0612 Neutral Newbie July 29, 2010 Share July 29, 2010 i am also driving mz3 in singapore in fact, i have never driven outside singapore give it a try, bro! if you don't bother to try, you won't know! Its not that I'm being an ass... Tried liaoz, the first year I collected my car...best I got was 11km/L, in Singapore... NSH was 14km/L, constant at 90 to 100km/hr...drive until wanna sleep sia.. Accelerate lightly, brake early and brake lightly, cruise to traffic light if I see the light turn yellow, safety gap between cars until 3 cars can cut in, tyre pressure at 250kpa, removed spare tyre, changed to lighter weight rims, boot always empty, highway travel always 90km/hr or below, seldom overtake, air con not used in morning and evening (with windows up!) Now I gave up the above boring drive style and drive as per I like and get about 9 to 10 plus... So you telling me you can do better, maybe 12km/L I can believe, hell I will even believe 13, but 15km/L is too much.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmondtwb Clutched July 29, 2010 Share July 29, 2010 How can 15 be possible on the mazda 3? If you calculate solely while travelling on the highway (40km) of course 15 is acheiveable but over a run of full tank, bo ko leng la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Its not that I'm being an ass... Tried liaoz, the first year I collected my car...best I got was 11km/L, in Singapore... NSH was 14km/L, constant at 90 to 100km/hr...drive until wanna sleep sia.. Accelerate lightly, brake early and brake lightly, cruise to traffic light if I see the light turn yellow, safety gap between cars until 3 cars can cut in, tyre pressure at 250kpa, removed spare tyre, changed to lighter weight rims, boot always empty, highway travel always 90km/hr or below, seldom overtake, air con not used in morning and evening (with windows up!) Now I gave up the above boring drive style and drive as per I like and get about 9 to 10 plus... So you telling me you can do better, maybe 12km/L I can believe, hell I will even believe 13, but 15km/L is too much.... maybe u can try to turn on FC monitoring thing which indicates instantaneous FC. It tells you how the car achieves optimal FC. I used that & now roughly know how to drive to optimize FC. By the way, do u ferry passengers often? I do ferry passengers occasionally on wkday evenings/wkends & lunchtime. Presently, my FC still hovers around 14+ range. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 (edited) How can 15 be possible on the mazda 3? If you calculate solely while travelling on the highway (40km) of course 15 is acheiveable but over a run of full tank, bo ko leng la. if calculate solely while travelling on highway, I think can get 20+km/l This is based on FC monitoring system on mz3. That time, I got 15+ based on almost full tank & it's after engine flushing was done. anyway, if a Merc C180 can claim to get 13.5, I dun see why 15 on mz3 is unachievable. I ever heard of wish getting 16, stream getting 14.... Anyway, I think my FC still is incomparable to vios/fit but respectable for 1.6 sedan. Fit/vios should be getting 15 or 16 easily. Edited August 4, 2010 by Redboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear August 5, 2010 Author Share August 5, 2010 if calculate solely while travelling on highway, I think can get 20+km/l This is based on FC monitoring system on mz3. That time, I got 15+ based on almost full tank & it's after engine flushing was done. anyway, if a Merc C180 can claim to get 13.5, I dun see why 15 on mz3 is unachievable. I ever heard of wish getting 16, stream getting 14.... Anyway, I think my FC still is incomparable to vios/fit but respectable for 1.6 sedan. Fit/vios should be getting 15 or 16 easily. nowdays it's difficult to get good FC, I remember 5 yesrs ago, even my sunny also easily got 15km/l, now only 11km/l liao, don't why, most probably due to too many congestion to SG road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cm_0612 Neutral Newbie August 12, 2010 Share August 12, 2010 if calculate solely while travelling on highway, I think can get 20+km/l This is based on FC monitoring system on mz3. That time, I got 15+ based on almost full tank & it's after engine flushing was done. anyway, if a Merc C180 can claim to get 13.5, I dun see why 15 on mz3 is unachievable. I ever heard of wish getting 16, stream getting 14.... Anyway, I think my FC still is incomparable to vios/fit but respectable for 1.6 sedan. Fit/vios should be getting 15 or 16 easily. I know lah, he must be using 15" rims..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M3ZZ Neutral Newbie August 13, 2010 Share August 13, 2010 My 2 weeks old mazda3 2.0 gives me abt 8.5-8.6L/100km. I think its very good for a 2.0L car rite. I guess underpowered is meant for the 1.6L. The 2.0L is definitely not underpowered. In fact it goes up to 90km/h pretty effortless and quiet too. After zooming ard for 2 weeks and am very convince this car really gives me the joy of driving. I feel shiok whenever am on the road with this beauty. Also I do get lancer drivers trying to race with me on ecp a couple of times. Not sure any one of you mazda owners get such invitations... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...