Berncsp76 6th Gear July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 altho BTK is expensive, we must understand that we are also paying for the service and ambience and settings, i.e. comfort. we cannot compare it to a hawker centre stall la. that is also why the one in mandarin cost $25+ for each serving. haha...and help to fund the bosses nice pte pty bro... serious even though I am staying in Balestier/Whampoa area for more than 30yrs liao, I only ate once at BTK, nothing special. And I find that their rice is a tad oily and also MSG-laden, which you will have to order their over-priced drinks too. Even Loy Kee standards have gone down for the past few years. Although I still patronise the stall for sentimental reasons coz the boss is my dad's good friend and usually they give huge discounts. Btw haven tried YKN or WNK yet...coz always limited parking so dun wana waste time waiting for lot. I am also what the other bro says, a $2 chicken rice and a $20 one taste the same. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 for the record, i feel BTK @ balestier not fantastic. chicken normal, rice i feel is good. i recommend jurong east 300+ market there. pink colour signboard stall. white chicken seepeh good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 i think we need to understand the originality of chicken rice first, before deciding on which store is nicer. The hainanese chicken rice is the original chicken rice invented. you can see the yellowish colour on the chicken skin The cantonese chicken rice, is a copycat of the hainanese chicken rice. And this is BTK. The chicken skin is pale white colour...... So if i were to eat chicken rice, i would eat the hainanese chicken rice style, which is Loy Kee shop. But Loy Kee is also bloody expensive. So i will end up eating in hawker centres or coffee shops. I wouldn't wan to eat something that is a copycat version, and still have to pay so much for it. In the past, I used to like BTK until I knew about the differences in chicken rice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 Well............. I like the steam chicken rice sold at the following places: 1. Bishan Blk.510, beside the NTUC, "Peck Shan Leng Coffee Shop" 'Bugis Chicken Rice'....... as usual, long queue during lunch & dinner time...... 2. Blk 94 TPY Lor 4, beside Police Security Command. whole shop only sell chicken rice, wanton soup. forget the name of the shop..... 3. Blk.19, TPY Lor 7 coffee shop, roast chicken rice is .............. another long queue during lunch & dinner...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewtyr Neutral Newbie July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 for the record, i feel BTK @ balestier not fantastic. chicken normal, rice i feel is good. i recommend jurong east 300+ market there. pink colour signboard stall. white chicken seepeh good bro, JE got many 300 blks, is it at the yuhua mkt? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Jus went BTK....hb n I swear nt to go again....ex n not up to our expectation. 1 roast chicken, 3 bowl of rice, 1 kang kong....bill is abt $60 liaoz.... ups for u, me too, will never go back, went one month ago. not because of the price but more on the food. It is not as good, or rather, it is normal. If you are into chicken, meat i meant, u will realize hat the meat turns black very fast once placed on the table, that means its overnight frozen chicken. For the kind of price, i can have loads of good chicken rice at this 85 chicken stall in redhill market, beats them hands down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I find BTk only the River Valley is nice, but price is damn ex nowadays, if I am not mistaken it goes quadruple in the last 10 year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Oh, not sure if you guys tried the chicken rice at Ghim Moh market - it was quite nice as well There was also a roast meat stall along the same row - damn long queue as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paperger85 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 I didn't know there is one called YKN until I viewed this thread. Thanks for the add of YKN, shall give it a try sometime soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondaes8 2nd Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 try the one at bishan "JIn San Ling" coffeeshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esppppp 1st Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Oh, not sure if you guys tried the chicken rice at Ghim Moh market - it was quite nice as well There was also a roast meat stall along the same row - damn long queue as well Agree that this store is nice. There is a branch in ABC market too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Oh, not sure if you guys tried the chicken rice at Ghim Moh market - it was quite nice as well There was also a roast meat stall along the same row - damn long queue as well if u mean 东风發..then its nice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 try the one at bishan "JIn San Ling" coffeeshop. Cold chicken but nice even breast meat also v tender always long queue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz76 2nd Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 try the one at bishan "JIn San Ling" coffeeshop. their servings of chicken is generous.. plus it their taste also quite good overall (though not the best)... that y always got long queue... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 I like the chicken rice at basement of golden mile theatre. Its actually a steamboat place but I like their chicken rise better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 mayb im an east side boy, for such chicken rice, i wil go for 5 star chicken rice at upper east coast.. I used to like the 5 Star Chicken Rice there too but lately I feel that the standard has dropped and getting more pricey. I like Pow Sing from Serangoon Garden - tasty and reasonable price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 Cold chicken but nice even breast meat also v tender always long queue Is it the one beside the shop n save supermarket near the bus interchange? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 My most favourite chicken rice stall is hua2 ji4 ji1 fan4 at Redhill hawker center, near to MRT station. The stall only operates in the afternoon and closes by 1:30pm. Rest on Mondays and Tuesdays. Queue expected. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...