Australia: Car Rental in Perth

Tjkbeluga

I Guess you referring to n* bird. remember to get full insurance coverage. I saw on Corolla last week scratch his side and mirror broken which I guess fallen asleep while driving.

Driving at night need some attention there especially along bushy roads as kangaroo will just pop out and kill themselves towards your head lamp. But cruel advice is just kill it the local advise.

You should drive with high beam and dimp it when you see opposite traffic approaching and then on back when pass this way u get to see more road and kangaroo.

Speeding now is not advisable as they are high on speeding as some smart locals complaint.

Offline GPS you can try "here maps" for iphone donno for android if there is.

For the flies there nothing you can do only thing is when it's cold you can Kungfu fight the houseflies as they are slower and retarded.

Just came back before midnight of Mon...

Nope, not no-bird. We went with Ace Rent-a-car. Didn't get additional coverage from them, and luckily nothing happened. We did get the AXA travel insurance with has $2k excess coverage, as recommended.

Lucky no kangaroo suicide and i managed to keep myself awake although a few times not v alert...

Was careful and obedient most of the times and did not speed except for the first part when it was late and dark, as well as the trip to and from Pinnacles.

Took me so long to download the Garmin map, and guess what, wife forgot to bring the charging cable so didn't use it anyway... In any case, the Optus SIM card plus offline Google map served us ok. We ran low on data for the last 4 days, and so bought another $10 SIM card by Telstra which was on offer and gave 6 GB data.

Gave up on the flies... Will Australian thank me if i try to find some natural predators for the flies and relieve them of the nuisance to have to live with them buzzing around your head all the time?? (not that I can think of any at the moment)

Nope, not no-bird. We went with Ace Rent-a-car. Didn't get additional coverage from them, and luckily nothing happened. We did get the AXA travel insurance with has $2k excess coverage, as recommended.

Lucky no kangaroo suicide and i managed to keep myself awake although a few times not v alert...

Was careful and obedient most of the times and did not speed except for the first part when it was late and dark, as well as the trip to and from Pinnacles.

Took me so long to download the Garmin map, and guess what, wife forgot to bring the charging cable so didn't use it anyway... In any case, the Optus SIM card plus offline Google map served us ok. We ran low on data for the last 4 days, and so bought another $10 SIM card by Telstra which was on offer and gave 6 GB data.

Gave up on the flies... Will Australian thank me if i try to find some natural predators for the flies and relieve them of the nuisance to have to live with them buzzing around your head all the time?? (not that I can think of any at the moment)

not to scare u...  but.. rental companies can still charge you up to 6mths period.. shld there be proof of any speeding... my friend kenna for doing 112 in 110..  no give chance at all one...  

i think not juz australia wld love you...  malaysia love u deep first ah.. if u can find a solution! 

release a large number of genetically engineered dragonflies that cannot breed...    

not to scare u...  but.. rental companies can still charge you up to 6mths period.. shld there be proof of any speeding... my friend kenna for doing 112 in 110..  no give chance at all one...  

i think not juz australia wld love you...  malaysia love u deep first ah.. if u can find a solution! 

release a large number of genetically engineered dragonflies that cannot breed...    

alamak... like this i worried leh...

must keep fingers crossed then... But in mitigation, I only sped for the first stretch as it was late/dark and i was worried about my elderly parents need to find toilets. The other time to Pinnacles, whole trip there/back i overtook one lorry. And got 10-12 cars overtook me, and my theory is that surely those locals familiar with the place will know whether can speed or not, so i just followed (slower than them too)  [laugh]

But we did get one summon, as the bloody wilson parking ticket machine was out of order there (I even took a photo of it). Had sent in an appeal but it's still pending... 

dragonflies will eat flies arrh? if so, then should start. How the flies get so entrenched there?? Think suggest to them to breed frogs there, eat all the flies maybe their (frog) meat production can exceed beef... Just need to train the frogs to jump real high  :grin:

Offline google map is actually very good already.

True.

If don't need real-time traffic condition, can just use this.

