40 members have voted

1. 1. Buses getting slower. Agree?

• Yes, by a lot
    • Yes, by a little
    • Same as before
    • No, by a little
    • No, by a lot

to my best of knowledge, whenever a bus is driving damn slow means its aheard of it schedule of arrival at the bus stop ahead. if the bus does not regulate its speed it might result in early arrivals at terminals and hence penalties awarded to driver. some of the driver oso wan to keng, purposely drive slow so the bus behind him running the same route number can catch up with him. high chance district HQ will call him via bus intercom to ask him go off svcs n just alight pessengers aft bus empty go back to terminal str. highest speed limit for bus is 60km/h. but do be more careful of buses nowadays, more n more ah tiong drivers handling our bus..u never noe how hiong they can drive. =)

Edited by Zhlow

Then in this case my bicycle must be travelling at 50kmh le

Overtook a bus 55 on the road 2 weeks ago. The bus was travelling to its next bus stop. And the road is straight with no traffic light at all.

Bus always travel slow, period :D

getting slower coz more ah tiong to pick up

u may be wrong in this sense.. ah tiong can be very hiong... read carefully and u noe the 2 words only 1 letter different... [:p]

recently took bus due to car in workshop. my thots from the 3 bus trips were:

1. too many buses per stop or stop too small, adding to congestion at bus bay, no to mention having buses bunching up and first bus of the same trip cramped like sardines and the others empty.

2. some bus stops are too near to each other making the journey too slow. less than 50-100m for some places.

3. extra long buses and double deckers move off much slower than the simple one deck. tis adds to the slowness and congestion, both at bus bay and along the road.

4. bus stops right at congested roads, near traffic light or near taxi stand, causing more congestion for buses and cars.

5. idiot bus drivers that stop right up the arse of the bus in front, thus if the bus in front dun move off, the bus behind oso cannot. sometimes, the bus behind had to wait quite long due to the long q for the front bus.

6. idiot bus bay planners who proposed for divider between bus bays and road. buses behind the front bus cannot move out first. but these are progressively being removed. waste of tax payers money again.

7. idiot bus bay planners who proposed for inline bus bay so that the bus can move off immediately without filtering out. it works for the first bus, but all the buses behind, where got chance to come out first by filtering into 2nd lane? and yeah, it blocks an entire road by then. tis also causes all behind buses to bunch and wait for the first bus.

i dun have all the solutions but im wondering...

in most instances, there is more than one bus that can reach or pass-by. why not make some of these buses stopping at alternate stops instead of each stop? not saying it applies across the board but it really is ridiculous in some instances.

bus stops can be easily moved away from congested areas and provide walking shelter. need not be too far, juz 10-20 m further away helps. e.g. clementi, vivo, etc.

it was only 3 trips but it was 3 trips too many for me. bus services have deteriorated but i dun tink is due to increased in cars. it is the overall planning of our transportation infrastructure tat is screwed.

Yes, SBS drivers drive really slow.

Like if they drive fast, they will get another trip to drive.

Only TIBS bus drivers drice really fast.

The slower bus goes, the higher ERP will go.

from what i know,

drive too fast = arrive early at bus terminal = fine

drive too slow = arrive late at bus terminal = fine

so most drivers chiong for 80% of the route, then they time themselves for the remaining 20%. this is what i personally encountered many many times when i was an avid bus passenger [laugh]

so u tell me, isn't it a LPPL situation?

They should pay the bus drivers by the number of trips they make [sly]

very often taking 961 towards causeway point in the morning.

u can see passengers are oso 1 reason causing bus moving quite slowly.

if elderly, we can understand, but those secondary school students, they waited till bus halt compleletely, then start to stand up, move slowly to exit door, "dick" their card then tap.

worse are those ahgua army guys, who r alighting at upp bt timah rd (where their camp entrance/ exit road facing Shell station, with train crossing right infront) taking e bus as their personal chaufer driven car.

waited bus completely halt, slowly & staedily stand up, walk slowly 2exit door, then "dick" into pocket, take out ezlink card, tap, chk balance amt of crad, then ahgua down the bus, 1 after another, w/out knowing u can alight 2 at a time.

another reason is old bus stops which r irrelevant r still standing around.

tat 1 b4 kranji mrt, & another 1 jz b4 next mrt, pax always bell, then bus stopped, bo-lang alight, then move on again [furious]

These are what I observed.

• Bus journeys seem to be taking longer.
  • Buses like to cruise at a speed that feels like 2km/h
  • Whenever they see a green light ahead of them, they will wait until they turn red.

And garmen never say anything about this. Only talk about wanting to increase ERP again.

u noe y sometimes they will cruise slowly and wait till red light but sometimes they will chiong like mad?? cos every bus driver got a time to meet... if they reach earlier or later at the depot, they kana summon (dun noe how true, a fren told me).. but i noe they got time to meet, tat's y...

sometimes u will see 2 or 3 same bus number back to back, so the rear one will tend to slow down but the front one will chiong like mad...

I have sold my car 3 months ago and started to take bus... i think i going crazy soon, as the bus is too slow... try taking bus for few months and u will know what i means...

Bus drivers think they are driving safely but they do not realise that they are wasting our time.I took a bus from Ang Mo Kio to UBI.(Opposite New Chery Showroom) The driver waited in the second bus stopping for about 2minutes for a car to pass the bus from the traffic light which was about five meters away! After the car passed then only he took the bus.Why???? Safe driving or Dead driving?