Are teachers and students overloaded?

Biglittlebean

Are teachers and students overloaded?

By Santokh Singh

CONGRATULATIONS to all the schools listed in the Ministry of Education's annual roll of honour this year.

They include those who made the rankings and banding list and those who won the numerous awards for best practices in the various categories.

Others were recognised for holistic character development of their pupils and for outstanding national education programmes.

While we celebrate these achievements, it may be timely to step back and look at how we achieved them.

There is talk that some schools may have gone beyond basic educational principles to achieve these awards.

There are some questions that schools should ask themselves.

Did they overload their students with more work than necessary to make the list?

Are their teachers and students subjected to more than one timetable in a day? After the official workday from 7.30am to about 1pm, some schools have two more unofficial ones for the afternoon and night.

Yes, as The New Paper found out on our walkabouts, some schools have the graduating classes and their teachers stay in school from 7.30am to 9pm.

Next, the schools have to ask themselves if they have over-tested their students to the point that they burn out and lose interest in their studies.

Some schools have mock exams before the preliminary examinations, others have two prelims followed by more tests before the national examinations. For them, testing goes on year-round, almost on a weekly basis.

The New Paper found out that some schools also conducted either mock examinations or preliminaries during the recent school term break.

Some parents may be thankful to these schools for 'baby-sitting' their children while they are at work or enjoying an evening out. But let's not assume that all parents are happy to abdicate their roles as care-givers.

Don't forget, too, that teachers, some of whom are parents themselves, have their own lives to lead.

They spend hours on end preparing for lessons, setting class work, tests and examination papers and then marking these assignments to help their schools win these awards.

They also supervise co-curricular activities and fill in forms for the School Excellence Models which are used as a basis for these awards.

Let's hope that they, too, do not burn out in this pursuit of awards.

This article was first published in The New Paper.

can someone point me to the new paper article...

I have both a wife as a teacher and 2 school going children that are in good neighborhood schools...

sensitive topic... dare not comment in public. ...

can someone point me to the new paper article...

I have both a wife as a teacher and 2 school going children that are in good neighborhood schools...

sensitive topic... dare not comment in public. ...

Your wife should be able to tell you whats going on in the education system right ? (provided she is really honest with you).

Hmm. I can't divulge much. Let's just say it does happen at even primary level. But I think it is non-compulsory for students. It's more like a study session for those who need to mug... the school provides a venue and teachers around to help facilitate.

One school do that, the neighbouring sch principal see oredi, must follow. Cos he/she scare if his/her sch results drops, he has no excuse. So must follow. Then another, another and another.

Eventually many school do that.

At the end become a norm. Night study is a must. That how it evolve.

Teach less learn more BS.

AT the end, its teach more, learn some more.

it's becoming a vicious cycle. year after year, they set more and more difficult question, parents panick, send kids to tuition, kids memorise the method, test setters set even harder and the cycle goes on.

who benefits at the end? the tuition centres.

while i am for having some form of challenging questions in test, there should be more than check on the kid understanding rather than those abstract questions where even adults have difficulty answering them. what's MOE trying to do, have a pool of nobel prize winners in 20 years?

it's becoming a vicious cycle. year after year, they set more and more difficult question, parents panick, send kids to tuition, kids memorise the method, test setters set even harder and the cycle goes on.

who benefits at the end? the tuition centres.

while i am for having some form of challenging questions in test, there should be more than check on the kid understanding rather than those abstract questions where even adults have difficulty answering them. what's MOE trying to do, have a pool of nobel prize winners in 20 years?

No, not a pool. It for a handful of top scholars who will hold top position in garmen. The difficult questions is to sieve out those above average students. Only the super good ones will able to answer. Otherwise everybody gets 80+ marks, how ?

So the 20 marsk are for super bright future scholars !!!! This is how the garmen design the society.

Its all planned out. Now many go to ITE, how many go Poly, JC and Uni. All must well planned.

my wife teaches at a secondary sch. pretty decent one, and she is super duper busy at at times, but the students and teachers dun seem to have it as hard as what TNP portrays. of course, different sch, different conditions. but staying back until 9pm? damn extreme.

i think at my wife's sch, the remedial ends latest 4 or 5 pm. and it's REMEDIAL, not kiasu/kiasee study sessions. tho i hear some students kay siao go remedial as a form of free tuition [laugh]

ultimately, it's a choice. blame society, but if one has no life, very often it's a choice they made.

singapore pressure cooker, dun wanna be pressure cooked? leave lor. or take the slower lane in life. study so hard also wun really help much in future. i think the best way to make it rich is still a good business acumen and some capital to start ventures, even though i;m the sort who is averse to risk and starting business.. study hard only really helps to get scholarship and work in gahmen. decent comfortable pay but not gonna be rich lah

my wife teaches at a secondary sch. pretty decent one, and she is super duper busy at at times, but the students and teachers dun seem to have it as hard as what TNP portrays. of course, different sch, different conditions. but staying back until 9pm? damn extreme.

i think at my wife's sch, the remedial ends latest 4 or 5 pm. and it's REMEDIAL, not kiasu/kiasee study sessions. tho i hear some students kay siao go remedial as a form of free tuition [laugh]

ultimately, it's a choice. blame society, but if one has no life, very often it's a choice they made.

singapore pressure cooker, dun wanna be pressure cooked? leave lor. or take the slower lane in life. study so hard also wun really help much in future. i think the best way to make it rich is still a good business acumen and some capital to start ventures, even though i;m the sort who is averse to risk and starting business.. study hard only really helps to get scholarship and work in gahmen. decent comfortable pay but not gonna be rich lah

ok la. study become govt scholar. Got decent pay and with wise investment acumen can also become quite rich. Also in govt got position of power. So if i could turn back time, i would have applied for a govt scholarship! [scholar]

In my JC where individual/small-group consultations are highly encouraged, a few of my teachers stay back up till 10pm.

They come back on Saturdays for consultations too, from morning till the late afternoon.

Edited by Alfisti168

Teachers NO

Students are overloaded YES.

Teachers are of a certain age already. And they are there to teach. And pertaining to age whatever we learn can't be too hard for them

Come to think of it, since they can be the setter of the extremely hard exam questions, can they not solve it?