Why does Allion have much better FC than Vios?

Quantum

from the forum almost all Allion 1.5 owners declared their rides easily achive 17 to 18km/l in Singapore road condition [thumbsup]

if Allion 1.5 and vios share same engine, and Allion 1.5 body weight is much higher than vios, how come vios can't achive such better FC [confused]

On 10/23/2009 at 2:46 PM, Quantum said:

from the forum almost all Allion 1.5 owners declared their rides easily achive 17 to 18km/l in Singapore road condition [thumbsup]

if Allion 1.5 and vios share same engine, and Allion 1.5 body weight is much higher than vios, how come vios can't achive such better FC [confused]

Mainly due to the CVT transmission and possibly more refined components as the car is made in Japan,

I suppose it is possible to hold the rpm at around 2000 and slowly wait for the car to get up to speed for the allion. But the nature of the vios is to have the shifting point for the gear change at around 2500 to 3000 rpm.

On 10/23/2009 at 2:53 PM, Kr_toy said:

CVT... Allion comes with cvt that gives much better fc for patient driver [thumbsup]

which means Allion got sluggish acceleration [thumbsdown]

On 10/23/2009 at 2:52 PM, Kalmath said:

Mainly due to the CVT transmission and possibly more refined components as the car is made in Japan,

same Latio got CVT, but not so good FC lah[:(]

Allion same engine as Vios meh? First time I heard of this.

I'm driving an Allion though. FC using 17" rims is 13+ km/L.

I could hit 15km/L using 15" rims on my previous Vios.

Guess tyre width plays a crucial part too.

a lot of factors can be responsible for FC leh

One of them is aerodynamics. Somehow, I feel (feel only) that Allion aerodynamics is much better than Vios.

But toyota really possess the magic dust to make their cars efficient. This is seen in the Allion and obviously absent in the new RX350.

Edited by Alfisti168

Allion has better engine efficiency and design. Simple logic

I think it's a bit far fetched to hit 17km/l in singapore even if manual and very light footed. unless it's 90% highway, off air con, no radio and acceleration like a chery with full load

On 10/23/2009 at 4:05 PM, Tubecreamer said:

I think it's a bit far fetched to hit 17km/l in singapore even if manual and very light footed. unless it's 90% highway, off air con, no radio and acceleration like a chery with full load

Getting 17km/l is far fetched? I don't think it is far fetched! [flowerface]

U should check out the allion club [thumbsup] . There are many Allion owners who can do excellent FC. Don't think they achieve the FC at the expense of comfort. Well, definitely not me!

For my case, even though I am on 17' rims, getting 17-19km/l is a matter of knowing your ride.

I am against driving slow, throwing away extra load, light footed.

it is knowing how to tap on the 'gliding' effect on Allion.

Axio and Altis do not hv this design. so they are not as good in FC. axio is sharing the same engine and cvt as allion, why is axio not able to get >17km/l? the reason is wat I mention above.

Get an Allion for a few weeks and try to master the gliding design of allion. 17km/l is not a problem!

NPNT, so here you go:

PIC090929001.jpg

I ever read in an article by toyota which mentioned that the super cvt-i transmission disengages partially the engine when the car is stopped and driver is stepping on the brake (eg. while waiting at traffic lights)

This is not as good as a true engine start stop system but I believe its definitely better than nothing

Let me try and find the link to that article and put it up

Any other bros here read that article before?

  On 10/23/2009 at 4:21 PM, Ldawn88 said:

Getting 17km/l is far fetched? I don't think it is far fetched! [flowerface]

U should check out the allion club [thumbsup] . There are many Allion owners who can do excellent FC. Don't think they achieve the FC at the expense of comfort. Well, definitely not me!

For my case, even though I am on 17' rims, getting 17-19km/l is a matter of knowing your ride.

I am against driving slow, throwing away extra load, light footed.

it is knowing how to tap on the 'gliding' effect on Allion.

Axio and Altis do not hv this design. so they are not as good in FC. axio is sharing the same engine and cvt as allion, why is axio not able to get >17km/l? the reason is wat I mention above.

Get an Allion for a few weeks and try to master the gliding design of allion. 17km/l is not a problem!

NPNT, so here you go:

I cant get 17km/l but can consistently get 14 to 15km/l+ no problem on my Allion

But i also did double layer soundproofing for my 2 front doors and a subwoofer in the boot so Im not sure if that affects FC

I also realise the car instantaneous FC can always be 20km/l+ even at low speeds (eg. 40km/h) as long as the car is maintaining speed and not accelerating

Read somewhere that Allion and Axio using Dual VVTi engine while the Tom Yam Vios using single VVti engine. What that means is not clear to me, but could account for the difference in fuel economy. The same article also mentioned that CVT allows for infinite number of gear combinations, such that the processor can find the optimum gear to use for the particular engine condition. For the standard 4 speed automatic, the use of traditional fluid drive technology leads to inefficiencies.

I'm just relating what I read, so don't shoot me if this is wrong ok. Other bros care to validate or refute this???

I have not been seeing the instantaneous FC. You should be looking at the Average FC.

On 10/23/2009 at 4:29 PM, Mikael74 said:

I cant get 17km/l but can consistently get 14 to 15km/l+ no problem on my Allion

But i also did double layer soundproofing for my 2 front doors and a subwoofer in the boot so Im not sure if that affects FC

I also realise the car instantaneous FC can always be 20km/l+ even at low speeds (eg. 40km/h) as long as the car is maintaining speed and not accelerating