Queries On Brakes

Blackaccent

Dear all Seniors,

Just to check........

1) Can Toyota Corolla AE101 front rotors, calliper and master brake pump (the black round thing) direct bolt on to our EP80? Current stock brakes I find that cannot make it and I think Corolla brake kit is easier to find than EP82 brake kit.

2) Both 1.3 and 1.6 is it the same?

3) Will changing of better brake pads help (using back stock callipers and rotors)? What are the brands available and estimate cost?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Blackaccent

no idea if its direct fit wor. but if same pcd i think u dun haf to mod much. dunno if the corolla brakes are as effective compared to ep82. gotta wait for the experts to comment.

On 10/30/2009 at 5:55 AM, Blackaccent said:

Dear all Seniors,

Just to check........

1) Can Toyota Corolla AE101 front rotors, calliper and master brake pump (the black round thing) direct bolt on to our EP80? Current stock brakes I find that cannot make it and I think Corolla brake kit is easier to find than EP82 brake kit.

3) Will changing of better brake pads help (using back stock callipers and rotors)? What are the brands available and estimate cost?

Thanks in advance.

why do you want to do that? just wait for a EP82 brake kit to come up, or go M'sia scrapyards. not hard to find. i would personally go for something that's tried and tested, especially when it comes to safety equipment.

you can try Mintex or Project Mu. It does give a bit more bite that OEMs but it's more dusty too. but don't go overly crazy with sports or racing pads. stick to street or street-sport types. what you also NEED to do is to change your brake fluid. flush it completely. you should be changing brake fluid once a year. it absorbs water easily and in our humid climate more so. "wet" brake fluid will give you a spongy feel.

On 10/30/2009 at 4:27 PM, Kyojin said:

why do you want to do that? just wait for a EP82 brake kit to come up, or go M'sia scrapyards. not hard to find. i would personally go for something that's tried and tested, especially when it comes to safety equipment.

you can try Mintex or Project Mu. It does give a bit more bite that OEMs but it's more dusty too. but don't go overly crazy with sports or racing pads. stick to street or street-sport types. what you also NEED to do is to change your brake fluid. flush it completely. you should be changing brake fluid once a year. it absorbs water easily and in our humid climate more so. "wet" brake fluid will give you a spongy feel.

Thanks for your enlightenment. I always thought that GT brakes are difficult to find cos I am thinking of sourcing from Singapore only. Ya hor, can go over to M'sia scrapyard to source. Any scrapyard to reccmmend in JB? More brake dust is fine with me. Need to have more braking power. Thanks.

there are many scrapyards in Taman Mount Austin, quite near JB border.

Alternatively.... you can try Ong Boon Kwee scrapyard at Woodlands Industrial Park.

On 10/30/2009 at 6:50 PM, Niltrams said:

there are many scrapyards in Taman Mount Austin, quite near JB border.

Alternatively.... you can try Ong Boon Kwee scrapyard at Woodlands Industrial Park.

Thanks bro for your info. [thumbsup]

On 11/3/2009 at 6:51 AM, So_nice said:

ong boon kwee is kinda of expensive. just to let u noe

I got my EP fitted with EP82 front disk brake together with brake pump last month. RM350 excluding installation charge.

Do survey first.... Still got one set selling for RM400 at EPMC

On 10/30/2009 at 5:55 AM, Blackaccent said:

Dear all Seniors,

Just to check........

Thanks in advance.

:D I am not the seniors but I tried before. AE101 front rotors same like EP82 but the knuckle does not fit our EP80 driveshalf..... u need to buy a pair of EP82 knuckles.

They say those start with "A" cannot fit with "E" engine...... is it true?

On 11/3/2009 at 6:51 AM, So_nice said:

ong boon kwee is kinda of expensive. just to let u noe

Ya lor. This is what I heard also. Is it only them bringing in Starlet parts from Japan?

On 11/3/2009 at 8:41 AM, Kyojin said:

remember to buy new rotors/discs and pads when you do the swap. best to put on new ones from the start.

Advise noted. Thanks bro.

On 11/3/2009 at 8:45 AM, Guantanamera said:

I got my EP fitted with EP82 front disk brake together with brake pump last month. RM350 excluding installation charge.

Do survey first.... Still got one set selling for RM400 at EPMC

Bro, where is EPMC? Looks like in Malaysia has alot of Starlet parts. Thinking of going across the causeway to do my brakes but just wondering how is the workmanship? Where did you get yours done?