Ahtong 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 There is $20 million to be shared between 2 persons. Person A decides how to share the money. Person B decides whether or not to accept the proposed ratio. If Person B accepts the ratio, both parties get the money. If Person B don't accept, nobody gets anything. 1) If you are person A, how would you split the $20 million? 2) If you are person B, will you accept if A offers you $1 million and keeps $19 million for himself? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 A: 10/10 B: yes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jakku Neutral Newbie October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 There is $20 million to be shared between 2 persons. Person A decides how to share the money. Person B decides whether or not to accept the proposed ratio. If Person B accepts the ratio, both parties get the money. If Person B don't accept, nobody gets anything. 1) If you are person A, how would you split the $20 million? 2) If you are person B, will you accept if A offers you $1 million and keeps $19 million for himself? 1) If i am A i would split 50:50 2) This is a tricky one, 1 million dollar is a lot of money to me now, i probably would take A offer. there is oso a possibility of wan to die die together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 no info no explaination how to advice.. the money from where... hard work from single side or both side?? or inherit? or no details how to justify is good or no good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 depends where the $ come from..if A earn it or given to A from others..of coz he deserve more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 1) 10m each 2) no, rather die together also dun wan kanna eat like tt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 a) split 50:50 b) no. since u didn't mention that A can make a counter/improved offer. but if only got 1 chance, i'll sy "yes" assuming there must be a reason why A has the right to decide how the money is split, maybe he is the leader or he found the money, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 1. 19million for myself 2. No Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 10/10 yes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 Assuming that the 20 million happens to be dropped from the sky... I'd accept it even if the other party offers me $100K But if that 20 million is something that both myself & the other party worked equally hard for, I'd not accept anything less than 50:50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Author Share October 13, 2009 Basically question 1 tests how fair you are and question 2 tests your backbone vs practicality. 1) I would split the money 50:50 2) I am willing to accept if the offer is around 2:1 or better. If it is 19:1, I will sure ask the greedy busturd to fly kite. He got more to lose than me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 this kind of scenario question will probably never happen to anyone . i think ahtong think of money too much liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 There is $20 million to be shared between 2 persons. Person A decides how to share the money. Person B decides whether or not to accept the proposed ratio. If Person B accepts the ratio, both parties get the money. If Person B don't accept, nobody gets anything. 1) If you are person A, how would you split the $20 million? 2) If you are person B, will you accept if A offers you $1 million and keeps $19 million for himself? 1) 12 Million for B, 8 Million for myself (60/40 split, since he has the decision to deny both of us of money) 2) no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 There is $20 million to be shared between 2 persons. Person A decides how to share the money. Person B decides whether or not to accept the proposed ratio. If Person B accepts the ratio, both parties get the money. If Person B don't accept, nobody gets anything. 1) If you are person A, how would you split the $20 million? 2) If you are person B, will you accept if A offers you $1 million and keeps $19 million for himself? Definitely a 50%-50% share. I would accept if person A is giving mi out of good will. If the money belong to mi too...die die i wan a 50% share. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Author Share October 13, 2009 Hypothetical question only lah. In economics, there is something known as game theory and it is full of these interesting scenarios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 1. 50/50. 2. Tough one. probably no. Out of curiosity, to those who said "No" to the 2nd question what if it were 1 billion vs 19 billion? I know my answer will change to yes. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 this reminds me so much of prisoner's dilemma and game theory. if I am person A, I will offer 1-2million if B is an average or poor person; but offer as much as needed to incentivise cooperation if B is super wealthy and already has millions to his name. of course, the critical thing is to act like I don't need the money as well, so that the pressure is on B (maybe I can dress as a monk? just not you-know-who) if I am person B, before A make the offer, I will tell him that I will reject any offer less than $19 million and act super greedy (maybe not much acting involved here). then the pressure will be on A to decide if he wants to gamble with the $1 million. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 if so..i take 19.5m, A take 500k since i am the decider..for qn B..keke if A,i split 10/90 for B since B make the call for qn A.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...