Jamstart 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 (edited) If you think this is blur, look at these sums. (got from another forum) Shop A has 156kg of rice, while Shop B has 72kg of rice. Each shop sold an equal amount of rice and after that the ratio of the amount of rice left in their shop was 4:1. Find out how much rice has been sold. (3 marks) 6/14 of the chairs in the hall are in rows of 13. Half of the chairs in the hall are in rows of 7. There are 112 more chairs in rows of 7. The rest of the chairs are stacked up. Find out the total number of chairs in the hall (5 marks) 6 friends decided to rent computers from 2pm to 4.30pm. While 4 of them were playing, the other two would watch. If the cycle continues, and each of them played for equal number of minutes, how many minutes will each person get to play? Mei and Lin were in a bicycle race. Mei was travelling at a constant speed of 20km/hr and they both did not change their speed. When Lin completed half the race, Mei was 3.5km ahead. Mei completed the race at 10.45am. What time did Lin complete the race? Sally baked some cookies to sell. 3/4 of them were chocolate cookies and the remaining were almond cookies. After she sold 5/6 of chocolate cookies and 210 almond cookies, she had 1/5 of the cookies left. How many cookies did she sell? Curry puff shop sells puffs at $0.80 each. Offer:Buy 3 get 4th half price. If customer has $50, how many puffs can he buy if he buys as many as he can. String of 2 big balloons is 90cm String of 5 small balloons is is 1.2m If both strings are of the same length, there would be 105 more small balloons than the big balloons. How many balloons are there altogether? Edited October 12, 2009 by Jamstart ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joe25 2nd Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 can they use algebra? thought not supposed to do so? where's MOE's reply? now i'm going to worry for my kids liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 I think a lot of people have been brainwashed to believe that as long as you try hard enough, you will succeed. They end up spending 15 minutes on a stupid 5 mark question that they cannot solve and refuse to move on; these are the ones who end up coming out of the exam hall in tears because they can't finish the paper. Same goes with life. Not everyone can become the POTUS, not everyone can be the next Bill Gates. Everyone should learn about their own capabilities and set reasonable goals instead of setting themselves up for failure. tldr, some people watch too much Forrest Gump. some not thinking strategically, every mark counts to make it to the 状元榜! or be the 状元 of the year! that alone like going to make or break their future.... sad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 those are the 2009 PSLE exam question ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 I got it from another forum, i think so ba. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 If you think this is blur, look at these sums. (got from another forum) Those questions are quite simple and comparable to the PSLE questions I took about 15 years ago. By the way, people should not complain that the questions are getting harder; they are supposed to be! Technology and science is advancing so fast these days that everyone (not just in Singapore) will need to cram more material into their brains. New theories and laws are coming out everyday, should a physics major complain that people 100 years ago didn't have to learn about e=mc^2 and that his course workload is increased? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nozzie Neutral Newbie October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 those parents who complain are losers la. children cry abit over exam must complain why it is so difficult. who knows next time parents of medical students will complain wait exam so hard my son/daughter cant be doctor. there is this thing called MODERATION. if a paper is damm hard and many students are performing less than expected, a 40/100 marks may be a passing mark instead of 50/100 if too many students fail the exam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 (edited) Those questions are quite simple and comparable to the PSLE questions I took about 15 years ago. By the way, people should not complain that the questions are getting harder; they are supposed to be! Technology and science is advancing so fast these days that everyone (not just in Singapore) will need to cram more material into their brains. New theories and laws are coming out everyday, should a physics major complain that people 100 years ago didn't have to learn about e=mc^2 and that his course workload is increased? Really bro, they look simple to you? I think I really have to hide myself liao. Or is it my brain is not thinking any more. Edited October 12, 2009 by Jamstart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 Really bro, they look simple to you? I think I really have to hide myself liao. Or is it my brain is not thinking any more. All those that you posted are much simpler than the one(sweet and chocolate