[Question] - How do you calculate fc?

Johnson28

Is it based on the meter on the car?

like 9L /100km then convert 11km/L

or you manually keep track using (mileage at pump - previous mileage last pump) / amount of fuel pumped on receipt this time round

which one more accurate?

what i do is pump it to the brim, then reset your ODO to 0. then just drive maybe 100km before you head back to pump again. Calculate the litres pump in and divide by 100km which you drove.

for example,

i drove 100km and pump maybe 12L.

100 divide 12 = 8.3km/l

i saw this method somewhere in MCF, credit to the person.

Try to get the avg for 5 pumps for accuracy, as fc may vary due to traffic conditions and also the different pattern of pump attendant.

Step 1 Today:

Pump until auto-stop.

Reset the trip meter to zero.

Step 2 Sometime later:

Pump until auto-stop.

Note volume of petrol pump. (e.g. 37.5l)

Note distance travelled. (e.g. 500km)

Reset trip meter to zero.

Repeat step 1 and 2 until you are happy.

FC = 500km/37.5l or 37.5l/5km

= 13.3km/l or 7.5l/100km

There you go.

My experience tells me that, in order to get a good estimated fc, always:

1) Go to the same petrol kiosk and use the same pump and pump with same speed. (More consistent)

2) Try to pump around the same time. (morning, noon or night)

3) Get as many readings as possible.

Here is the method to get a good estimate of your ride's actual fuel consumption:

Step 1. Fill your tank completely.

Step 2. Reset your trip meter.

Step 3. Drive till your fuel guage is low.

Step 4. Read your trip meter when you arrive at the pump for the refuel.

Step 5. Fill your tank completely.

Step 6. Write your distance travelled on your fuel receipt and you can compute the fuel consumption on the previous tank of petrol by dividing the distance travelled (km) with the volume of petrol added (l).

Step 7. Go to step 2.

You should do this continuously or at least several times in a cycle to get a good estimate because pump attendants practise personal approach to fill your tank - some rely on the auto-stop, some continue to add till the nearest dollar value, some continue to add to the brim, etc. The variability of the auto-stop also introduces some difference to the actual fuel added.

I have a MS Excel worksheet to maintain manual recordings at http://singaporemotoring.blogspot.com/2008...onsumption.html

skxly

pick any day, record the millage on your odo. pump the tank full till the brim... start to track the amount of fuel pumped. on the last day that you wish to cut off your FC tracking, pump the tank till the brim again, check the total millage driven during that period (1 mth recomended) and divide the numbers to the total litres of fuel pump for the same period. the number will be your FC. 1 month period is recomended as the driving style, the road condition and the weather changes will affect the FC, the longer period will give you a better average.

From day 1 till now, I ahve this spreadsheet of how I am charting and the TOTLA cost of depreciation,e tc

post-547-1257416652_thumb.jpg

On 11/4/2009 at 5:34 AM, Zouking said:

what i do is pump it to the brim, then reset your ODO to 0. then just drive maybe 100km before you head back to pump again. Calculate the litres pump in and divide by 100km which you drove.

for example,

i drove 100km and pump maybe 12L.

100 divide 12 = 8.3km/l

i saw this method somewhere in MCF, credit to the person.

Thanks bro! The person you credited to is me!

I remember cos ODO is actually trip meter!

As ODO cannot reset unless you are a used car dealer! :D

Wah Bro, you very detail leh! I only kep track of dist. travelled, litres pumped, total cost and avg. FC.

With my car allowance plus whatever claims minus total cost of petrol and loan in a month, then I'll know if I break even, earn or make a loss. This does not include roadt tax, car park etc.

On 11/5/2009 at 11:56 AM, Tigershark1976 said:

u must be a financial controler [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

[laugh][laugh] Auditor nia....I even have the depreciation based on interest based on teh $#^$#^$ petrol costs...nb <_<

On 11/5/2009 at 11:58 AM, RadX said:

[laugh][laugh] Auditor nia....I even have the depreciation based on interest based on teh $#^$#^$ petrol costs...nb <_<

bro, not detailed enuf leh. Never put graphs [laugh]

On 11/5/2009 at 12:06 PM, Alfisti168 said:

bro, not detailed enuf leh. Never put graphs [laugh]

[cool] Er...that is page 2 lah....

On 11/5/2009 at 12:07 PM, RadX said:

[cool] Er...that is page 2 lah....

[laugh] [laugh] I nothing to say liao. [thumbsup]

But bro, uu got like... tryout different brands of petrol for ur CX-7? coz if uu do then not accurate liao... due to the different % discounts by diff brands.

Edited by Alfisti168

I always pump 1 brand Seehum..hahahhaha

Cos I get total 12% with my Infinite. But I factor in 5% discount already in the final price, and when I use the smart $, on page 3, I have the deduction as well for that and for that pump day/date, that amount is also factored in. Similarly when I get $20 vouchers from Shell regularly

On 11/5/2009 at 12:22 PM, RadX said:

I always pump 1 brand Seehum..hahahhaha

Cos I get total 12% with my Infinite. But I factor in 5% discount already in the final price, and when I use the smart $, on page 3, I have the deduction as well for that and for that pump day/date, that amount is also factored in. Similarly when I get $20 vouchers from Shell regularly

Faint.

Needa read 3 times b4 can catch tt. Haha. Next time I get car I will def. consult uu for calculations de. hope uu stil around. Haha.

On 11/5/2009 at 12:27 PM, Alfisti168 said:

Faint.

Needa read 3 times b4 can catch tt. Haha. Next time I get car I will def. consult uu for calculations de. hope uu stil around. Haha.

if not every year, 7 month i should be avail for consultation [laugh][laugh][laugh]