Berncsp76 6th Gear October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 hmm....until now, i thk i am super fortunate not to kena any so called misfortune..haha. (touch wood) Coz: 1. I dun speed, so no speeding ticket in my 10 yrs of driving 2. I am driving a 4 yr old picanto, who would wana steal? 3. I am not absent minded and anyhow leave valuables lying visably in my ride. 4. I dun anyhow park and usually park in visable locations or with high human traffic 5. I usually go in off peak and quite sure of the timing, if not stll can go onemotoring see traffic camera Anyway the opportunity cost of saving far exceeds the time and effort spend going into JB. Haha probably most bros and sis here drive BMW la, merc la, Lambo la, ferrari la, so always scared of kena robbed. dun misunderstood me coz i know there are more things to look out for like if bringing familes along. and most just wana peace of mind when gg in there, but probably I am always in "high alert" mode when go in there. Anyway statics show that almost 100,000 SG cars go over everyday at least. Just my 2 cents worth ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 I should think that Sheng Shiong is the cheapest among them. And it has LIVE seafood too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 My disappointment with NTUC grows over the years. It was supposed to be an organization taking care of the blue collars and the masses, but it seems to have gone off-trek. I am not just referring to the items sold in the supermarket but do look at the car insurance policy from them. Their premiums are among the highest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 guys, sheng shiong for their cheap prices, is it conducive to shop ? cos the last time i went to one at beside lion city hotel, it was super cramp and the floors were not even (have to climb up and down), and there was little parking lots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 guys, sheng shiong for their cheap prices, is it conducive to shop ? cos the last time i went to one at beside lion city hotel, it was super cramp and the floors were not even (have to climb up and down), and there was little parking lots. It depends on the location. Some branches are ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Which Sheng Shiong branch is the largest? The ones at Woodlands and West Coast have 2 levels. They have closed the 2nd storey at Ten Mile Junction. The one at Jalan Bahar has a large carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 I voted others. There is one Ang Mo supermarket 宏茂超市 , value cheaper than sheng siong. theu hv branches at punggol, toa payoh, bishan, and of coz ang mo kio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 oh, forgot to add... even ciggy also cheaper than outside... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Hrrrrrrr.....not a good thread. Wait go overboard in discussion, somebody will get sue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 I go giant imm always see these grp of ppl (ah pek, ah jek, uncle included) tasting long gan, rambutan, lychee etc. Some more seed and skin anyhow throw, throw into the piles of fruits. Really? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Although the Giant at Turf City is smaller than the one at IMM, it is less crowded and parking is not a problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Pardon my ignorance, what is a MCP? Thanks. Regards, I would vote MCP. It's another supermart, maybe not as common. But most of the stuff are rather cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdfaz 2nd Gear October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Rgarding their car insurance, not really lah bro. I just took up their car insurance cos it offers the best balance between benefits and premium paid. it's not the lowest though, but one of the lowest with good benefits. i guess it depends on your age and make/model that you drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdfaz 2nd Gear October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Where is this Ang Mo supermarket in punggol? I always go to the fairprice at punggol plaza. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Although the Giant at Turf City is smaller than the one at IMM, it is less crowded and parking is not a problem. Actually imm parking abundance lot but some ppl juz dun wanna go fifth or sixth floor to park coz very "far" and need to walk very "long" distance. They rather plant their car at 1st floor, 2nd floor to wait and wait for empty lot or park illegally around the first floor second floor and bring inconvenience to others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowbell Neutral Newbie October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Ang Mo is at Pungol Drive/Edgefield Plains there,ard Blk 630++. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 23, 2009 Author Share October 23, 2009 (edited) Haha...just voted in OTHERS category...Our friendly neighbour JB supermarkets! Some standard items that I buy: Ribena 2L Tesco (approx sgd $9.10), SG supermarkets (at least $12.50) Milo 2Kg Tesco (approx sgd $9.50), SG supermarkets (at least $13, and lesser qty, no 2kg) KNife brand cooking Oil 5kg Tesco (approx sgd $7), SG (about $8+) Sauces (Soya, sesame oil etc) Tesco (approx sgd $0.80-$3.00) SG (about $1.80-$4) Royal Umbrella Rice 5kg Tesco (approx sgd $14+), SG (about $17+) Not all are cheap in Malaysia. Generally, Fresh fruits are cheaper in Singapore. For example, you can get 10 oranges for S$1.65 at Giant but Jusco/Tesco probably around RM9.99. Sometimes, they have RM5.99 for 10 of those less appealing ones. Another example, Brocoli, you can pick any 3 for S$2.55 at Giant. In JB, easily RM10 for the same size and same number. At wet market, they sell Brocoli per piece for RM3 and they are smaller. Generally, seafood and dry goods tend to be cheaper if not alot cheaper in JB than Singapore (supermarket to supermarket). I used to spend like S$200 in Singapore for a weekly trip to supermarket but in JB, I'm paying around RM250. So you can see the difference. I find fruit juice the cheapest at Jusco. For RM3.50, you can get 2 X 1 litre of Apple/orange juice. The brand is "Fresh N' Squeeze" So I avoid buying things that are more expensive in JB and only buy them in Singapore. Anyway, this topic is talking about local supermarkets, which most Singaporean are still very used to visit. Of course, if I can buy Pork, beef, chicken and ducks, I'll save alot more! If we allow Singaporean to buy them from JB, I tell you many supermarket will close shop. For example, one frozen duck is around RM12.80 but in SG is may be around S$13? Pork price in SG is double if not more than double.... Regards, Edited October 23, 2009 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie October 23, 2009 Share October 23, 2009 Where is this Ang Mo supermarket in punggol? I always go to the fairprice at punggol plaza. B639 Punggol Drive. Extreme corner of current punggol estate. Btw, Sheng Siong is coming to punggol too. At Coralinus estate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...