Car Trade / Swap

Dgeralds

Many people change car because they usually become bored and itchy after few years driving the same car (Of course there may be other reasons too). Actually Iam one of them. Will it not be good if there is an avenue for these people to trade/swap their cars? Are there people here who fall into this category who would consider trading their car with other fellow members with or without topups depending on the age, model, etc? Thank you.

My previous car was 5 years old - they say that the value of the car drops sharply after 5 years - of course I could have kept it for another 5 years but hands itchy - I decided to get a new one. Trade in? I don't think I would - I prefer a brand new car that I can smell the leather seats.

Thought that many would agree with me but it seems like iam wrong. Im driving a 7 year old car, Toyota IST but low mileage and in good condition. Hope I can swap/trade with sedan.

Well.. make it your own business idea.

Potential problems would be :

- Loan settlement

- How to determine condition of swapped car

- Car swap liao, original owner pay? or full ownership swap?

Difficult but i wish u luck. Come to me if you want to make a website. lol

Sounds like a good idea. If only I got a car to swap with you.

But I mean, different people value their cars differently. Maybe the guy you want to swap with, he think his car worth more, so want more money from you.

Disagreements will surely arise.

Thought that many would agree with me but it seems like iam wrong. Im driving a 7 year old car, Toyota IST but low mileage and in good condition. Hope I can swap/trade with sedan.

maybe u should set this going post the pis of your ride here now maybe ppl will contact u if they interested of a swap...

correct if im wrong but im pretty sure that the owners are required to settle their existing loans first and refinance for the other car, so in the end who wins? The banks! Therefore this is not feasible.

I think those with outstanding loan will have difficulty to swap cars. Need to redeem loan for transfer of ownership.

Unless they trust each other to pay up the loan every month.

Those who have fully paid their cars will be able to swap with ease. Just pay for the transfer of ownership will do.

Sounds like a good idea. If only I got a car to swap with you.

But I mean, different people value their cars differently. Maybe the guy you want to swap with, he think his car worth more, so want more money from you.

Disagreements will surely arise.

use the paper value as the main gauge?? then also variations like mileage done, mods, accident free, make/model.

best gauge is to get quote from same dealer. for eg, if same dealer quote car A for $40k, car B for $60k, then top up $20k lor [idea]

I'm thinking of getting the new AM V12 Vantage. Swapping is a good idea too. Anyone wants to swap their V12 with my car? BTW its full loan for 10 years :D

Many people change car because they usually become bored and itchy after few years driving the same car (Of course there may be other reasons too). Actually Iam one of them. Will it not be good if there is an avenue for these people to trade/swap their cars? Are there people here who fall into this category who would consider trading their car with other fellow members with or without topups depending on the age, model, etc? Thank you.

im totally up for this sort of scheme. but unfortunately its usually quite complicated. of course difference of opinion will come in etc

most importantly , both parties must fully settle their cars before transfer of ownership takes place too. Im sure its quite tough esp if no top-up required.

I think those with outstanding loan will have difficulty to swap cars. Need to redeem loan for transfer of ownership.

Unless they trust each other to pay up the loan every month.

Those who have fully paid their cars will be able to swap with ease. Just pay for the transfer of ownership will do.

No.1 rule for this game is car must be fully paid everything else easy to negotiate hope this kick off... :wub:

It is good if the car is already paid off like mine. But with negotiations and top-ups i believe it would be possible.

No.1 rule for this game is car must be fully paid everything else easy to negotiate hope this kick off... :wub:

Actually what is the difference between swapping and selling your car then buy another one?

If you were to do a full ownership swap including settling the loans, topup difference and stuff, then isn't it exactly the same as selling current car then buy another?

Actually I have been thinking about car exchange or swop...I think its a better agreement then if one were to sell off existing and get a new car.

I mean if you can find another person willing to exchange, why not?

I rem that I saw a car exchange ad in www.wannaxchange.com, not too sure if its still there or not.

This site allows ppl to come together to exchange items. Why not give it a try there? Maybe can get a successful exchange! [thumbsup]

Actually what is the difference between swapping and selling your car then buy another one?

If you were to do a full ownership swap including settling the loans, topup difference and stuff, then isn't it exactly the same as selling current car then buy another?

The diff is u dun get carrot [knife] by car dealers ad u can dictate terms u like..