7007 2nd Gear October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 (edited) i think he earn director fees, officially is no monthly salary, but actually is sit on several boards, and got huge annual director fees most prob non executive/independent director, daily no need work, once a quarter go for board meetings nia, rest of time shake leg just a wild guess Wow....where to get this kind of lobang...I oso wan leh IF my old RAM didn't fail me he is in the IT industry leh.... rite bro? Edited October 15, 2009 by 7007 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Buddy, the key is not whether we have lots of cash or not. The focus is about affordability. "Badge whore" seems to be to harsh. Of course everyone in the forum knows that 320 is better than 318, 325 is better than 323 and so on. But it's all about if pple can afford it or willing to pay for it. Nothing right or wrong. What is expensive to someone may seems reasonable to another folk. As far as the current IL 4 BMW 318i is concerned, I don't see it as being expensive (because of brand ) though I'm not someone who will pay this price for a BMW IL4 these days though the family used to pay >100K for a 1.6L puny Japanese car years ago. If you say underpowered and less spacious among other choices of the same category, then I will say yes. Badge whore is probably perceived as someone who is not a real BMW enthusiastic or do not really appreciate nor understand the joy of owning a IL6 that BMW is traditionally famous for. They buy BMW IL4 because it is a BMW and the perception of the "ultimate driving machine". Power or equipment level is not everything to this category of buyers. But don't forget not all car owners would be into car technology or even come in here to find out more about car. So many don't even know they are called "Badge whore" behind their back . IMHO, if I want to buy a BMW, it will be a IL6 or nothing, doesn't matter new or used. Just my 2 cents. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrFlax Neutral Newbie October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Wow....where to get this kind of lobang...I oso wan leh IF my old RAM didn't fail me he is in the IT industry leh.... rite bro? oh is it, guess wrongly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 What is expensive to someone may seems reasonable to another folk. As far as the current IL 4 BMW 318i is concerned, I don't see it as being expensive (because of brand ) though I'm not someone who will pay this price for a BMW IL4 these days though the family used to pay >100K for a 1.6L puny Japanese car years ago. If you say underpowered and less spacious among other choices of the same category, then I will say yes. Badge whore is probably perceived as someone who is not a real BMW enthusiastic or do not really appreciate nor understand the joy of owning a IL6 that BMW is traditionally famous for. They buy BMW IL4 because it is a BMW and the perception of the "ultimate driving machine". Power or equipment level is not everything to this category of buyers. But don't forget not all car owners would be into car technology or even come in here to find out more about car. So many don't even know they are called "Badge whore" behind their back . IMHO, if I want to buy a BMW, it will be a IL6 or nothing, doesn't matter new or used. Just my 2 cents. Regards, Actually, BMW build good IL4 engine during E30 era especially E30 ///M3. I drove a couple of times E30 318 (It is 1.8L & 113hp). It does not feel underpower at all because the car is much lighter than E90. Overtime, the weight of the car increase with more feature & safety device. Of cource, the engine power must increase. That's why IL-6 comes into pic. Anyway, current IL-4 on 320 is barely enough (especially fully loaded). What about a detuned 2L (in 318)? In fact, BMW still make very good IL-4. Juz look at the 3 series racing in WTCC. Quite a lot of ppl who bought BMW don't what is "Ultimate Driving Machine" or "Sheer Driving Pleasure" meant. It is more than the badge. It is the driving experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Buddy, the key is not whether we have lots of cash or not. The focus is about affordability. "Badge whore" seems to be to harsh. Of course everyone in the forum knows that 320 is better than 318, 325 is better than 323 and so on. But it's all about if pple can afford it or willing to pay for it. Nothing right or wrong. Agreed, never said it was wrong, mate. i consider myself a badge whore too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Agreed, never said it was wrong, mate. i consider myself a badge whore too. So does supporting VW or skoda consider a Badge whore?? i like VW for their tech though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 its not about being snobbish or what...its about getting your $$'s worth... for me this is the biggest thing also. I always want to get the most car I can for my budget. For a budget of $100k plus I think I can get a whole lot more car than the 318....of course, people with different priorities to mine will make a different evaluation. But then, my taste is cars is a little off the beaten track - if I had to choose just one car, right now it would be the RS6 Avante, I suspect not many would agree with this choice. But hey - whatever, I like it. FYI, I built a small financial model to see just how big the difference really was between shell out cash first, and taking an interest free loan. Turns out that assuming a 5% annual return, and a 10 year loan term the difference amounts to $35,807 (oh, and 1 cent) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 for me this is the biggest thing also. I always want to get the most car I can for my budget. For a budget of $100k plus I think I can get a whole lot more car than the 318....of course, people with different priorities to mine will make a different evaluation. But