Queries On Brakes

Blackaccent

I got one pair of ep82 rotor & the disk.....no caliper.....if u need any of it

Bro, rotors and disc is it the same or different things altogether? Thanks.

They are the same......sorry I typo error..... what I mean is knuckles & disck plate.....

If you have disk brake of AE101.....then u need ep82 disk knucles to fit it into ep80 driveshalf.....

Oh, I see. Look like is quite troublesome to upgrade my current brakes. Haiz........ By the way, how much are you looking at? Please PM me. If I get the set from you, what else do I need? Thanks. I saw a WTS thread in SHC Forum selling Endless Brak Kit for EP80 at 1.1K. Too bad I cannot afford, if not just plug and play as it was previously in on an EP80. Comes with Rotors, Callipers and Pads. Brackets also for EP80.

no need wat 4 pot lah. 1.1k for tat aftermarket kit for wat? ur brake too makan wait u press too hard ur wheels might lock. dun forget we dun haf ABS

meanwhile just upgrade to ep82 master pump and better brake pads lor. i also drove previously wif stock ep80 brakes. nothing happened. mabye because ur brake pads wanna finish liao thats why u find ur brakes not effective. u can change to steel hose too. it will improve ur braking feel.

anyway, never buy rotors without the calipers. u can haf a 500mm rotor but without the caliper ur brake still same. cuz ur contact surface only this much nia.

meanwhile just upgrade to ep82 master pump and better brake pads lor. i also drove previously wif stock ep80 brakes. nothing happened. mabye because ur brake pads wanna finish liao thats why u find ur brakes not effective. u can change to steel hose too. it will improve ur braking feel.

anyway, never buy rotors without the calipers. u can haf a 500mm rotor but without the caliper ur brake still same. cuz ur contact surface only this much nia.

Hi Bro,

That is another cheaper alternative I am looking at and not so troublesome. I checked with Stamford Tyre in Loyang last Fri, they only have Mintex for my car. Was look at Project U brake pads. Where can I find steel hose for our rides in Singapore? Will definately upgrade the master pump and cylinder in Dec when I change my TIming belts and coolant hoses. I think Saber will know what are the necessary parts to change for the cylinder. BTW, what is our stock EP80 Rotor size?

The ES5 brakes I had comes with Callipers, Rotors and pads. Just need to fabricate the bracket for the callipers but on the other hand, I am worry about how safe can the customised bracket be? Later shear off halfway. How is our original calliper bracket mounted and what is the material? Sorry for asking so many questions. Hope I won't get [rifle] . Thanks.

no need wat 4 pot lah. 1.1k for tat aftermarket kit for wat? ur brake too makan wait u press too hard ur wheels might lock. dun forget we dun haf ABS

Yeah, never thought of wheels locking issue. Thanks bro. Only thinking about the hassle part.

Hi bro. I got one set of EP80 front brake complete set. FOC if you want.......

Will it works by changing the disk pad.....then no need to spend so much...

Thanks for your offer bro.... But my curent EP80 stock brakes are still working in good condition. Just that my brake pads are wearing off and feel that not very effective. That's why I am taking this oppotunity looking into upgrading the front brake set if possible. Another alternative is like what Bro Kyojin suggested, change the Master brake cylinder + pump + all the necessary components and better brake pads to try first. If really not good, then upgrade the front brake kit. Was quoted $110 for Mintex and no Project U for EP80 by Stamford. Where can I find Project u Brake pads and what is the price like? Thanks.

sorry, think you got me wrong there.

i'm saying when you change to a EP82 GT brake kit, you need to get the master cylinder and proportioning valve. don't upgrade the later two parts if you don't have the EP82 kit. you may f-up your system. best to use components meant for one another.

when you get the EP82 brake kit, it comes with everything, including the brackets and all.

so it should come with:

1. 2x front knuckles

2. 2x front calipers and brackets

3. 2x front hoses

4. 2x rear knuckles

5. 2x rear calipers and brackets

6. 2x rear hoses

7. master cylinder and pump

8. proportioning valve

you should also get at the same time:

1. 2x new front rotors

2. 2x new front brake pads

3. 2x new rear rotors

4. 2x new rear brake pads

there are Project Mu pads for EP82 kit. i got them previously from Stamford and they are still on the car when I sold it. if Stamford don't have them, unlikely anyone else would. they are the distributor.

that said, if you want to go for something easy now, i suggest changing your brake pads, rotors, stainless steel brake lines and new brake fluid. it should give you more bite. and it's certainly cheaper and easier than going the full EP82 brake kit route.

Bro Kyojin, sorry should be Bro so_nice instead. Pai say.

Good advise bro. Thanks. Will get the brake pads and master pump thingy changed first in Dec together with my timing belts and coolant hoses. Where can I get a set of stainless steel brake hose locally? Any comments on Mintex pads? Thanks.

Hi Bro,

Read my PM liao and thanks for your lobang. I really wonder what is your project after seeing you selling off your Quadlights and your PM. So I just need to plug and play for the brake set? [laugh]

Hi TS, sorry to borrow your thread as i am not entitled to post new thread.

Need to find out from fellow starlet bros on brake pads of my car (EP70), did a visual check on the pads recently and found out that the thickness of the "meat" of the pads is about 5-6mm thick and recently feel that the brake is not as good as before. Need advice if a pad change is required.

Thanks in advance to all bros who can advice me.