inlinesix Hypersonic November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 he hates the bmw brand so much...and yet he is asking the question "audi or bmw"... He is not . I think he juz 1 2 stir faeces. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sjlim Clutched November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 He is not . I think he juz 1 2 stir faeces. I think so too. What people who are stridently against one brand don't realise is that, after a while, they lose their credibility because of their bias, and people start questioning what their real motives are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 Check his IP address lah. Maybe it comes from Leng Kee Borneo Motors or Premium Automobiles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 From your thread subject: Audi or BMW, and the obvious that you have an axe to grind with the BMW brand (and it seems, only BMW ..... why even start this thread then?), as it appears that you are an Audi (or VW) owner, who comes from vagsg.com. There, in the last few weeks, the vagsgers were whacked by some BMW guy on VW car's poor reliability and lackadasical DSG design and performance unreliability of the TSI engine. I read until I laugh ... as this guy, although he knows much about VW/Audi engine/tranny technical stuff, was whacking them in PCK singlish style - though his facts were mostly spot on ..... but of course, not acceptable by the VW/Audi owners there. So if its vengeance on BMW that you seek, sorry, you won't get it here. MCF is too broad and we have so many folks here, spanning all car brands represented in Singapore. If you really want to whack BMW, go to bmwsg.com. But there, I think, you will be out-talked, out-witted, and out-lasted. Sorry lah, the only thing to do then is just stick to your Audi and suck thumb lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kitkit80 Neutral Newbie November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 audi for looks. bmw for everything else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 If < $170k get Audi If > $170k get BMW Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 No use debating on the reliability index because they are all skewed. Why? Because different countries have different reliability issues. If you were to surf car forums around the workld, you will notice that certain country will have certain common problem that another country does not. Eg, Audi A4s in the USA have a common problem with their front steering control arm that causes vibration, which Audi gives a straight replacement, no question asked as it's already a documented known issue. Don't really see such a widespread problem in A4s here. Different climate conditions will also give you different reliability for the same car. Different assessment criteria and definition on reliability also determines how the score turns out. It also depends on the "lifestyle" of the people in that country. In some countries, people like to DIY a lot, because workshops/dealer are far away and labout cost is damn high. They will replace a blown bulb or fuse themselves instead of sending the car back to the dealer. Many reliability surveys benchmark based eg, on the number of times a car is sent back to the dealer to fix something. That's the reason why we see different ratings in different countries for the same brand. Debate until cows also no conclusion lah. Just take them with a pinch of salt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 If < $170k get Audi If > $170k get BMW <$170k you will have a lot of choices for Audi. All the A3s models, A4 and Q5 2.0 TFSI Quattro DSG, A6 2.0TFSI MU also can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 Ok lah lower a bit. If < $160k get Audi If > $160k get BMW Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pckwpckw Neutral Newbie November 9, 2009 Author Share November 9, 2009 From your thread subject: Audi or BMW, and the obvious that you have an axe to grind with the BMW brand (and it seems, only BMW ..... why even start this thread then?), as it appears that you are an Audi (or VW) owner, who comes from vagsg.com. There, in the last few weeks, the vagsgers were whacked by some BMW guy on VW car's poor reliability and lackadasical DSG design and performance unreliability of the TSI engine. I read until I laugh ... as this guy, although he knows much about VW/Audi engine/tranny technical stuff, was whacking them in PCK singlish style - though his facts were mostly spot on ..... but of course, not acceptable by the VW/Audi owners there. So if its vengeance on BMW that you seek, sorry, you won't get it here. MCF is too broad and we have so many folks here, spanning all car brands represented in Singapore. If you really want to whack BMW, go to bmwsg.com. But there, I think, you will be out-talked, out-witted, and out-lasted. Sorry lah, the only thing to do then is just stick to your Audi and suck thumb lor I am just stating my point of view and facts, i don care you are BMW agent or Audi agent , i do not know u all are so provoked but i m just to voice out my concern on the reliability of BMW cars . All this is accumulated over the years through all my friend who own BMW. From the reaction u people react i can strongly come to a point BMW is build on branding rather than reliability and is a big setback but everything still voice down to fundamantal over time. Just like mercede did in the year 2000 now they are suffering. Be more demorcracy i m not out here to spoilt the image of BMW. If the car is so good why so many forum or website give so much bad remark on the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longhorn 2nd Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Be more demorcracy..... in case you still dun know / dun understand, this is wot democracy is about. you state you POV and other people are free to rebut and refute. