Going to Polyclinic

Picanto

are they???

i dont think so... 10yrs ago already like that. 10 yrs later still the same. if there's any change then its for the worst

I think you guys go to the wrong or over crowded polyclinics. If you go ulu place like Queenstown Polyclinic or Outram Polyclinic, you will be laughing at the the short queue.

Forumers, any other clinics with short queues that you've experienced b4?

I think they shld open 1 in bukit timah.coz i dun think the residents there will want to go there and to be seen.then this will make it less pple [laugh] .

the rich will still go polyclinic. some rich people are stingy like hell.

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-long-wait-at-polyclinic-but-still-did-not-get-to-see-doctor

Forum: Long wait at polyclinic but still did not get to see doctor

I wish to express my concern about the accessibility of public healthcare at polyclinics in Singapore.

Recently, I took my 19-year-old daughter who had a fever of 37.8 deg C to Bukit Batok Polyclinic and was told to queue for a time slot to see the doctor.

But we ended up not getting a time slot because my daughter was not considered a priority case, as she was neither a child nor an elderly person running a high fever.

While I acknowledge the need for prioritisation in a busy healthcare system, I am concerned that this may prevent people from accessing the healthcare they need, particularly for minor illnesses that could escalate into more serious conditions.

For many families, polyclinics may be their only option for healthcare, and not getting treatment could have dire consequences.

In my recent experience, being in the queue for nearly an hour before being told we would not get to see the doctor was frustrating.

Many Singaporeans, like myself, have employee benefits at polyclinics that can help defray the cost of healthcare. Even with the Community Health Assist Scheme benefit, private healthcare costs are still higher than those for public healthcare.

Policies on public healthcare accessibility at polyclinics should be reviewed to ensure that everyone can receive timely and appropriate care.

Patricia Goh

lawrence-wong-edmw.gif

On 3/14/2023 at 1:40 PM, Windwaver said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-long-wait-at-polyclinic-but-still-did-not-get-to-see-doctor

I wish to express my concern about the accessibility of public healthcare at polyclinics in Singapore.

Recently, I took my 19-year-old daughter who had a fever of 37.8 deg C to Bukit Batok Polyclinic and was told to queue for a time slot to see the doctor.

But we ended up not getting a time slot because my daughter was not considered a priority case, as she was neither a child nor an elderly person running a high fever.

While I acknowledge the need for prioritisation in a busy healthcare system, I am concerned that this may prevent people from accessing the healthcare they need, particularly for minor illnesses that could escalate into more serious conditions.

For many families, polyclinics may be their only option for healthcare, and not getting treatment could have dire consequences.

In my recent experience, being in the queue for nearly an hour before being told we would not get to see the doctor was frustrating.

Many Singaporeans, like myself, have employee benefits at polyclinics that can help defray the cost of healthcare. Even with the Community Health Assist Scheme benefit, private healthcare costs are still higher than those for public healthcare.

Policies on public healthcare accessibility at polyclinics should be reviewed to ensure that everyone can receive timely and appropriate care.

Patricia Goh

lawrence-wong-edmw.gif

Aiya, fever at 37.8 only, can just take panadol la, why go see doctor? 😅

But don't say polyclinic long queue or wait very long to see doctor. Sometimes even you go to private GP also need to wait quite long before can get to see a doctor. Even i go to see private specialist doctor with an appointment can also can ended up waiting 1 hour or more to see the doctor esp if the business is very good at that specialist doctor. 🙄

On 3/14/2023 at 1:40 PM, Windwaver said:

Patricia Goh

lawrence-wong-edmw.gif

I use the onenuhs app to make my bookings. This is more for ppl staying in the West.

I put the app links here.

https://apps.apple.com/sg/app/onenuhs/id1533213621

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=sg.edu.nuhs.onenuhs&hl=en_SG&gl=US

After 10pm the system is open for booking for the next day appointment. The app also lets you register 30mins before your time slot. So once you reach there wait a little while and it is your turn. Yes, a lot time slots will be taken up. If you cant get a time slot for that day you have to keep refreshing the app. If you lucky someone gives up their time slot, quickly tap on it. LoL...

If your case is serious after seeing the gp request for referral to NUH(the gp will prompt you). The gp at the polyclinic will write a letter(emergency walk-in) for you and you get to NUH on that same day. Once there the wait is short based on priority, if you are very sick the wait is short.

Things to consider. If you want your bloodwork checked the polyclinic is very slow. Takes 3 days or so to see results. So end up take blood test one day, see doctor a week later. Good thing is blood test result will appear on the onenuhs app. 