then, my taste is cars is a little off the beaten track - if I had to choose just one car, right now it would be the RS6 Avante, I suspect not many would agree with this choice. But hey - whatever, I like it. FYI, I built a small financial model to see just how big the difference really was between shell out cash first, and taking an interest free loan. Turns out that assuming a 5% annual return, and a 10 year loan term the difference amounts to $35,807 (oh, and 1 cent) Problem is now a day, Dont think we can have 5% annual return liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Problem is now a day, Dont think we can have 5% annual return liao.. @ 3% the diff is $18,735 @ 7% it is $57,591 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 FYI, I built a small financial model to see just how big the difference really was between shell out cash first, and taking an interest free loan. Turns out that assuming a 5% annual return, and a 10 year loan term the difference amounts to $35,807 (oh, and 1 cent) Points to note:- To assume safe 5% annual return is already too high as that is more than 5 times rf rate. To further assume certainty of that 5% over 10 yrs is another simplistic mistake. Finally $36k over 10 yrs means life and death to some, but not to me. As one Bro already explained. Just ask yourself a simple question. If you got $10 would you bother to borrow 50cts? Or would you rather just be debt free, admin free, headache free and have $9.50? Now , dont get me wrong again, I'm not disputing your rationale, never was. But it's simply all about whether you have the $10 or not. Some people just use the word "affordability" My advice to you is dont be penny wise pound foolish. not saying that you are, just advising only, ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Points to note:- To assume safe 5% annual return is already too high as that is more than 5 times rf rate. To further assume certainty of that 5% over 10 yrs is another simplistic mistake. Finally $36k over 10 yrs means life and death to some, but not to me. As one Bro already explained. Just ask yourself a simple question. If you got $10 would you bother to borrow 50cts? Or would you rather just be debt free, admin free, headache free and have $9.50? Now , dont get me wrong again, I'm not disputing your rationale, never was. But it's simply all about whether you have the $10 or not. Some people just use the word "affordability" My advice to you is dont be penny wise pound foolish. not saying that you are, just advising only, ok? Actually for investing 5% annualised return over a 10 year horizon is very average, but there's no need to go into that sort of argument here. And you say that you earn $2,500 per month, but don't care about $36K? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Actually, BMW build good IL4 engine during E30 era especially E30 ///M3. I drove a couple of times E30 318 (It is 1.8L & 113hp). It does not feel underpower at all because the car is much lighter than E90. Overtime, the weight of the car increase with more feature & safety device. Of cource, the engine power must increase. That's why IL-6 comes into pic. Anyway, current IL-4 on 320 is barely enough (especially fully loaded). What about a detuned 2L (in 318)? In fact, BMW still make very good IL-4. Juz look at the 3 series racing in WTCC. Quite a lot of ppl who bought BMW don't what is "Ultimate Driving Machine" or "Sheer Driving Pleasure" meant. It is more than the badge. It is the driving experience. Yap, you do have a point there too. Another analogy is buying a Subaru without a Turbo. AWD driving experience without a matching heart . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Yap, you do have a point there too. Another analogy is buying a Subaru without a Turbo. AWD driving experience without a matching heart . Regards, You are flaming impreza liao... here got impreza fanatic?? meet one before, slamp anyone who told him they did not go for impreza because of high FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Actually for investing 5% annualised return over a 10 year horizon is very average, but there's no need to go into that sort of argument here. And you say that you earn $2,500 per month, but don't care about $36K? Think his income is more than that lah.. he also say he wipe table one... so you know he must be doing some bussiness where its confidential one lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 You are flaming impreza liao... here got impreza fanatic?? meet one before, slamp anyone who told him they did not go for impreza because of high FC. bro, many people in singapore are siao like that... also because cars are very ex here. after spending so much money on their car, they cannot tahan when people don't share their like of the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 (edited) bro, many people in singapore are siao like that... also because cars are very ex here. after spending so much money on their car, they cannot tahan when people don't share their like of the car. haha... ppl say my car lousy i also like that. i just tell them. 1600cc MIJ for 50K better FC than current find for me i change car. Edited October 15, 2009 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 haha... ppl say my car lousy i also like that. i just tell them. 1600cc MIJ for 50K find for me i change car. just ignore them lah, no need to justify your purchase to them. you like it can liao. singaporeans very funny one... like to hamtum other people's possessions so maybe they feel better.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 just ignore them lah, no need to justify your purchase to them. you like it can liao. singaporeans very funny one... like to hamtum other people's possessions so maybe they feel better.. yeah lor... mainly they keep quite after i tell them that.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...