Snakes as pets

Viceroymenthol

Maybe can ask NEA, get a permit or something to have a snake as pet.

its under the care of AVA, not NEA.... Its only goes under NEA when the Snake is cooked and became food on the table [laugh][laugh]

are we allowed to keep pet snakes that are not on the endangered species list in singapore? i don't mean the one in your pants.

do anything u want, even endangered species like hard corals, cheng hu banned liao still can get from many local fish farms selling it without the cities cert (sold illegally)... so long no one complain, u wont get it trouble.

should be AVA

Animal & Pets Sector >> Being a Responsible Pet Owner

What types of animals are allowed to be kept as pets?

There are many types of animals which may be kept as pets. These include dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, gerbils, mice, chinchillas, red-eared sliders (a type of terrapin), and many types of fancy birds and fish.

However, not all animals can be kept as pets in Singapore. Under the Wild Animals & Birds Act, our wild animals should not be caught or kept as pets. Similarly, imported wild animals such as snakes, lizards, hedgehogs, sugar gliders, monkeys and star tortoises cannot be kept as pets.

The penalty for keeping an illegal animal can be severe. Contact AVA at 6471 9987 if you are not sure what animals can be kept as pets.

Oh yeah. Haha...

So late already you still "eat snake"?

only start working nia [laugh][laugh][laugh]

in sales line and only have chance to do paperwork after office hours.... my boss believes that paper work is not an official work and should be done after office hour nia.. [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

should be AVA

There are many types of animals which may be kept as pets. These include dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, gerbils, mice, chinchillas, red-eared sliders (a type of terrapin), and many types of fancy birds and fish.

However, not all animals can be kept as pets in Singapore. Under the Wild Animals & Birds Act, our wild animals should not be caught or kept as pets. Similarly, imported wild animals such as snakes, lizards, hedgehogs, sugar gliders, monkeys and star tortoises cannot be kept as pets.

The penalty for keeping an illegal animal can be severe. Contact AVA at 6471 9987 if you are not sure what animals can be kept as pets.

u so late still eating snake in office? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

During my army days, during topo exercise in Mandai area I encounter many snakes(real one). They come to me, you know. Not imported one. All local snakes. If I want, I can actually bring one home and keep as a pet.

Ok mah. I fulfill the requirement. Local ,not imported snake. The snake comes to me, I cannot say "go away". So I actually can bring it home.

hahaha... why u want so many snakes? U already got an one-eye snake leow leh [lipsrsealed]

Anyway, back to TS's query

Under the Wild Animals & Birds Act, our wild animals should not be caught or kept as pets. Similarly, imported wild animals such as snakes, lizards, hedgehogs, sugar gliders, monkeys and star tortoises cannot be kept as pets.

It looks like even those caught locally is illegal as snakes is considered wild animals and the Wild Animals a& Birds Act states that it should not be caught or kept as pets.

Hmmm..... then where do those big fat pythons in chinese temples come from? [rolleyes]

hahaha... why u want so many snakes? U already got an one-eye snake leow leh [lipsrsealed]

Under the Wild Animals & Birds Act, our wild animals should not be caught or kept as pets. Similarly, imported wild animals such as snakes, lizards, hedgehogs, sugar gliders, monkeys and star tortoises cannot be kept as pets.

It looks like even those caught locally is illegal as snakes is considered wild animals and the Wild Animals a& Birds Act states that it should not be caught or kept as pets.

Hmmm..... then where do those big fat pythons in chinese temples come from? [rolleyes]

Who say anything about catching the snake? I say again the snake COMES to me. Not I want one. To catch, one must hunt for it. The snake wants to follow me, what can I do? Tell it AVA dun allow?

During my army days, during topo exercise in Mandai area I encounter many snakes(real one). They come to me, you know. Not imported one. All local snakes. If I want, I can actually bring one home and keep as a pet.

Ok mah. I fulfill the requirement. Local ,not imported snake. The snake comes to me, I cannot say "go away". So I actually can bring it home.

good idea.. hahaha!

yeah i wonder what are the laws regarding those pythons.. [confused]

Who say anything about catching the snake? I say again the snake COMES to me. Not I want one. To catch, one must hunt for it. The snake wants to follow me, what can I do? Tell it AVA dun allow?

u snake charmer huh? hahahahaha [laugh]

I have come across many retires man keeping parrot(s). I have ask them why keep parrots, their answer is also similar - my wife and children are always busy and out of the house so the only "people" who I can talk to is my talking parrot(s).

should be AVA

i realise they didn't include the ban on animals such as pigs (real hogs) and sharks (for those who have swimming pools). are crocodiles considered lizards?

Edited by Viceroymenthol

I have come across many retires man keeping parrot(s). I have ask them why keep parrots, their answer is also similar - my wife and children are always busy and out of the house so the only "people" who I can talk to is my talking parrot(s).

yeah, they're cute :D