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sjlim Clutched November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 (edited) I am just stating my point of view and facts, i don care you are BMW agent or Audi agent , i do not know u all are so provoked but i m just to voice out my concern on the reliability of BMW cars . All this is accumulated over the years through all my friend who own BMW. From the reaction u people react i can strongly come to a point BMW is build on branding rather than reliability and is a big setback but everything still voice down to fundamantal over time. Just like mercede did in the year 2000 now they are suffering. Be more demorcracy i m not out here to spoilt the image of BMW. If the car is so good why so many forum or website give so much bad remark on the car. 1. BMW sells about 1.4 million cars worldwide every year (probably down to 1.2 million this year due to the financial crisis). Of course there are bound to be cars with problems, giving rise to the websites you mentioned. EVERY brand has cars that are lemons or give problems, and BMW is definitely not perfect. But it is by and large reliable, and nowhere as bad as you make it out to be. 2. As someone in the branding business, I can tell you that people will stop buying a product/service if it doesn't deliver on the brand promise. SIA can advertise its Singapore Girl all it wants, but its business will drop the minute it stops operating one of the youngest fleets with the best in-flight entertainment and superlative service. 3. There are more than 20,000 BMW owners in Singapore alone. Are you saying that we are all so stupid that we bought the car for the brand alone? If it gives as many problems as you claim it does, you think all these people who paid so much for the car are just going to keep quiet and keep the car just because of the brand? 4. If you and your friends have so many problems with BMW over the years as you claim, why did you all keep buying BMW? If I have problems with BMW, I will definitely change to another brand. Edited November 10, 2009 by Sjlim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davc Neutral Newbie November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 I am just stating my point of view and facts, i don care you are BMW agent or Audi agent , i do not know u all are so provoked but i m just to voice out my concern on the reliability of BMW cars . All this is accumulated over the years through all my friend who own BMW. From the reaction u people react i can strongly come to a point BMW is build on branding rather than reliability and is a big setback but everything still voice down to fundamantal over time. Just like mercede did in the year 2000 now they are suffering. Be more demorcracy i m not out here to spoilt the image of BMW. If the car is so good why so many forum or website give so much bad remark on the car. Yes, some websites published the problems of BMW. But the thing is me and many of my personal friends do not have those problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Will take my chance on an Audi... Common cars ,luxury or otherwise, is just not for me... When I have the dough, whenever that is... an S3 will do just fine for me... Wishful thinking for now...hmmmmm! Understated, the way I like it... Same here, I prefer audi's exclusivity & current design lineup than BMWs. But i'd be on cloud 9 if i can touch any of these cars... even a 2nd hand one seems way off for me now. last week at the bmw showroom test drive (my bro thinking of getting), the salesman was saying how well my bro & me are doing to be able to think of getting a bmw at our age. I feel damn sad lor, almost want to tell him that i'm about to lose my job soon and if PML has a vacancy to offer me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flavous Neutral Newbie November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Definitely BMW if you're going to have to pay that much money, and what ever you do always get a minimum of 323i. Don't get 318, 320. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 (edited) My preference based on design and look alone. 1) A3 vs 1 series hatchback - A3 2) A4 sedan vs 3 series sedan - A4 3) A6 sedan vs 5 series sedan - 5 series 4) A8 vs 7 series - 7 series 5) A5 coupe vs 3 series coupe - A5 6) Q7 SUV vs X5 Suv - Q7 Edited November 10, 2009 by Roh96 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sjlim Clutched November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 last week at the bmw showroom test drive (my bro thinking of getting), the salesman was saying how well my bro & me are doing to be able to think of getting a bmw at our age. I feel damn sad lor, almost want to tell him that i'm about to lose my job soon and if PML has a vacancy to offer me Bro, Sorry to hear about your job. What line are you in, by the way? No need to feel sad about not being able to afford any of these cars yet lah, especially if you're young. Instead, you can use this dream to work hard so that you can buy one in future. With the exception of those who were born rich, I believe most of us saved up to buy these cars. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Bro, Sorry to hear about your job. What line are you in, by the way? No need to feel sad about not being able to afford any of these cars yet lah, especially if you're young. Instead, you can use this dream to work hard so that you can buy one in future. With the exception of those who were born rich, I believe most of us saved up to buy these cars. Cheers. I'm in advertising & marketing (below the line). Tis year is especially bad and projects r hard to come by. Damn stress, wonder how long can tahan. Thx 4 ur advice. In fact when i feel demoralised, i often go into sgcarmart and take a look at those nice cars and use them to motivate me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...