Shld share the prize?

SGCMmadman

Think a dinner treat from the friend is good enough, unless there isnt even one then the friend is a bit [thumbsdown] .

im surprised someone actually won the car prize in such lucky draws,

i always thought such prizes are gimmicks and only "won" internally , heh [sweatdrop]

Think a dinner treat from the friend is good enough, unless there isnt even one then the friend is a bit [thumbsdown] .

maybe i can understand y

1. the fren got financial problem

2. the fren $5k cash used to buy COE + need to top up for registration fees, insurance etc

3. the fren in the end got more liability due to petrol + parking + maintenance + ERP

Say if the TV brought home, short circuited, causing fire in the house.

Will your friend then say "because i help you bought that TV, let me share your damage." ???

IMO, there is no obligation for her to share the winning lar.

hi bros n sis? m new here, jus need ur opinions n advise.......my colleagues wife's fren wanted to buy a LCD tv end of last year which was having a very special lunch time onli price..... last one on offer... needed to pay immediately n she realised she lost her purse..... because was the last piece, the salesman said cant reserve, so my colleague wife paid on her behalf using credit card. the fren had filled in the contest forms b4 paying but since she din pay n my colleague wife paid 4 her, no new forms were given to my colleague wife to fill in..... guess wat, weeks later the fren won a mazda 3 and $5000 cash...COE was 5k tat time, so in a way, a free brand new mazda 3 wif COE.... and guess wat, my colleague wife got nothing.... and wat makes it worse, she accompanied my colleague wife to buy a washing machine months later for my colleague's place and din even offer to pay the S$199 tat the washing machine on offer cost.... how ungrateful can a person be? my colleague wife helped the fren get a job despite knowing the person had very bad credentials, helped financially wen the fren was getting married..... and the fren cant even share the prize... to me tats not a fren... every1 (frens, family, biz colleagues) are simply shocked tat such ungrateful people exist in tis world.A fren even suggested colleague n his wife, sue bestdenki (the organizer) for not issuing contest forms wen my colleague wife made payment at point of sale. my colleague wife is jus too good hearted to do tat but wat makes me mad is the sheer boh-chapness and ungrateful behaviour. wat would u do in their place? share 50 -50 wich wat the fren would hv insisted if situation was reversed, give the 5k cash prize?

when you help you should not expected to be rewarded. but i guess i may have bought something for lady B in appreciation.

what's the problem here?

end of the day is ur colleague's wife buay song she got nothing from e lucky draw?

the friend is the one who wanted to buy the TV, the friend also promptly pay up on the same day, so she won the car why need to share leh? the most the friend can treat her to dinner or something to thank her.

so let me ask u, if ur colleague's wife managed to fill up the lucky draw in her name, then won the prize, who the prize belong to leh? remember it's the friend who paid for the TV leh, ur colleague wife lend her money not because the friend cannot afford but because at that time she don't have a wallet, it's a big difference

yea... there was once i help my dad's friend buy 4D when he and my dad was outstation.

guess wad he tio $30K! i was very tempted to tell him i forgot to buy.

but i came clean broke to him the good news and gave him the money. end of day he gave me $200 outta goodwill

so should i be expecting 50/50? i guess not right. he paid me back for the 4D capital also. im merely a middleman.

wah i'd never help or promise to help anyone buy 4D man... it's risky business... if let's say i forgot to buy then number come out, how? who believe who man

people who lend a company money are known as creditors or debenture holders or bond holders. they are rewarded based on interest whether the company do well or not. but the shareholders are only rewarded if the company do well.

the wife acts like a creditor. the friend should treat the wife as a gesture (ahem interest) whether or not the friend strike a prize. if the friend strikes a prize, there is no obligation for the friend (shareholder) to share the dividend with the debenture holder. similarly if the tv catches fire, the wife is not obliged to save the shareholder

honestly my fren n his wife duno i posted tis, dey din ask aniting ,jus learnt abt it tru casual chats. not here 2 coz trouble as in the post, i jus wanted opinions tats all

My opinion is that your colleagues wife should not expect anything back because she had got her $ back the same night.

Whatever appreciation for help given to your colleague's wife is merely a bonus. No need to get upset over such things.

But your colleague's wife's fren also lacking in EQ. I'm sure she is the type who have little or no friends around her. Pple who don't know how to show a little bit of appreciation (not necessarily $) to someone who has helped her a great deal in many things don't deserve to have that friend.

maybe i can understand y

1. the fren got financial problem

2. the fren $5k cash used to buy COE + need to top up for registration fees, insurance etc

3. the fren in the end got more liability due to petrol + parking + maintenance + ERP

Wat liability u toking abt?

After paying for the COE, insurance etc, can easily sell off the car for a huge fat profit!

Say if the TV brought home, short circuited, causing fire in the house.

Will your friend then say "because i help you bought that TV, let me share your damage." ???

IMO, there is no obligation for her to share the winning lar.

[thumbsup] way to put it in another perspective.

I used to have a friend who blamed me for damaging his brand new handphone even though I did not even touch his phone. Y? He dropped it while trying to call me and becos of this, it became my fault and it affected our friendship [crazy].

Wah...like that also can? [sweatdrop]

Your friend is a admirer of people wearing white? [laugh]

alot of members here seem not to understand my post.... my colleague n his wife nvr ask 4 aniting, its jus others like frens, colleagues who r suprised n buay song tat the fren nvr even offer to pay for the $199 washing machine. if the fren hv cant afford a new car wif insurance, registration, dey can sell it or change to OPC, and fm wat i heard, the fren can still detail the car 2 look more sport, so bottom line, if u hv cash to detail n maintain a normal plate car, surely u can jus present ur fren a $199 washing machine rite? come on la... eventhou my colleague n wife nvr ask 4 even a fishball, the fren shld use common sense ma

huh..... wtf.... [hur]

The prize sld goes to the person who wanted to buy the TV, not the one who helped to foot the bill coz afterall she is not buying the tv and never expect anything from this action PERIOD. BUT when the buyer won something, human becomes greedy and expects something sld be shared for some involvement in the luck.

but at least the buyer sld treat the lady who helped to pay for her goods as a gesture of goodwill since it also helped to win prize.

its like helping someone to buy 4D, if he lose, u dont share his loss, but when he won, u try to gian peng his prize by saying 'i helped u buy, i helped u write the numbers' etc

Edited by Babyt

alot of members here seem not to understand my post.... my colleague n his wife nvr ask 4 aniting, its jus others like frens, colleagues who r suprised n buay song tat the fren nvr even offer to pay for the $199 washing machine. if the fren hv cant afford a new car wif insurance, registration, dey can sell it or change to OPC, and fm wat i heard, the fren can still detail the car 2 look more sport, so bottom line, if u hv cash to detail n maintain a normal plate car, surely u can jus present ur fren a $199 washing machine rite? come on la... eventhou my colleague n wife nvr ask 4 even a fishball, the fren shld use common sense ma

Dude, there is no such thing as common sense in this matter. Maybe the fren thinks your colleague's wife already earn the credit card points and also got the ~55 days cashflow due to paying later for the credit card bill?

If your colleague n wife really don't want anything then should not go about telling and badmouthing the fren right? But the correct way is if you want something to just go ask for it, need not be direct can be a hint or something right? Or just suan the fren a little and say something like "Hey, win a car so lucky ar! Treat dinner leh! I can sign with my credit card first again!" right?