What is Side Slip?

Babyt

or dedicated, dilligent, dependable, etc etc!!

Yup yup yup..

51a15411b4c8192663.jpg

JB also computerised?

There's one just outside Sentosa, corner shophouse tyre shop which I used to go.

So many ws in JB all have COMPUTERISED 4 wheel alignment. Most abt RM60 is the market rate there.

Ive been doing in JB for >2 years n ty just as good as SG alignment but less than half the price.

So many ws in JB all have COMPUTERISED 4 wheel alignment. Most abt RM60 is the market rate there.

Ive been doing in JB for >2 years n ty just as good as SG alignment but less than half the price.

and many mechanics here actually come from MY!!

and many service staff here are actually from MY, too, you know ! ? ! :o

isn't the cultural exchanges between the two countries something we have to preserve!? it will be good if we can play our part in the preservation effort! [grin]

Ya many workers in other fields too r from Msia. The more qualified/experienced ones wil work in SG for higher pay.

Those not so good will work in Msia n JB fr lower pay till ty hv more experience then ty try to look fr a job in SG.

Many of our SG ws employ cheepo Msia trainee mechs which do a lousay job on repairing our cars. Obne ty have more experience, many wil job hop for more pay n some go back Msia to set up their own ws in Msia.

Ya many workers in other fields too r from Msia. The more qualified/experienced ones wil work in SG for higher pay.

Those not so good will work in Msia n JB fr lower pay till ty hv more experience then ty try to look fr a job in SG.

Many of our SG ws employ cheepo Msia trainee mechs which do a lousay job on repairing our cars. Obne ty have more experience, many wil job hop for more pay n some go back Msia to set up their own ws in Msia.

Basic car maintenance is not hard to diy like in the west, sgp car owners' hands a bit too precious to be dirtied... some countries have ws facilities for rent, diy owners can book the facilities to look after their cars every 4-5 months [thumbsup]

Actually with the help of youtube etc, its not too difficult to learn some basic diy.

Actually many of them had gone back to MY to work, cos their economy has grown and prosper now, especially in JB.

I ever met a mechanic in JB, a young guy, who is just a staff in a workshop. He told me he last time work in SG, but came back JB to work instead. Although he gets lesser pay in JB, but he don't have to go/in out Causeway (sometimes jam) and also he is closer to his family and has better quality life too.

Basic car maintenance is not hard to diy like in the west, sgp car owners' hands a bit too precious to be dirtied... some countries have ws facilities for rent, diy owners can book the facilities to look after their cars every 4-5 months [thumbsup]

Actually with the help of youtube etc, its not too difficult to learn some basic diy.

In the West, people usually live in bungalow houses with garages, or some big place outside their homes. So they can do all sort of DIY in their garages. Just get the necessary tools and can start work liao.

In SG, the majority live in HDB flats! Where got place to DIY ? Since no place to DIY, why bother to see Youtube to learn how to DIY ?

So sometimes, its not that we (Singaporeans) don't want to get out hands dirty.....

In the West, people usually live in bungalow houses with garages, or some big place outside their homes. So they can do all sort of DIY in their garages. Just get the necessary tools and can start work liao.

In SG, the majority live in HDB flats! Where got place to DIY ? Since no place to DIY, why bother to see Youtube to learn how to DIY ?

So sometimes, its not that we (Singaporeans) don't want to get out hands dirty.....

I did oil changes etc without owning a garden / car porch hor.... if there's will, there's a way!! [grin]

BTW, sgp is short of land and cant have typical western style WS ie big yards / sheds. But we come out with multi-storey WS and my overseas car-friends were stunt and impressed when they came here and saw these WS in the air!!

How about renting a WS bay for say 1-2 hours to do diy car mainteance?

You can be full of excuses when you dont want to do something (DIY car mainteance), or want to do other things (bioing xmm). [smash]

Actually many of them had gone back to MY to work, cos their economy has grown and prosper now, especially in JB.

