How much savings do you have?

Rickster

How much savings do you have?  

190 members have voted

1. 1. How much savings?

• <$15K
    • $15K - $25K
    • >$25K

the poll confirms my suspicion all the while that Singaporeans generally do not have a lot of savings..about 41% have less than 25K savings..

All monies are now running up and down our roads and highways and beeping ERPs...amazing.

what is definition of savings? cash only ah? cpf also savings according to the govt leh.....

cpf is the govt savings, not "REALLY" consider our savings.

errrrr...u can take out your cpf anot and use for daily use [hur]

[laugh][laugh]

dunno leh, they say savings mah.

but seriously, cash only is a bit strict lah. liquid assets like shares should count. im sure alot of folk own shares lah.

Lidat, I can consider my clubs I own, can make liquid also? [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

this thread is about how much savings a person have.

So people more, some people less.

Some people tall some people short.

I chao kiasee, so always strive to keep high level of savings, from 2yrs, maybe work towards 3yrs.

If opportunity comes maybe all savings go into it.

Boils down to:

Do you know yourself?

I do.

Enjoy the weekend folks

yeah just make sure it's not the case of punter turned investor like myself.... [lipsrsealed]:huh:[:/]:o

this thread is about how much savings a person have.

So people more, some people less.

Some people tall some people short.

I chao kiasee, so always strive to keep high level of savings, from 2yrs, maybe work towards 3yrs.

If opportunity comes maybe all savings go into it.

Boils down to:

Do you know yourself?

I do.

Enjoy the weekend folks

yup....which is why i retired last yr al......but back in workforce.....cos was bloody bored and i still have 20+ yrs of sweeping roads in me [laugh][laugh]

Congrats bro. Thou u are losing your saving but u gain a wife eventually. Don't worry once it is over, your saving can grow at double the rate when both of u save together.

haha! save so much for wat? interest rate low like no mama. The most important asset should be liquidity ssets. i rather invest my money in! potential shares!

I always find it so difficult to save more than 300 a month. sighz..

It is not how much you save but the percentage you save.

e.g.

Mr A earn $15k a month but live a$20K life style

Mr B Earn $4K a month but live a $3.5K life style.

30 years down the road with compound interest who will be more steady?

Cultivating the correct habit is important.

Congrats bro. Thou u are losing your saving but u gain a wife eventually. Don't worry once it is over, your saving can grow at double the rate when both of u save together.

Provided she got the same thinking [:)]

Congratulation !

haha! save so much for wat? interest rate low like no mama. The most important asset should be liquidity ssets. i rather invest my money in! potential shares!

investment is considered a bona fide form of savings, lest you do not know.

however car is not investment and therefore not saving.

neither is leveraged investment, generally speaking.

just be careful of what you invest in.

Salute u. [smash]

I don't think there's a need to count until liddat though. Since u noe u r thrifty, such things are just necessary expenses.

Why count the hp bill, library, buying bks etc when u already know u are not spendthrift. [sweatdrop]

If u start another relationship, ur future gf might think u r too calculative. Even if it doesn't apply to her, she will think tat u attach a value to the relationship. Just food for thought in the way girls will think of u [sweatdrop]

Though I have never been poor, I know every cent counts. I do track my spending rather carefully and make rational purchases. Though I still believe that the ultimate wealth is health, my saving mode just kicks in when I am shopping! haha...

Maybe that's why I was tasked by CPF to write for IM$avvy on financial education and money saving tips. :)

Though I have never been poor, I know every cent counts. I do track my spending rather carefully and make rational purchases. Though I still believe that the ultimate wealth is health, my saving mode just kicks in when I am shopping! haha...

Maybe that's why I was tasked by CPF to write for IM$avvy on financial education and money saving tips. :)

Now i know why CPF didnt ask me to write for them.

cpf is the govt savings, not "REALLY" consider our savings.

before 55, I guess we only get to see value of our cpf savings when we buy a house.

looking at this thread, I think TS should include sub-categories for >25K.

but I know singaporeans love to pamper themselves by crowds & sales figures of travel & IT fairs.

I wonder, are singaporeans really so well-off?