Not wise to run steering when car is not moving?

Babyt

Is it true that it is not wise to turn steering wheel when car is not moving but engine is on?

even when doing 3/4 turn, we need to pump some momentum to the car before turning?

bad for ur steering components.

unless u are in a very tight spot and have no choice, at least inch forward or backward while turning the wheel by alot. if u ever drove a car without power steering (or PS spoilt), u will know what i'm talking about. the effort needed to turn the steering is greatly reduced when the car is moving, even if it's under 1km/h.

the problem with electric power steering is that the motor assistance can be VERY strong. so even when the car is stationary, it feels almost effortless turning the steering. but u are still creating stress and wear n tear to the components. hydro PS is 'better' in this sense, the assistance is more linear. but whatever the case, it also depends on how the manufacturer tunes the steering feel.

i still remember in driving sch, the instructor said not to do this cos will 'spoil the road'. he should have said 'will spoil the car' then i might have listened. as if i care abt the tarmac [flowerface]

Is it true that it is not wise to turn steering wheel when car is not moving but engine is on?

even when doing 3/4 turn, we need to pump some momentum to the car before turning?

I experienced once that I parked already then turned the steering wheel all the way to one side on a hill top in Malaysia. Later when I tried to start the car, my steering wheel is totally jammed and I can't move my car.

It took me quite a long time to finally un-jam it by exerting great force to turn it back to the centre. After this lesson, I dare not stop engine then turn the steering wheel all the way to one side.

Regards,

It depends on what type of steering your car is equipped with.

For hydraulic power steering, it's straining the hydraulic oil pump.

FYI the steering pump is connected via pulley with belt powered by your car's engine.

For electrical assisted power steering, it will be the electric motor.

It's also important to align the wheels to point straight when parked. Such that when you start up the car you won't put much strain on the pump or motor.

I experienced once that I parked already then turned the steering wheel all the way to one side on a hill top in Malaysia. Later when I tried to start the car, my steering wheel is totally jammed and I can't move my car.

It took me quite a long time to finally un-jam it by exerting great force to turn it back to the centre. After this lesson, I dare not stop engine then turn the steering wheel all the way to one side.

Regards,

Your situation is called steering wheel lock. Nothing wrong with your car. It happens when you turn the steering wheel after you pulled out the ignition key. cheers.

Edited by Maneater

like 1 bro mentioned above, that's the steering wheel lock. just need to turn ignition to on, shake shake your steering wheel a bit, then it will unlock liao..

i thought should turn the reverse way? wait double crank how?

later i go try..

only happen to me once or twice when i first got my car... panic and call friend for help... hahaha

when u first turn, the key will be at ACC, 2nd turn will be at ON, this is where all the warning lights come on and go off if there's no problem. after that you turn the key again to crank. note that after you crank, the key will go back to ON position.

are u sure u drive a car? or is your car too sophisticated to have all this simple things? [laugh]

Latio is to turn 45 degree clockwise unitl click sound to lock the steering column when engine off (ignition to lock). To disengage the lock, turn clockwise a little and hold there, now the ignition is free to unlock to switch on, steering column by now is unlocked.. Guess most car should work this way..

Edited by Ender

Confirmed not advisable.

For high end conti make, your steering column sensor is at stake! [knife]

And the damage is [bigcry]

this one macam old saying.....I guess the newer technologies are OK, but it's always a good practice to turn with little movement of your car. It's all about "skills".....

Confirmed not advisable.

For high end conti make, your steering column sensor is at stake! [knife]

And the damage is [bigcry]

Of course lah. High end conti makes are usually heavy cars, turning the wheels with little or no movement put a lot of strain on the steering system and their engineers even put a sensor to monitor it. LOL...

Regards,

That's the steering lock [nod]

You'll jus have to insert your key into your ignition, turn the key to ignition (Not starting the engine) & slightly turn the steering wheel a bit & it will be release [nod]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

Yup, not good but I see a TON of drivers doing it anyway [laugh]