Verbal Abuse in workplace

Mazda121

Hi guys, feeling depress and just wanna let go some where and maybe get some information.

Been with my company for more then 10 years already but seems like over the years company is getting from bad to worse, people have leave the company not becos of work issue but due to 1 person, and the person is our GM, he is no. 2 man in our company, he like to verbally abuse people, humiliate and insult people infront of the whole company. he use vulgar language, calling ppl sluts, bitch, sometime he will personal attack like saying you very free doing nothing and getting fat and ugly etc. theres once during weekly manager meeting he insulted a lady manger who is in the late 40s and still single, asking her is it that u very long never touch by man? u want me to squeeze for u? this kind of comments making the lady manager cry after the meeting. he also like to stir s--t between staff. you may say if so unhappy with the company then just leave right? but then sometime its really no choice due to many committment, actually company pay well and the benefit is good but becos of this 1 person staff are facing mental stress. everyone is just trying to earn a living so all just keep quiet and work under his bully but seems like this make him boost up his ego and now he is getting from bad to worse, everyday we are like seeing his mood to work, u never know u the target for the day......

I'm just wondering, if take the video of him abusing somebody and post it on the internet like stomp etc. will we get ourself into trouble? is there any organisation or something that can help the employee? sometime i wonder, we as employee really thats nothing we can do? economy is bad so just swallow and move on, cos even if want to sue him also dun have the capital to fight with him and if really want to confront also afraid of losing the job..... sigh..... bascially theres nothing much we can do unless leave the company right? [bigcry]

me just trying to let go somewhere, please dun shoot me, life is already so stress..... thanx for reading

maybe can complain to MOM. The lady can also make a report regarding her modesty being outraged. maybe she also cab get help from AWARE???

Luckily my GM only sometime suan us but we also suan him back as well! [:p]

i not sure if this is workable, but you mention he is the only one that is stirring all this and the No. 2 man ? Why not get everyone to sign on a petition and submit to your boss ? If everyone can agree that he is the main reason why, then your boss should have a reason to believe all of you.

Just my 2 cents

If nothing else, posting the video on Youtube can get you sacked. I think the lady manager can sue the GM for sexual harrassment.

Hi guys, feeling depress and just wanna let go some where and maybe get some information.

Been with my company for more then 10 years already but seems like over the years company is getting from bad to worse, people have leave the company not becos of work issue but due to 1 person, and the person is our GM, he is no. 2 man in our company, he like to verbally abuse people, humiliate and insult people infront of the whole company. he use vulgar language, calling ppl sluts, bitch, sometime he will personal attack like saying you very free doing nothing and getting fat and ugly etc. theres once during weekly manager meeting he insulted a lady manger who is in the late 40s and still single, asking her is it that u very long never touch by man? u want me to squeeze for u? this kind of comments making the lady manager cry after the meeting. he also like to stir s--t between staff. you may say if so unhappy with the company then just leave right? but then sometime its really no choice due to many committment, actually company pay well and the benefit is good but becos of this 1 person staff are facing mental stress. everyone is just trying to earn a living so all just keep quiet and work under his bully but seems like this make him boost up his ego and now he is getting from bad to worse, everyday we are like seeing his mood to work, u never know u the target for the day......

I'm just wondering, if take the video of him abusing somebody and post it on the internet like stomp etc. will we get ourself into trouble? is there any organisation or something that can help the employee? sometime i wonder, we as employee really thats nothing we can do? economy is bad so just swallow and move on, cos even if want to sue him also dun have the capital to fight with him and if really want to confront also afraid of losing the job..... sigh..... bascially theres nothing much we can do unless leave the company right? [bigcry]

me just trying to let go somewhere, please dun shoot me, life is already so stress..... thanx for reading

If he did call people slut, bitch or say things like squeeze for you to a lady, then this is criminal. You can get proof then all you need to do is secretly and quietly send this package to the police and media. Then viola it will be a field day.

But just to confirm the GM is not doing it in jest right?

