Drive_carcar Clutched October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Actually that's a very hard question to ask, as I have quite a few bank account, with a few bucks here and there. The only investment I hold are 2 unit trust which tanked on me, so I can't be bothered to even keep track of it. Apart from that it's just spare cash stashed here and there. Heck! I even have some coins in my car, that should count for something. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 I dun know about about logistics counters but property counters cannot come down. The population is 4.99 million and another 300,000 PRs to come. I think HDB has 868,000 units and much fewer private units. So the demand for housing will only go up. All those people queuing up at show flats and buying it up are not all idiots that are going to get burn big time as many people here keep saying! so base on your figures, HDB flats and private apartments should be so packed that human beings are oozing out like pus from a pimple? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Gross image of pus oozing out of a pimple.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Put it this way, I cannot afford to be laid off.... Life is comfortable for me now, not rich but comfortable enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Gross image of pus oozing out of a pimple.... hahahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 experts always say u need at least 6 months worth of your last drawn salary as savings in case u loose your job. those so called EXPERTS...wonder if they have any savings at all.... talk is one thing, got $$ is another thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 those so called EXPERTS...wonder if they have any savings at all.... talk is one thing, got $$ is another thing. nothing wrong with that piece of advice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 nothing wrong with that piece of advice ya..just making a poke at the experts. nothing wrong with the advise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
relacker Clutched October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 actually if haven married and have no house or car, most will have a lot of savings but if marry wow...me not married that time my acct Baba(full) but once married is cui already, reno + buy furniture and electrical appliance kinda halve my savings liao then plus anwedding banquet spend on video, photo and honeymoon all so called once in life time events, then financial crisis again halve my remaining investment, siao! Now most months is can save but the increase in saving mostly from bonus from yr end. so i think should differentiate between if married or not yet married. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 (edited) marriage really so $ spending? i intend spend 15k the v most nia leh...jiak lak worst is i dun intend buy exp ring...giving her a watch instead... Edited October 5, 2009 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
relacker Clutched October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 marriage really so $ spending? i intend spend 15k the v most nia leh...jiak lak worst is i dun intend buy exp ring...giving her a watch instead... should check out renotalk forum for a gauge on reno cost, 15k ok for 3-4 rm reno, but 5 rm a bit unrealistic, unless u talk about resale flat that u dun wan to do any new reno. me spend 17k on reno for new 5rm flat, already very , very , very simple reno liao, even design my own kitchen using google sketchup on my own. but still air con cost me another 3.5k and hob and hood, sink cost me another 1.5k so altogether around 23k spent that's excl furniture esp the bed as u will want a king size comfy bed and electrical appliance like fridge, TVs, washer etc....phew! at least 40k cash in total ba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lendevear 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 I am about 30 and have accumulated quite a bit of savings. Perhaps allow me to share my monthly expenses here: Dining Lunch at workplace: $6 daily x30 days =$180 Restaurant: $20x4=$80 (Weekly) Subtotal: $260 My workplace provides cheap food for us as I am lowly paid. I spend an average of $80 dining outside. I do not have a girlfriend (no time and opportunities) and this is probably why I spend so little on dining. Transportation Petrol: $150 Parking: $65 (HDB) +$20(outside home)=$75 Maintenance servicing: $20 ERP: $6 Road Tax: $80 Insurance: $57 Miscellaneous: $12 Subtotal: $400 I have fully repaid my car loan earlier to save on interest, hence there is no loan expenses on it. I live near my workplace and that explains the low cost on fuel. Parking is free in my workplace. I go to comfort delgro for cheap and good servicing. Family commitments Allowance: $450 Subtotal: $450 I give 10% of my monthly salary to my parents. Personal expenses HP: $25 Cable TV: $40 Broadband: $30 Fixed line: $10 Clothing expenses: $30 Insurance: $240 Health supplements: $ 10 Hair Cut: $10 Subtotal: $395 I do not buy clothes every month, but every 6 months. Hence, that explains the low cost I spend on fashion monthly. In fact, I have only 10 sets of clothes, I call them 1-5, A-E. Week one I will put on 1-5, week two I will wear clothing A-E. Week 3 I will revert back to 1-5. Anyway nobody cares about what I wear at work. Leisure Tour: $200 Movies plus dvd rental: $10 Books: $5 (including reserving from library @$1.50) Subtotal: $215 I go on tours twice a year and spend about $2400 annually. I love to read and will reserve books online at least once a month to satisfy my craving for knowledge. I do not like to buy books as they take up space and I rarely read more than twice for any 1 book. Also, I tend to procrastinate reading books that I buy. Borrowing makes me ensure I finish reading the book by 3 weeks. Total expenses per month: $1720 Total expenses per year: $20,640 Income per annum: $65,000 less CPF= $52, 000 Savings: $31,360 There will be occasional indulgences like buying a new handphone. However, I abstain from buying such Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 (edited) my friend u very humble hor.. 65K P.A still low pay?? like only a few MCFers here are reasonable paid... maybe 1/2 of us over here are around the same like u... low pay and many other is getting very miserable pay liao.. Edited October 5, 2009 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 (edited) I am about 30 and have accumulated quite a bit of savings. Perhaps allow me to share my monthly expenses here: Dining Lunch at workplace: $6 daily x30 days =$180 Restaurant: $20x4=$80 (Weekly) Subtotal: $260 My workplace provides cheap food for us as I am lowly paid. I spend an average of $80 dining outside. I do not have a girlfriend (no time and opportunities) and this is probably why I spend so little on dining. Transportation Petrol: $150 Parking: $65 (HDB) +$20(outside home)=$75 Maintenance servicing: $20 ERP: $6 Road Tax: $80 Insurance: $57 Miscellaneous: $12 Subtotal: $400 I have fully repaid my car loan earlier to save on interest, hence there is no loan expenses on it. I live near my workplace and that explains the low cost on fuel. Parking is free in my workplace. I go to comfort delgro for cheap and good servicing. Family commitments Allowance: $450 Subtotal: $450 I give 10% of my monthly salary to my parents. Personal expenses HP: $25 Cable TV: $40 Broadband: $30 Fixed line: $10 Clothing expenses: $30 Insurance: $240 Health supplements: $ 10 Hair Cut: $10 Subtotal: $395 I do not buy clothes every month, but every 6 months. Hence, that explains the low cost I spend on fashion monthly. In fact, I have only 10 sets of clothes, I call them 1-5, A-E. Week one I will put on 1-5, week two I will wear clothing A-E. Week 3 I will revert back to 1-5. Anyway nobody cares about what I wear at work. Leisure Tour: $200 Movies plus dvd rental: $10 Books: $5 (including reserving from library @$1.50) Subtotal: $215 I go on tours twice a year and spend about $2400 annually. I love to read and will reserve books online at least once a month to satisfy my craving for knowledge. I do not like to buy books as they take up space and I rarely read more than twice for any 1 book. Also, I tend to procrastinate reading books that I buy. Borrowing makes me ensure I finish reading the book by 3 weeks. Total expenses per month: $1720 Total expenses per year: $20,640 Income per annum: $65,000 less CPF= $52, 000 Savings: $31,360 There will be occasional indulgences like buying a new handphone. However, I abstain from buying such Edited October 5, 2009 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 nothing wrong with that piece of advice yap, nothing wrong, in fact, 6 month pay worth of salary is only for youngsters below 30 yrs old... for those abv 40 yrs old, even 1 yr savings is very little... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
relacker Clutched October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 wah 58% savings, i'm defeated, you win. but your income tax is not much and you havent wife and child yet...so all in maybe i win anyway, do give yourself a treat more often or the hard work may become meaningless. dun worry once BGR sets in the food expense will balloon at least 2x, then also no time to read books, hp bill will increase, misc like movies , gifts will increase, tour expense also at least x2, and for sure petrol expense will not be 150/month :-) if partner live further from u even more hosay. so yes, save as much as u can while single cos' once it start phew...all ur saving tactics which i also apply swee swee will be thrown outta of the window Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 dun worry once BGR sets in the food expense will balloon at least 2x, then also no time to read books, hp bill will increase, misc like movies , gifts will increase, tour expense also at least x2, and for sure petrol expense will not be 150/month :-) if partner live further from u even more hosay. so yes, save as much as u can while single cos' once it start phew...all ur saving tactics which i also apply swee swee will be thrown outta of the window hahaha, dont scare him leh..... money if well spent is ......eh, well spent. hee hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2bfree Neutral Newbie October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 I am about 30 and have accumulated quite a bit of savings. Perhaps allow me to share my monthly expenses here: Total expenses per month: $1720 Total expenses per year: $20,640 Income per annum: $65,000 less CPF= $52, 000 Savings: $31,360 I am actually quite surprise to know that I spend almost $2000 monthly now. Bro, I officially crown u as my "Singapore Idol" . U are the most prudent fella I hav come across with dat type of savings percentage. U deserve my respect, I salute u. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...