Army field rations

Ahtong

What do you guys think of army field rations?

Maybe I have bad taste but I quite like it. The fruit bar and green bean is nice. The chicken curry tastes the same as canned chicken curry. The only disgusting meal is the savoury rice. That slimy and heavy rice packet can be used as a weapon to slap people. What's the most exotic field rations you have ever eaten? I don't suppose there is a beef steak meal?

I heard that in America, they have dried field rations to save weight. In an emergency, you can use your own wee wee to rehydrate the food. You all dare to eat?

Uncle, I ask a stupid question. How did you guys open the can? Everyone carry a can opener or anyhow stab with the bayonet?

I think the most iconic army food of my time is the round orange chicken patty.

lol dragon meat? quite tough i would imagine. i think will taste more like geylang chick meat.

i love the halal muslim rations. Always like to koup those instead. god Dam delicious compared to the non-halal ones.

for the Halal rations.... the pastas (got bolognese and satay (satay the best though)) tastes much much better than the mutton bryani rice and chicken glutinous rice....

On 10/7/2009 at 11:18 AM, Stingerquek said:

Don't know about other country,but do all "lau chio"soilder still remember this?Really sucks big time and all the houseflies like the stupid sardin......

During my time we already have the current nicely packed rations but you know what? Before field camp we always go NTUC to buy sardines, pork cubes, bake beans to bring outfield... the exact stuff SAF used to issue as field rations that lao jiao soldiers like yourself hated. hahaha [laugh]

  On 10/7/2009 at 11:28 AM, Ahtong said:

Uncle, I ask a stupid question. How did you guys open the can? Everyone carry a can opener or anyhow stab with the bayonet?

I think the most iconic army food of my time is the round orange chicken patty.

Using the SAF standard-issued all-purpose swiss army knife can open the cans.

I like the field rations mainly because of who I eat it with.

When the going gets tough, lightly drizzling (at least storm will have cat 1), a few of us gather round a fireplace and cook noodles. Sometimes we add a bit of water to the plain rice and add some mutton korma to make real nice porridge. Even until now we still talk about what dishes we tried to reinvent and the times we had.

I still remember the newer field rations in dark greenish packs. If boil in mess-tin then consume, actually not bad. Nicest time to makan will be at night then after tat go confiscate rifles wich weren't securely protected. Hehehe

To open a can , there are a few methods those that i used are

1 .Use Jack Knife

2. Scrape the can against a rough wall until the can wear out and the cover will just drop out

On 10/7/2009 at 11:18 AM, Stingerquek said:

Don't know about other country,but do all "lau chio"soilder still remember this?Really sucks big time and all the houseflies like the stupid sardin......

i like the braised chicken...dipped into the "dog biscuit"...yummy....do SAF still issue those green packets kong guan "dog biscuit" for field rations?? ROD too long leow.

my time was green tin foils already (i ORDed 3 years ago). I remember i was at Ulu Sembawang. I opened the non-halal chicken rice and was very sian. Then i beckoned the few mongrels around there and jio them to come makan. They sniffed and gave a -_-

look. They were very eager when i offered them the horlicks candy though.

I think this speaks volume about combat rations. lol