Just so you know, you are not the only one who has to deal with such abusive bosses..people don't leave companies, they leave managers

however, the comment to your lady colleague is out of hand and can be harassment, she can go to HR for this

Complain to MOM is useless. A lot of unhappiness at work is subjective. Employee can say I scold vulgarities. I can say the employee is screwed up. Even in cases of "unfair" sackings, it is the same.

The sexual harrasment tactic may work, but this is a police case. If the GM kena, he really kena big time. Is he that kuai lan to deserve such a fate?

Best is get someone to talk to the GM in private. If that is not feasible, those that cannot take it should just get a new job.

thanx for all the fast reply guys, sign on a petition doesen't work as everyone is so afraid of losing the rice bowl, also 1 manager who worked in the company for over 20 years also resign becos of him, he even told the big boss about him but seems like big boss didn't say anything, many manager left the company also told big boss about him but seems like he always have a way to get away with it...... sigh.......

your GM comments on ". theres once during weekly manager meeting he insulted a lady manger who is in the late 40s and still single, asking her is it that u very long never touch by man? u want me to squeeze for u? this kind of comments making the lady manager cry after the meeting." already constitues as sexual harassment liao, and the lady manager so willingly to get such treatment...either she is too highly paid that no outside company can afford to pay her so LL stay on or her loyalty to the company is so damn strong...either way if reports to police and lodge a court case, hor say liao...your No.2 will be in deep sh!t

hi Hub_n_mona, our HR in our company is toothless tiger lah, no use one, they also afraid of him, they also know the things that he do cos they also get it from him .... sigh.....

sure record and make a report..let me jiak lak

in my opinion, the boss or the one who own the company has the rights to scold me,if not to critise..

the rest if F me, i sure F back..infact i F back some head of divisions b4 also...knn talk like as if they own the company and as if i owe them..

in my opinion..usually real bosses are the humble one..usually the most kbkb is those senior management..

Complain to MOM is useless. A lot of unhappiness at work is subjective. Employee can say I scold vulgarities. I can say the employee is screwed up. Even in cases of "unfair" sackings, it is the same.

The sexual harrasment tactic may work, but this is a police case. If the GM kena, he really kena big time. Is he that kuai lan to deserve such a fate?

Best is get someone to talk to the GM in private. If that is not feasible, those that cannot take it should just get a new job.

My ex company also got 1 guy compained to MOM about his supervisor but not due to verbal abuse. Then MOM notify the company and the HR interviewed the manager, the said supervisor as well as the complainant.

In the end, the guy kena transferred out and the supervisor toned down his ways of doing things ever since.

Complain to MOM might not solved the problem entirely but it does jolted the supervisor to wake up! [:p]

Unless you get those pen with pin-hole camera, try do a voice recording. Then do a class-action like sexual harassment against him unless he step down from the GM position.

Is he related to his boss?

yes, he is that kuai lan, but then the lady choose to keep quiet and swallow it, what can we do? i sympatise her and can understand why she choose to swallow cos its really tat f@#kup lor, all boils down to $ .....

If that woman manager doesn't want to do anything about it, nothing you and the rest can do either.

Many companies have such axxholes and they live and breath doing such things, EVEN OUTSIDE of the

company, thinking that since they are holding the appoint of GM/ etc.. they DEMAND people kowtow to

them outside as well.

Like I said, if the woman manager don't want to do anything about it, LPPL,

My company had a incident a few months back, a axxhole here, was sexually abusing the women

folks, making remarks and peeking at their skirt when they turn around on their chairs etc..

apart from sleeping on the job as well. One of teh temp girls complained to me about his remarks,

I brought it to my big boss's attention, 1 week later sacked.

sure record and make a report..let me jiak lak

in my opinion, the boss or the one who own the company has the rights to scold me,if not to critise..

the rest if F me, i sure F back..infact i F back some head of divisions b4 also...knn talk like as if they own the company and as if i owe them..

in my opinion..usually real bosses are the humble one..usually the most kbkb is those senior management..

u are so right! cannot agree more! and he keep telling us, any problem let him know but when u feedback to him on the problem, he create more problem for u!