A civil engineer was fined $800 for folding parking coupons

Hwaa

On 10/16/2009 at 8:15 AM, Kangadrool said:

Must charge them school fees hor and not free at expense of tax payers.

so this is the kind of 'talent' we bring in here...ptuuuuuuuuui

On 10/15/2009 at 3:47 PM, Benarsenal said:

$16.50 must tear 33 purple 50 cents coupon. :blink:

Bo pian leh, unless you got buy the $10/pc or $16.50/pc kind of coupon you'll have to tear it slowly lor. But if you have more than 3 booklets of $0.50 coupons, likely you'll have the other high denomination ones as well.

Sometimes I do buy the $2 day parking coupon just in case needed for my extended MJ sessions. [lipsrsealed]

On 10/16/2009 at 7:22 AM, GaryLim said:

if the parking is those using ERP gantry, how much to park wholeday>

That I don't know if the system is programmed that smartly or not. Anyone has this experience before?

Hi all,

Recently got caught for re-using parking coupons... and wonder if anyone can provide some advice. I am waiting for my court summons for the above.

Can i ask u a few questions?

1. When they send the summons, can plead guilty via ATOMS? or die die muz go court? And if go court, what would the scenario be like?

2. Any idea what the fine quantum is like?

3. Can pay before going court?

Hope you can help with my questions and thanks a lot.

On 10/13/2009 at 4:31 PM, Dunno said:

The name of the game is call "accumulate". I accumulate all the wrongly teared coupons, as long as got one tab not teared. Wait till they accumulate $10 or more, then go HDB change one booklet. As long as one tab not teared, even though the coupon year already expired, HDB should still change for you as it's considered not used yet.

same same. i recently go exchange 3 booklet. my oldest coupon dated back 2006 when i tear the year. LOL

Our coupon has its inconvience & flaws, but when compare to tearing, I think overall its still better

If using the stetching method in JB, then all the chips will end up in the car, they are hard to clear & is not enviromental friendly. Of course you can aim the coupon outside your car, but end up dirty the road.

At least with the paper one in SG, we can pick them up & clear quite easily

Also, for our system, we can combo tear a few coupons at once using the key or pencil. Imagine the hassle if you have to stretch out more than 3 coupons indiviually.

Anyway, for parking, I either be a good boy & torn accordingly, or not at all, especially if I know the areas & when Fatimah will come. At most $30-60 fine.

On 10/13/2009 at 8:44 AM, Unfair said:

Singapore's Coupon system is not as good.

When i went to Melaka, their coupons is scratch off the date/time... less littering and cannot be tampered for cheating.

Cannot believe its more advanced over in bolehland.

What i suspect is our side sign long contract with linked company. (Not sure who owns linked company) [lipsrsealed]

If you noticed the system here, we don't copy what less developed nations do no matter how effective or advanced their methods or systems are. I believe it is a loss of face to the MIWs. Even if they do "copy", it would be "repackaged" again to make it look like another new invention by us.

Another reason I can think of is cost of producing such coupons. It will cost more than the current tear off coupons.

However, if they were to implement the scratch system, no deal damage is done to the coupons which can then be collected and recycled for reuse by covering the scratched portions again. Just give some incentives for people to return the used coupons in multiples of 10 in running serial numbers.

On 3/17/2010 at 11:59 PM, Sirjimmy said:

Expensive lesson...

Depends on how you look at it. On the consolation side,

Assuming he had done it 10 times and got caught at the 11th, technically he made a loss of $8000 (10 x $800) loss of fine for the gov.

Add that to the cost of coupons + the exceeded time for parking ($10 - $30), typically the gov still make a loss.

Might as well park without coupon...Sometime lazy just hack it.....

Cheating? This way is better and lower summons ....Now this is cheating......

On 3/18/2010 at 1:42 AM, Kiadaw said:

Our coupon has its inconvience & flaws, but when compare to tearing, I think overall its still better

If using the stetching method in JB, then all the chips will end up in the car, they are hard to clear & is not enviromental friendly. Of course you can aim the coupon outside your car, but end up dirty the road.

At least with the paper one in SG, we can pick them up & clear quite easily

Also, for our system, we can combo tear a few coupons at once using the key or pencil. Imagine the hassle if you have to stretch out more than 3 coupons indiviually.

Anyway, for parking, I either be a good boy & torn accordingly, or not at all, especially if I know the areas & when Fatimah will come. At most $30-60 fine.

I Kenna summon b4 for aiming the coupons outside my car. <_<

be glad the parking rates in singapore remain the same and has not risen in recent years

(well at least that's true for HDB coupon parking)

On 10/13/2009 at 4:31 PM, Dunno said:

The name of the game is call "accumulate". I accumulate all the wrongly teared coupons, as long as got one tab not teared. Wait till they accumulate $10 or more, then go HDB change one booklet. As long as one tab not teared, even though the coupon year already expired, HDB should still change for you as it's considered not used yet.

i have accumulated 1 big stack from my last 5 years of driving...but always lazy to go HDB to queue up and change.

other than HDB office, where else can i change it without long queue or still open after office hour/weekend?

Singapore tear off system is fool proof one. Everything Singapore do is fool proof, you want to cheat sure get caught easily.

The scratch one is easier to cheat. Just buy a silver color paint pen....can reuse and reuse!