Malaysian (SG PR) holding MY driving license

Currahee

for a malaysian who holds MY car driving license, i heard that once you become SG PR and convert to SG license, you will lose your MY driving license.

Is this correct?

any way to have both MY and SG license? TIA.

for a malaysian who holds MY car driving license, i heard that once you become SG PR and convert to SG license, you will lose your MY driving license.

Is this correct?

Not true.. For SPR, they can then buy a SG registered car to drive in SG and M'sia.. They can also drive their M'sian car in M'sia too.. But i not sure if they still can drive m'sian car in SG then..

Is this correct?

don't even need to be SGPR..as long as you decide to have SG license, your Malaysia license will be void because during the conversion process, SG side will punch a hole thru your MY license and therefore void it..

there's a way to circumvent this though..just go any balai polis to declare lost and make a new one in malaysia lor.. [lipsrsealed]

They can also drive their M'sian car in M'sia too.. But i not sure if they still can drive m'sian car in SG then..

nope..SG law explicitly state that "A resident of Singapore is not allowed to own or drive a foreign registered car in Singapore"

Is this correct?

yes, sg LTA require converter to show the cancellation letter from jpj in order to approve the conversion. in another word, must cancel MY license in order to get a sg license. what some people did (that's what i heard but not sure will that work, for me, i cancel mine and dont bother about MY license anymore.....) is to pay up to 10yrs the license fee and still will keep the MY for 10yrs...

anyway, as far as i could remember, if i want to get back the MY license, i'll have to give up SG license and get a letter to jpj for the reinstatement of MY license.... [blush]

A SPR only can drive s'pore registered car in s'pore

To drive m'sia registered car in m'sia, u must bring along ur s'pore nric & driving license

don't even need to be SGPR..as long as you decide to have SG license, your Malaysia license will be void because during the conversion process, SG side will punch a hole thru your MY license and therefore void it..

there's a way to circumvent this though..just go any balai polis to declare lost and make a new one in malaysia lor.. [lipsrsealed]

are u sure??? they need a jpj letter hor.. no letter no talk.... sg where got so dumb in keeping such a huge hole open..... [sly]

so long it involved Mal authority.. there is a huge hole open... i believe those who want the letter from JPJ could get special assistant from the officer in charged [sly][sly][sly]

ohh... ok... understood.... [blush] ... anyway, really dont see the need to keep both..... [grin]

y waste time go to balai, if u hv fren along the line jz let him settle it wit jpj that u hv hilang e driving. [wave]

fr jpj record, if licence still valid, not been revoked, then take new foto, redeemed e licence. [:p]

another way, go to any driving college, pay n settle ur "hilang" licence....... [idea]

have car.bike + $$$ can travell :D

at least that's what i heard from my malaysian relatives lah..the 100% chop+confirm case is SG(and most countries) wont allow a person to hold 2 diff driving license..

my case:

-1997 passed MY (class 2 & 3) license

-2001 passed SG basic theory test

-request/apply license record at MY jpj (must be enclosed)

-convert license (MY class 2 & 3 - SG class 2A & 3)

*License record letter (not cancel letter)

u r right.. SG PR (MYSian) will have to give up his/her lesen once coverted to SGP driving lese.. OK... u lesen will valid till the next expiry date.. u cannot renew because ur data in JPA (aka LTA) will be removed.

err...but hor.... u know lah.. Malaysia BOLEH.. anything also boleh.. if u know what i meant [lipsrsealed]

Funny rule lor...

A Malaysian(thou SG PR but nationality still MY) cannot drive malaysia car in Malaysia????? [knife][shakehead]

my understanding is such.. for MYSian (SPR) driving a MY car in MY..can.. just that no insurance will cover u if anything happen... [flowerface]

I think the process of converting Msia Driving license to Spore driving license had evolved throughout the years... During mid 90s, I just take BTT here, and go to TP HQ (Maxwell Rd, now Red Dot building), show my Msian driving license with BTT slip, voila! Got my Spore license liao..... no need involved JPJ. Still renenw my Msia license but recently I hack care liao since I can use my Spore driving license to drive Spore/Msia registered car in Msia.

My sis convert her MSia license in late 90's. She have to go JPJ get a letter (required by Spore TP). JPJ knows that she wanted to get Spore license so will automatically cancel her Msia driving license before issuing the letter. Bring that letter and BTT slip to TP and change license. Need to hung up "P" plate for a year.

n yes, Spore PR CANNOT drive Msia car in Spore...consequences is as bad as driving OPC without valid coupon! That's y sometimes got police stop vehicle after custom check at checkpoint to check on driver's passport.

Not true.. For SPR, they can then buy a SG registered car to drive in SG and M'sia.. They can also drive their M'sian car in M'sia too.. But i not sure if they still can drive m'sian car in SG then..

cannot