Which is best value for money Supermarket?

Kelpie

Which is best value for money Supermarket?  

48 members have voted

1. 1. Which is best value for money Supermarket?

• NTUC
    • Sheng Siong
    • Shop n' Save
    • Giant
    • Carrefour
    • Cold Storage
    • Prime
    • Others (Please specify)

Hi all,

I'm sure we all frequent supermarket, so which store do you like best in term of value for money offerings?

Please vote.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Hi all,

I'm sure we all frequent supermarket, so which store do you like best in term of value for money offerings?

Please vote.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Your post is pointless.

There is NO BEST VALUE supermarts.

Although supermart like Cold Storage and others do sell at a higher price, it also depends on what an individual needs and they do offer some value for money item.

Between the few, like Seng Siong, Giant and NTUC and Shop and Save, they have different 'value for money' items based on what an individual need.

And if you are a smart shopper, you will get the best bargains from all the above.

Rdgs

sometimes can get better buys from neighbourhood provision shops, eg Ang Mo at Bishan.

I find Sheng Siong prices very competitive but their shopping environment/experience is less than ideal when compared with other supermarket. This is probably where they save cost by keeping the store look and feel very "functional". Again want cheap and no frill, don't talk about image.

Regards,

i just voted for Giant. I am a strong advocate for Giant because I believe their prices is generally lowest among the supermarts, while the quality is as good as the rest too. I like the free parking at the tampinese (TPE) branch.

To add, i find ntuc's price sometimes to be expensive, Cold Storage most items most of the times more ex than all others. Shop and Save not as much variety, and Sheng Shiong is so cramped the place.

Hi all,

Please vote.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

I think it depends. Not necessary which one is the cheapest.

Sometime ago, I went to Giant saw they selling the same cranberry juice that I bought from NTUC 2 days ago; it was stated lowest price. But I remember I paid lesser to buy in NTUC.

Hi all,

Please vote.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

There's never 1 single supermart that is cheapest at anyone time. They have different offers and prices at different times and most people will not have the time to buy individual cheapest items in each supermart, not to mention the time taken to keep track of those items.

Wah... you should allow for multiple choices mah.

Actually all those listed are quite value-for-money except for Cold Storage.

And "Prime"? WTH is that man?

I think it depends. Not necessary which one is the cheapest.

Sometime ago, I went to Giant saw they selling the same cranberry juice that I bought from NTUC 2 days ago; it was stated lowest price. But I remember I paid lesser to buy in NTUC.

I should have rephased to "perceived" value for money. It is the impression that I'm aftering for. If we want to compare item by item, promotion activities, seasonal sales and etc then all will either be value for money or not value for money liao from time to time [shocked].

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

I also don't know leh [:/] , find it from the Yahoo search engine when I typed "Singapore Supermarket".

Regards,

btw, are u all aware that most marts offer free delivery for purchases of above $200 or so ?

It make sense in Singapore. Fresh product (Meat?) can't be delivered as I was told.

Regards,

Your post is pointless.

There is NO BEST VALUE supermarts.

Although supermart like Cold Storage and others do sell at a higher price, it also depends on what an individual needs and they do offer some value for money item.

Between the few, like Seng Siong, Giant and NTUC and Shop and Save, they have different 'value for money' items based on what an individual need.

And if you are a smart shopper, you will get the best bargains from all the above.

Rdgs

Correct.

Every individual item pricing in fact differs. Down to the item per se. It is NOT the supermarket concerned.

i just voted for Giant. I am a strong advocate for Giant because I believe their prices is generally lowest among the supermarts, while the quality is as good as the rest too. I like the free parking at the tampinese (TPE) branch.

Tampines branch can get very crowded esp weekends. Turf city branch also free parking

U nvr heard of Prime supermarket? There are 17 outlets here. How abt MCP supermarket?

Pardon my ignorance, what is a MCP?

Thanks.

Regards,