I ever met a mechanic in JB, a young guy, who is just a staff in a workshop. He told me he last time work in SG, but came back JB to work instead. Although he gets lesser pay in JB, but he don't have to go/in out Causeway (sometimes jam) and also he is closer to his family and has better quality life too.

can i replace "mechanics" with "KTV PROs" to better represent your experinece? [grin]

Edited by Super7

I did oil changes etc without owning a garden / car porch hor.... if there's will, there's a way!! [grin]

BTW, sgp is short of land and cant have typical western style WS ie big yards / sheds. But we come out with multi-storey WS and my overseas car-friends were stunt and impressed when they came here and saw these WS in the air!!

You can be full of excuses when you dont want to do something (DIY car mainteance), or want to do other things (bioing xmm). [smash]

You have all the necessary tools, like jack, to DIY an oil change? If don't have, even if you rent a WK, it is of no use....

I don't beo xmm when I am in a WK, I beo the machanic instead, watching him work on my car, and ensuring all is done properly. [laugh]

can i replace "mechanics" with "KTV PROs" to better represent your experinece? [grin]

No no....both aren't the same lah.....you can swap them! [laugh]

I also think many here not sure what to do n what is correct oils etc n afraid they use wrong oil n then car wil spoil.

I think many not sure abt oils n also brake fluid, PS fluid, coolant n washer fluid.

Even I been doing DIY for many many years hv times I almost fill wrong fluid in wrong place cos my mind thinking of other stuff. Lucky I also wil stop n think a few times to make sure b4 I pour the fluids in.

Imagine u pour coolant in EO filler or EO in coolant. Or ATF in brake fluid the sure got problems.

Maybe even ws mech ever make such mistakes but just keep quiet n then hope nothing happen. Worse owner come back in a week ty just say parts spoil n need to repair n just charge owner. Owner also wun know the mech made a mistake.

Ya some Msian mechs used to work in SG but go back to work in JB cos tarvelling easier n maybe JB now pays better than b4 but slightly less than in SG.

SG the cost of meals etc also very high n the jams at the cway is a turn off for them.

I also met a mech at my JB WS he said he used to work in SG but now prefer to work in JB.

True. Not easy to DIY when stay in HDB.

I usually drive to top floor of my MSCP where got nobody n do my DIY repairs n work there. So far I never had any problems with pple complain cos I go in the late morning n early afternoon when nobody around there.

Another problem with WS here renting out their space for DIY maintenenece by car owners but then who responsible if there is an accident or owner is injured or killed while maintaining his car?

Where do you normally dispose off the used engine oil? Dun tell me you dump into the drain hor.

Edited by Rayleigh

Where do you normally dispose off the used engine oil? Dun tell me you dump into the drain hor.

I passed it to WS which did major work on my car. Or a hole in my friend's backyard in JB lor.

Ya some Msian mechs used to work in SG but go back to work in JB cos tarvelling easier n maybe JB now pays better than b4 but slightly less than in SG.

SG the cost of meals etc also very high n the jams at the cway is a turn off for them.

I also met a mech at my JB WS he said he used to work in SG but now prefer to work in JB.

True. Not easy to DIY when stay in HDB.

I usually drive to top floor of my MSCP where got nobody n do my DIY repairs n work there. So far I never had any problems with pple complain cos I go in the late morning n early afternoon when nobody around there.

Another problem with WS here renting out their space for DIY maintenenece by car owners but then who responsible if there is an accident or owner is injured or killed while maintaining his car?

How they do it overseas --- sign rental paper which holds the customer responsible for such mishaps.

I passed it to WS which did major work on my car. Or a hole in my friend's backyard in JB lor.

How they do it overseas --- sign rental paper which holds the customer responsible for such mishaps.

Even if the customer signs a waiver, I not sure if it wil hold up in court cos still the ws operator cud b held responsible for any accidents happen in his ws.

Maybe floor oily n customer slip n injure himself. He claim the ws operator never maintain his ws in a clean n safe state. Or the car lift fall n drop the car on the car owner n he die. Many things can happen.

I think most ws boss wil b more worried about being sued for mishaps n the income he earn from renting out his space is peanuts compared to what he might b sued for.