Ano727 2nd Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 Hi bros and sis, I will be stationed outside Singapore (within Asia) for at least 2 years of work, first time for me so would like to ask - what I need to do/process here in Singapore before I leave? - when do I inform government (1 week prior, 1month prior, 2 months, 3months?) of change of address? - how to handle CPF, tax, etc. - is it adviseable to leave funds in banks here? or better to bring it with me? Am Singaporean by the way. Any good and informative links in Internet would be helpful as well. Will sell my almost new car around December, PM me if interested to know more. Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 remember to settle your SAF issues also else kenna charge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 On 10/12/2009 at 4:05 PM, Ano727 said: Hi bros and sis, I will be stationed outside Singapore (within Asia) for at least 2 years of work, first time for me so would like to ask - what I need to do/process here in Singapore before I leave? - when do I inform government (1 week prior, 1month prior, 2 months, 3months?) of change of address? - how to handle CPF, tax, etc. - is it adviseable to leave funds in banks here? or better to bring it with me? Am Singaporean by the way. Any good and informative links in Internet would be helpful as well. Will sell my almost new car around December, PM me if interested to know more. Thanks in advance. If you can, settle down there and don't come back. We wun belong here eventually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 On 10/12/2009 at 4:05 PM, Ano727 said: Hi bros and sis, I will be stationed outside Singapore (within Asia) for at least 2 years of work, first time for me so would like to ask - what I need to do/process here in Singapore before I leave? - when do I inform government (1 week prior, 1month prior, 2 months, 3months?) of change of address? - how to handle CPF, tax, etc. - is it adviseable to leave funds in banks here? or better to bring it with me? Am Singaporean by the way. Any good and informative links in Internet would be helpful as well. Will sell my almost new car around December, PM me if interested to know more. Thanks in advance. find out the paperwork requirements for your new job... MOM/government in that country might require documents that need endorsement from relevant ministries in singapore find out what you need and you dun need to make extra trip back to get it done fund transfer really depends on yourself and how you company is paying you, overseas bank or still paying to local bank? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 Your 1st 3 qns should ask your company HR. For the last qns, IMO since its only 2 years, dun bother (dun touch) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 On 10/12/2009 at 4:15 PM, Darth_mel said: If you can, settle down there and don't come back. We wun belong here eventually. ya agree... after some discussions wif my frens juz now on the topic of sg in the near future, we all tink tat it's a bad decision to stay on till retire (provided career not snatch by some FTs)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 (edited) On 10/12/2009 at 5:25 PM, Zniper said: ya agree... after some discussions wif my frens juz now on the topic of sg in the near future, we all tink tat it's a bad decision to stay on till retire (provided career not snatch by some FTs)... Better to be treated as a respected professional somewhere else than to be treated like a 2nd-hand useless junk in your own country. Edited October 12, 2009 by Darth_mel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 I don't know the answers to your questions but i do have something to share about address change. When you update your address, remember to update the mailing addr and not the residential addr if you aim is to direct letters to your place overseas. Best is do a proper, full update of both residential and mailing addresses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear October 13, 2009 Share October 13, 2009 On 10/12/2009 at 4:05 PM, Ano727 said: Hi bros and sis, I will be stationed outside Singapore (within Asia) for at least 2 years of work, first time for me so would like to ask - what I need to do/process here in Singapore before I leave? - when do I inform government (1 week prior, 1month prior, 2 months, 3months?) of change of address? - how to handle CPF, tax, etc. - is it adviseable to leave funds in banks here? or better to bring it with me? Am Singaporean by the way. Any good and informative links in Internet would be helpful as well. Will sell my almost new car around December, PM me if interested to know more. Thanks in advance. Just sharing thoughts.... - Most of processes should be co-ordinated by local company unless you applied the job direct to employing company (include working visa application, tax treatment like tax equalization, etc). If company does not help, better double check with IRAS on tax in visiting country. If there is no tax treaty, can be high if not wrong (not too sure cos previously all handled by company tax consultants) - CPF should be a choice of preference. I know some company can allow you to choose since their cost is the same. - SAF notification should be needed. Can apply through internet I think. - Apply international driving license if you want to drive overseas. Some countries need further local certification. - If you own HBD and want to rent out for income, apply to HDB for approval. Should be allowable. - Unless you have no relatives in Sgp, I will suggest that you move your mailing address to your closest relative place (if they agree of course). - Transferring funds. Depends on where your money is needed most. If you transfer to the new country, pls do enough paperwork to allow visting country's Foreign Exchange to let you bring them out of their country next time, without them taxing that is. If no records, they may treated as if you earned them while staying in their country. - If you keep $$ in Singapore, you should set up internet banking if not already have. If you invest in stock, set up internet investing tools. Best of luck to your new adventure. I lost abt 33k when selling my 2-year old Sunny in similar situation in past. I am sure you will do better. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ano727 2nd Gear October 13, 2009 Author Share October 13, 2009 Thanks to all for the info and helpful tips and advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 1. Keep a bank account and a few K here - is always good to have cash on hand 2. Keep a Singaporean credit card - that you can pay via the bank account above 2.a be sure to set up internet banking, and make sure that your sing pass is issued and working 3. How long is the validity on passport? Is it worth getting it renewed before you leave 4. Its already been mentioned - but forwarding of mail to nearest relative is good. If dun want this person to open mail for you, make arrangements (and leave cash) for them to forward mail to you at regular intervals (remember - for tax and other such issues, so long as mail reaches your registered address you are still liable even if it was not forwarded on to you) 5. If only going for two years perhaps consider renting your car instead of selling? 6. Its probably obvious, but remember to cancel all stuff like cable, internet etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 File yr tax returns even if its 0! Failure to do so means u r evading tax! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 On 10/12/2009 at 4:05 PM, Ano727 said: Hi bros and sis, I will be stationed outside Singapore (within Asia) for at least 2 years of work, first time for me so would like to ask - what I need to do/process here in Singapore before I leave? - when do I inform government (1 week prior, 1month prior, 2 months, 3months?) of change of address? - how to handle CPF, tax, etc. - is it adviseable to leave funds in banks here? or better to bring it with me? Am Singaporean by the way. Any good and informative links in Internet would be helpful as well. Will sell my almost new car around December, PM me if interested to know more. Thanks in advance. I had been working in Thailand for 2yr+. So to share with you my experence. 1) Your HR should apply for visa and work permit for you. Although u need to go down the embassy for the application for visa yourself non B visa if I remember correctly. It will give u 6mth for your work permit to approve. 2) Apply your exit permit from www.ns.com.sg 3) Once you get your address you can update it to the Sg embassy in that country and also at www.ns.com.sg. 4) Check with you credit card bank for electronic bill and apply internet banking to pay your bill and so on. 5) CPF you company and u must reach an agreement. Your paid will be best that most of the part is pay in Sg to enjoy CPF and other part paid in the country you r going to. I believe the package you have to settle with your company I cant comment much. 6) Tax, you will still need to pay your tax for both country. Cos most likely you are getting 2 paid. Even if you r drawing all pay from the other country you still need to declare your tax in Sg put 0 if you have too it is against the law not to delcare. (my friend fail to declare and got handcuffed once reach Sg custom) 7) Don't bring too much $$ over since your company likely to provide u will housing and car and so on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 Are you single? Need someone to take care of your gf? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayq Neutral Newbie October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 It's a good opportunity to experience how's life outside this highly propaganda-ed society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sir8 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 Which country welcomes 2nd-hand useless junks? On 10/12/2009 at 5:30 PM, Darth_mel said: Better to be treated as a respected professional somewhere else than to be treated like a 2nd-hand useless junk in your own country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 One little suggestion, not sure if it'll help you. You might want to setup a Skype acct or something similar with friends and family members who you often chit-chat with as it'll cut lots of expenses on overseas calls. Unless your new job postings pays for all overseas calls. Anyway, wish you luck on your new assignment! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear October 14, 2009 Share October 14, 2009 On 10/12/2009 at 4:05 PM, Ano727 said: Hi bros and sis, I will be stationed outside Singapore (within Asia) for at least 2 years of work, first time for me so would like to ask - what I need to do/process here in Singapore before I leave? - when do I inform government (1 week prior, 1month prior, 2 months, 3months?) of change of address? - how to handle CPF, tax, etc. - is it adviseable to leave funds in banks here? or better to bring it with me? Am Singaporean by the way. Any good and informative links in Internet would be helpful as well. Will sell my almost new car around December, PM me if interested to know more. Thanks in advance. You should tell us which country you going to. Any home leave? You going to work there legally or as visitor. If legally, you sure got to pay tax over there. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...