Drivers Willing to Pay Double for Smoother Rd?

Altisgt

Article from Asia one.

http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owners/Sto...029-176699.html

Excerpt from the article.......

"The survey of 4,000 respondents - 40 per cent were motorists and the rest public transport commuters - was meant to help transport planners gauge what motorists and commuters are willing to pay to save time."

Perhaps we sld be wiser when we answer any surveys from the govt in future?

Surveys do have an impact on the govt policy given the recent plans to double ERP charges at certain gantries....

Gov gong LJ wei...

40%(mostly motorists i suppose) object!!!

60&(mostly public transport user i suppose) agree...

I guess we dun need a Phd or a high pay minister to tell me which is more popular

Just another way to suck your money.

1. If LTA builds bumpy roads, should it compensate the drivers in return ?

2. If LTA keeps putting up more and more traffic light junctions that turns red when you reach the junction, should it compensate drivers back ?

the roads and pavements have already gov liaised contractors to maintain them.

it is under contractary PBS normally.

thus it is not say should the gov up price for better roads.

when they built something, there is already should be a contractor for the job.

thus paid for all along... as long as pple complaint pot holes or bad road, the gov will issue the contractors to touch up.

gov will not makan this payment for free... normally is the contractor hav to do the job (at their SP expenses)

as gov already pay the contractory fee by tax payer money.

use this as a thing to up price... it is jus a excuse i suppose.

Edited by Circuit

maybe someone should start a poll here in MCF.

I would pay double the current ERP rates, if it guarantees smooth traffic, but, how long will it last?

in the short run yes, traffic will smoothen.

in the long run, people get used to it, traffic slows, and theres a need to increase rates again.

just look at cigarette prices and the number of smokers. seriously, the number of people who quit smoking because of price increases are few and far between.

Edited by Tonyhawk

The result could be rigged right from the start - by phasing the question to suit an expected result.

Who will want an increase?

I smell something coming up.

Taxi fares may be going up, some or all KPE gantries may be activated, no more reduction of ERP during school holidays.

Too coincidence, few days back, LTA released the result that fewer people are taking public transport.

Where does the data comes from? Buses and MRT still as packed as before.

Does LTA consider 100 people less a day means less people taking public transport? What is the average number based on?

Unless people are taking a healty lifestyle path by walking or there are too many PRCs now resorting to cycling.

The result could be rigged right from the start - by phasing the question to suit an expected result.

Who will want an increase?

I smell something coming up.

Taxi fares may be going up, some or all KPE gantries may be activated, no more reduction of ERP during school holidays.

Too coincidence, few days back, LTA released the result that fewer people are taking public transport.

Where does the data comes from? Buses and MRT still as packed as before.

Does LTA consider 100 people less a day means less people taking public transport? What is the average number based on?

Unless people are taking a healty lifestyle path by walking or there are too many PRCs now resorting to cycling.

pay & pay... [shakehead]

Controlling traffic is not tough.... its just a matter of whether they want to do it or not.

this is the most enlightening statement i came across today. [thumbsup]

Edited by Vextan

Totally agree!! There should more innovative ways to smoothen traffic other than using $$ to resolve problems.

This is something so lacking in Singapore. INNOVATIVE.

Hope our voices can be heard.

Maybe they should come out another poll of whether motorist prefers to remove all gantries from the road or increase all grantry's fees. It wil be interesting to see what the result be.

Edited by Jamstart

Maybe they should come out another poll of whether motorist prefers to remove all gantries from the road or increase all grantry's fees. It wil be interesting to see what the result be.

I thought this kinda polls already exist ? Not called General Elections meh [furious]

What do you mean, pay more for a smoother road? Should it not already be a given?

Don't we pay enough for road tax, ERP, ARF, etc as it is already? What kind of message is this sending out? That road builders and LTAs can build shoddy roads (like the brand new KPE road surface), resurface and level it, then jack the price up?

How about looking upstream at LTA's road standards, and making sure that the contractors abide by the regulations and specifications instead?

It is all too easy to think that jacking up prices are the solution. We are being bounced from private to public transport, public transport back to private transport. Both are chasing each other in what appears to be an engineered upward spiral - public transport is inadequate at peak hours, so people resort to private transport. Private transport usage goes up, price of using private transport is made more costly. People go back to public transport. But with saturation of public transport, the quality of public transport suffers. So people go back to private transport. The cycle begins again.

i am one who is willing to pay more for a smoother travel on the roads, but make sure it helps. imagine paying more and the road still jam.