Get a sim card at the counters in the airport. Use Google map and that's good enough. I paid extra for a GPS because I wanted to prepare contingency in case my network died. Europcar was great, got my Hyundai, enjoyed the trip round Albany. Don't speed, get complete insurance coverage, avoid driving during dusk and enjoy your drive.

Yup. There are 2 counters at airport after coming out of the gate - Optus and Vodafone.

Before you come out (just after disembarking), there is also Telstra card being sold. But if you don't buy there, you can't get it once you go out of immigration/custom, and you'll have to go to petrol station/supermarkets/shopping centres to get.

I also wanted contingency by bringing my own gps, but forgot to bring cable and we didn't need to fall back on it anyway.

Didn't get extra insurance cover except on the travel insurance part.

Yup, don't speed. At least don't be the fastest car around (unless yours is the only car).

I don't go to australia during summer for this reason.

there are only some flies during spring period.

just rem.. GPS got a flaw... i blindly set point A point B...   

it took me on a rocky road through a corn field once... unnerving.. extremely bumpy ride... 

12apostles heading up the grampians stretch

use the route preview and alternate route in gps ;)

just rem.. GPS got a flaw... i blindly set point A point B...   

it took me on a rocky road through a corn field once... unnerving.. extremely bumpy ride... 

12apostles heading up the grampians stretch

I don't go to australia during summer for this reason.

there are only some flies during spring period.

I should have remembered and extrapolated. abt 20 ago went wallaby in i think Oct/Nov also had lots of flies in queensland. My previous trip to gold coast/brisbane in Dec also the same... 

Guess that's it for now. The flies super commando types, use hands sweep also they will not go away...

Not so easy to spot speed or red light cameras either.

And there are slight but important differences to Road Traffic highway code.

So need to be vigilant at all times.

I found this to be one place where Cruise control very important.

Set to speed limit and get peace of mind.

Just returned from Perth.

To counter the super high excess in almost ALL major rental companies' standard insurance excess ($4000 AUD from Thrifty), I got travel insurance from Income that covers the excess ( up to SGD $2000) , the remainder I got from Tripcover to reduce to $300 AUD. Costs me additional $66AUD for 10 days rental.

Oh, and for the navigation, I used Waze. GoogleMaps sucks ! 

Edited by Othello

To counter the super high excess in almost ALL major rental companies' standard insurance excess ($4000 AUD from Thrifty), I got travel insurance from Income that covers the excess ( up to SGD $2000) , the remainder I got from Tripcover to reduce to $300 AUD. Costs me additional $66AUD for 10 days rental.

enjoy the trip? cool weather down there   [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

Care to share why waze is better than google map in Aust? I went on self driving trip in perth and melbourne using google map , found it quite ok to use.. I will be gg brisbane and gold coast next week. so may consider using waze instead...

enjoy the trip? cool weather down there   [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

ah laos like us just relak lah, more important is my boys like it  [laugh]

Daytime weather shiok, nighttime still a bit cold

Care to share why waze is better than google map in Aust? I went on self driving trip in perth and melbourne using google map , found it quite ok to use.. I will be gg brisbane and gold coast next week. so may consider using waze instead...

I find Gmap not too accurate in the spatial/distance sense. Sometimes the turn is right ahead but not obvious from the app... I dunno, maybe is my settings. I used Waze all the way, then once or twice used G and quickly changed back. Waze is not perfect but I prefer it over G

ah laos like us just relak lah, more important is my boys like it [laugh]

Daytime weather shiok, nighttime still a bit cold

I find Gmap not too accurate in the spatial/distance sense. Sometimes the turn is right ahead but not obvious from the app... I dunno, maybe is my settings. I used Waze all the way, then once or twice used G and quickly changed back. Waze is not perfect but I prefer it over G

Google maps are based on waze information right. Anyway in Sg, I uninstall waze liao. G map works better.

nice! my family is planning a trip end Nov, can you share your iti? we should be renting from Hertz (35% off with Marriott discount). For 10pax, we are planning to rent 2 cars but the additional excess coverage is so ex! trying to find other ways to work around it. 

If you want to take the risk, just get cover by the travel insurance will do.

the country so big and not many car, just drive carefully and dun hit anything, chances of being hit also quite slim.