Leepee 1st Gear November 17, 2009 Share November 17, 2009 Use a sexy girl voice bait him out. Not that difficult. Then corner him. Get his if and car as collateral. If he make police report against you, better still! At least the police can investigate further. Sometimes one must venture in trouble to get things moving. Police only work when both side lodge complain. I have given up on our police effectiveness. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged November 21, 2009 Share November 21, 2009 (edited) is this the fella? ST: Car rental scammer caught Edited November 21, 2009 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yobobs Neutral Newbie November 25, 2009 Share November 25, 2009 Went for my 20K servicing at World Auto today. I was offered to take a promo package with Bosch Promotion Singapore. Poster claims Bosch Platinum Spark Plugs + Bosch Oil Filter + German Synthetic Oil (Mann Brand) at S$158. I accepted so I can also try platinum core plugs... I found out that WA installed Bosch Super Plus (copper core only). Felt cheated because the Spark Plug used was not as mentioned. WA let me talked to promoter - UTS Automotive. Promoter claimed that performance between Super Plus and Platinum is equivalent. Argued that "equivalent" performance and "actual" platinum is not the same. UTS rep even said, that these are the actual plugs (Super Plus) they used for this promo. I told them that the poster is misleading people. If I did not ask for the spark plug box, I would have not found it out. But it was too late. The plugs were already installed and the oil is already in the engine. No choice. Careful with this Bosch promo. Don't be deceived like me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 25, 2009 Share November 25, 2009 Wow... seems like the ST reporter helped in a way to accelerate the arrest? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear November 25, 2009 Share November 25, 2009 Went for my 20K servicing at World Auto today. I was offered to take a promo package with Bosch Promotion Singapore. Poster claims Bosch Platinum Spark Plugs + Bosch Oil Filter + German Synthetic Oil (Mann Brand) at S$158. I accepted so I can also try platinum core plugs... I found out that WA installed Bosch Super Plus (copper core only). Felt cheated because the Spark Plug used was not as mentioned. WA let me talked to promoter - UTS Automotive. Promoter claimed that performance between Super Plus and Platinum is equivalent. Argued that "equivalent" performance and "actual" platinum is not the same. UTS rep even said, that these are the actual plugs (Super Plus) they used for this promo. I told them that the poster is misleading people. If I did not ask for the spark plug box, I would have not found it out. But it was too late. The plugs were already installed and the oil is already in the engine. No choice. Careful with this Bosch promo. Don't be deceived like me. Sorry to hear about that bro! But you should've been more insistant, like WTF do they mean by 'no choice'?? Ridiculous! So what if the plugs have already been installed?! Take 'em out and change them to the platinum ones lah! Should be no problem what! I'm no technical guy, but I seriously don't think once the spark plugs are installed, it becomes a permanent fixture, never to be removed until it's time for the next change. Spark plugs can be changed at any time if I'm not very much mistaken. Where got such thing as 'no choice' one?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teddy_P Neutral Newbie November 29, 2009 Share November 29, 2009 Hi all.. gentle reminder to everyone: DO NOT rent out your car to anyone.. especially car rental agent.. I'm involved in the same situation as tomisu.. the car rental agent turns out to be a con man.. he has cheated many people since beginning of the year (using different names, different car rental names, different hand phone numbers, etc..).. He cheated both people who are renting out their car and people who rent car from him.. it was personally a very frustating experience for me as i have never imagine this kind of con man do exist in singapore and that it was quite difficult for me to convince the authority that it is a CHEAT case even though many people had been cheated and proofs had been shown.. FORTUNATELY, after a long process.. the police upgraded our case as CHEAT case and caught the guy.. i've gotten back my car last week and the con man is in police custody.. Lesson learnt for everyone: low crime DOES NOT means no crime.. do not assume that singapore is a very safe place.. better be sure than be sorry! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverspark Neutral Newbie November 30, 2009 Share November 30, 2009 recently got one guy kena charged for running a car rental scam. so better be careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear November 30, 2009 Share November 30, 2009 actually, renting out one's own vehicle is asking for serious trouble, sooner or later ... there are so many complications and what-ifs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooooh Neutral Newbie December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 I'm also a victim. Totally same situation. This Leon guy is really a con man. I found my car just last night n tow it back!! Really lucky!! The car was rented out to another person and the person also can't find or contact Leon. Leon actually collected rent and deposit from him and went missing. He never once paid me. We are really angry about the whole situation as it definitely is a cheating case! Police say it is very hard as there's no previous reports on this. I reported the case on 11 October 2009. We must really come together. Please call me as I really need more people who are in the same situation to testify. Contact me at 98415529. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johjoh Neutral Newbie December 4, 2009 Share December 4, 2009 so is the 22yr old car rental scammer that the police have caught the guy named Leon? if not, it seems there are quite a few lurking around to con car owners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear December 4, 2009 Share December 4, 2009 Went for my 20K servicing at World Auto today. I was offered to take a promo package with Bosch Promotion Singapore. Poster claims Bosch Platinum Spark Plugs + Bosch Oil Filter + German Synthetic Oil (Mann Brand) at S$158. I accepted so I can also try platinum core plugs... I found out that WA installed Bosch Super Plus (copper core only). Felt cheated because the Spark Plug used was not as mentioned. WA let me talked to promoter - UTS Automotive. Promoter claimed that performance between Super Plus and Platinum is equivalent. Argued that "equivalent" performance and "actual" platinum is not the same. UTS rep even said, that these are the actual plugs (Super Plus) they used for this promo. I told them that the poster is misleading people. If I did not ask for the spark plug box, I would have not found it out. But it was too late. The plugs were already installed and the oil is already in the engine. No choice. Careful with this Bosch promo. Don't be deceived like me. wat nonsense? mention platinum, give copper and say its the same? i thk u shd seriously complain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched February 11, 2010 Share February 11, 2010 (edited) then you should tell them i only pay $15.8 same mah 158 lol Edited February 11, 2010 by Introz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkwees Neutral Newbie February 27, 2010 Share February 27, 2010 I have encountered the same thing. Luckily i'm quick enough to lure him out. Thanks to my team of 20 friends and staffs. But end up loose my original key which he refuses to return to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 12, 2010 Share March 12, 2010 Is he the one? Man jailed 42 months for car rental scam Posted: 11 March 2010 2014 hrs SINGAPORE: A 22-year-old man has been jailed for 42 months by a district court over a car rental scam. Allen Tan Wei Loon posted his services on car websites. He lied that he has cars to rent out or claimed that he would be renting their cars. In doing so, he induced his victims to transfer money to him or to hand over their cars to him. However, Tan did not deliver on his promises after obtaining the cash and the vehicles. The total amount he cheated was about S$134,000, of which S$112,000 had been recovered. Tan was also disqualified from driving for four years for driving without a licence or insurance coverage. - CNA/vm http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1043011/1/.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Purezazn Neutral Newbie March 19, 2010 Share March 19, 2010 To all you out there, I posted my car for sale 2 months ago due to overseas work assignment and was approached by a person, called himself Leon (Stanley under another company) who offered to take over my monthly installments and will rent the car out under his company name. Of cos, my 1st worry was that if accident, my insurance will not cover. He said not to worry, while the car is under his charge, insurance will be under his company's name. So I agreed to his proposal. Nearly 2 months down the road, I have not seen my 1st payment yet. I contacted him many times, always met with excuses, said dun worry, check with his HR and Accounts Dept, got problem with his Accounts Dept, got problem with my POSB account blah blah blah... And I'm stuck overseas, helpless to do anything. My boss was in the same situation, he has since returned to Singapore for 3 weeks already but have yet to get the car back from this guy. We have already lodged police report against him, but seems like the police are not able to do anything, they said it's just a Breach of Contract, not a crime. And there were already several reports made against him by previous victims. Not sure how long this guy has been in operation. Anyway, just like to warn all you guys out there of this scam going on. Take note if someone of the name Leon or Stanley, using the resources of Sgcarmart to contact unknowing owners, wants to take over your car for rental. Aside, any one knows of any action we can take against him? Some has proposed getting repo company to tow the car back. Appreciate all feedback and less reprimand (I realised I was gullible). But in a high car ownership cost country, who wouldn't jump at the opportunity to lessen their financial burden? For those of you who are interested, you can take a look at the details; Name: Leon Chan Company: Elites Car Rental Number: 84000766 Another name: Stanley Number: 82531321 Drives a black Mazda RX-8 (not sure if it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan26 Neutral Newbie March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 I'm going to blacklist H tyres Pte Ltd @ Bendemeer Rd. I saw their promotion advertisement http://www.htyre.com/promotions.html thinking that $30 for Radiator Coolant Flush might be good deal, so i call up and ask whether does it include all labour charges and coolant for $30. Yes it's include they exclaimed. But when i went down today, they remove the radiator cap and draining off only the reservoir and partial from the radiator. Then top up less than 1 litre of coolant, i was like WTF. Where did all the flushing goes to? This is definitely a black shop which we should all avoid. When i ask the boss, when i talk to u over the phone you told me that all the coolant would be drain off and top up. BOSS: How could it be? draining off all the coolant , needs to top up many tank one leh. Nobody would do that kind of stupid thing. You think $30 can do all that, drain off all the coolant and top up adds up to few hundred dollar then can do. ME: (I dun want to waste my breath talking to a black shop owner.) I would never trust such promotion again. H Tyres = SCAM shop!!! (No Integrity) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superwhite Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 poor guy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedex67 Neutral Newbie June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 Hahahah...i agreed with you. Did you realise how enthuiastic the police at the NPP when you walk in? "Yes Sir , how can I help you?" "Oh I am here for ........." "This one you have to go to ...." Use Taichi and push to another department. But when you said you are robbed, they lan lan and ask you to wait. Their enthuasim also died cos they have to take statement and action. Our Polaris are used to serve VIP only ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...