question) that people are complaining about. Took me quite a while(30 minutes) to recall how to draw models to do that which means that if I were taking the PSLE, I'd have gotten the question wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watergun Neutral Newbie October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 (edited) Nowadays they teach the children to use the model approach to solve math problems. Students who follow & apply the method correctly will not face much difficulties. Parents who did not go through this will find it difficult. Some students find it difficult because they cannot fully understand the question(s). Besides able to solve math problems, one has to be good in the English subject. This is also one of the reasons why tuition centers are so popular and the numbers are increasing - work hand in hand? This could be also another way to separate the outstanding - mediocre - good - poor... students. They can then focus, and groom them accordingly. Let the children try & do their best. Parents should not complain and compare so much. Edited October 12, 2009 by Watergun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 From Yahoo Sg: Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 Kids are made to grasp the concept of relativity at the PSLE level. Mankind has progress very far.. errr... relativity is no Einstein theory of relativity lah. I explained it successfully to my primary school student. I figured it out myself during the car rides from AMK to jurong to visit my uncle. It is just the idea of transfering the motion from one object to another. Nothing is stationary in this world. Even the earth is moving at super fast. So all of us are moving very fast, it is just that everyone is moving at the same speed RELATIVE to each other, we seem stationary. Once you understand all motion is relative and apply it further, most primary maths questions should be simple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnolard Neutral Newbie October 12, 2009 Share October 12, 2009 come on guys...this is suppose to be primary 6!! im getting worried for my kids even before they are born.... hahahahhaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnolard Neutral Newbie October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 SINGAPORE: The Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB) said it has in place a process to ensure all examination questions are carefully set and vetted Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silklee 3rd Gear October 15, 2009 Share October 15, 2009 Personally I think there is some overreaction. There is no need for every single student in the cohort to know how to solve every single question. If all the question are of this level of difficulty, then I think there is a problem with the paper. If, however, there is only 5% to 10% of the paper that is of this level, then it is just to seperate those really smart ones from those bookworms who are forced by their parents to comb through books and books of assessment book. And even if a particular student doesnt know how to solve this, doesnt mean that he or she is a stupid or will be a failure in life in future. Personally i think way too much emphasis is placed on pure academic results in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ventin Neutral Newbie October 16, 2009 Share October 16, 2009 are my answers correct? If you think this is blur, look at these sums. (got from another forum) Shop A has 156kg of rice, while Shop B has 72kg of rice. Each shop sold an equal amount of rice and after that the ratio of the amount of rice left in their shop was 4:1. Find out how much rice has been sold. (3 marks) 44 kg 6/14 of the chairs in the hall are in rows of 13. Half of the chairs in the hall are in rows of 7. There are 112 more chairs in rows of 7. The rest of the chairs are stacked up. Find out the total number of chairs in the hall (5 marks) 1568 chairs 6 friends decided to rent computers from 2pm to 4.30pm. While 4 of them were playing, the other two would watch. If the cycle continues, and each of them played for equal number of minutes, how many minutes will each person get to play? 100 mins Mei and Lin were in a bicycle race. Mei was travelling at a constant speed of 20km/hr and they both did not change their speed. When Lin completed half the race, Mei was 3.5km ahead. Mei completed the race at 10.45am. What time did Lin complete the race? too chim Sally baked some cookies to sell. 3/4 of them were chocolate cookies and the remaining were almond cookies. After she sold 5/6 of chocolate cookies and 210 almond cookies, she had 1/5 of the cookies left. How many cookies did she sell? 960 cookies Curry puff shop sells puffs at $0.80 each. Offer:Buy 3 get 4th half price. If customer has $50, how many puffs can he buy if he buys as many as he can. 62 puffs String of 2 big balloons is 90cm String of 5 small balloons is is 1.2m If both strings are of the same length, there would be 105 more small balloons than the big balloons. How many balloons are there altogether? 805 ballons ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...