If you get an immediate referral letter from polyclinic to NUH emergency walk in, your blood test will be known in about 2 hours depending on what is tested. Cost wise havent do anything walk-in emergency is $120 or smth like that. Plus the blood test , medication, x-ray etc whatever is done to you will be added on top of that. You pay the bill a couple of days later. The app will prompt you by sending the message. Make payment by cc, paynow etc using the app. 

Because of the subsidy polyclinic will be a long wait. If you got no patience then I suggest go private gp.

There is a list of polyclinics in the app, all west area. The hospital affiliated is NUH. 

On 3/14/2023 at 1:54 PM, 13177 said:

Aiya, fever at 37.8 only, can just take panadol la, why go see doctor? 😅

But don't say polyclinic long queue or wait very long to see doctor. Sometimes even you go to private GP also need to wait quite long before can get to see a doctor. Even i go to see private specialist doctor with an appointment can also can ended up waiting 1 hour or more to see the doctor esp if the business is very good at that specialist doctor. 🙄

37.8 deg want to have priority?  take panadol will do lah. 17 yrs old liao wait become princess or 妈宝.

On 3/14/2023 at 2:36 PM, Jman888 said:

37.8 deg want to have priority?  take panadol will do lah. 17 yrs old liao wait become princess or 妈宝.

Must be the parents fault that they treat their kids like princess and prince, thats why youngsters now all behave like some princess and prince. 😂

On 3/14/2023 at 2:35 PM, Watwheels said:

I use the onenuhs app to make my bookings. This is more for ppl staying in the West.

I put the app links here.

https://apps.apple.com/sg/app/onenuhs/id1533213621

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=sg.edu.nuhs.onenuhs&hl=en_SG&gl=US

After 10pm the system is open for booking for the next day appointment. The app also lets you register 30mins before your time slot. So once you reach there wait a little while and it is your turn. Yes, a lot time slots will be taken up. If you cant get a time slot for that day you have to keep refreshing the app. If you lucky someone gives up their time slot, quickly tap on it. LoL...

If your case is serious after seeing the gp request for referral to NUH(the gp will prompt you). The gp at the polyclinic will write a letter(emergency walk-in) for you and you get to NUH on that same day. 

Things to consider. If you want your bloodwork checked the polyclinic is very slow. Takes 3 days or so to see results. So end up take blood test one day, see doctor a week later. Good thing is blood test result will appear on the onenuhs app. 

If you get an immediate referral letter from polyclinic to NUH emergency walk in, your blood test will be known in about 2 hours depending on what is tested. Cost wise havent do anything walk-in emergency is $120 or smth like that. Plus the blood test , medication, x-ray etc whatever is done to you will be added on top of that. You pay the bill a couple of days later. The app will prompt you by sending the message. Make payment by cc, paynow etc using the app. 

Because of the subsidy polyclinic will be a long wait. If you got no patience then I suggest go private gp.

SingHealth Polyclinics not that fast, didn't know NUHS so fast.

On 3/14/2023 at 2:40 PM, Windwaver said:

Must avoid days like Fridays and maybe Mondays. Ppl chao keng on these days. So it will be difficult to get a time slot.

The app is convenient. But for the elderly who are not so savvy they go to the polyclinic kiosk to book. By then a lot of slots have been taken up. Might have no appointment slots or afternoon slots left depending on which days are peak.

On 3/14/2023 at 2:40 PM, 13177 said:

Must be the parents fault that they treat their kids like princess and prince, thats why youngsters now all behave like some princess and prince. 😂

Char-siu-FB.jpg

On 3/14/2023 at 2:49 PM, Watwheels said:

Must avoid days like Fridays and maybe Mondays. Ppl chao keng on these days. So it will be difficult to get a time slot.

The app is convenient. But for the elderly who are not so savvy they go to the polyclinic kiosk to book. By then a lot of slots have been taken up. Might have no appointment slots or afternoon slots left depending on which days are peak.

You can use health buddy app and try booking a polyclinic appointment under SingHealth, I think NUHS is so much better.

On 3/14/2023 at 2:40 PM, Windwaver said:

What is the difference between the two? 😂

On 3/14/2023 at 2:49 PM, Watwheels said:

It means now go polyclinic see doctor must book time slot? Cannot walk-in?

On 3/14/2023 at 2:52 PM, Windwaver said:

You can use health buddy app and try booking a polyclinic appointment under SingHealth, I think NUHS is so much better.

Polyclinic is slow. If you are in a hurry, see private.

Dont be like the mother in the article, cannot get a time slot then dont wait there.

Even for nuhs there is no guarantee you will get a time slot. Time slots may be reserved for follow up appointments. No guarantee, needs luck.