Help1 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1008605/1/.html NBCB....really talk c0ck....of course they are happy, dun need to worry abt retrenchment, the most is pay freeze or pay cut, if work performance not up to mark, most hanta taki....still woon woon eat beehoon until retirement....within 1yr 2-3 times bonues or one-time off cash type somemore..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 of course civil service is more stable than private sector. Why u sound so unhappy? Go join civil service lah, then u can also reap the benefit of stability hehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 haiz.... human beings work in civil service say they happy oso got ppl boey song..... if u realli think it such a heaven job then go civil sector lor, nothing stopping anyone. dun understand why other ppl happy oso cannot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 haiz.... human beings work in civil service say they happy oso got ppl boey song..... if u realli think it such a heaven job then go civil sector lor, nothing stopping anyone. dun understand why other ppl happy oso cannot. i got one friend also like that....then in the end turns out he was rejected from the civil service LOL not good enough to go in then sour grapes hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 haiz.... human beings work in civil service say they happy oso got ppl boey song..... if u realli think it such a heaven job then go civil sector lor, nothing stopping anyone. dun understand why other ppl happy oso cannot. yah lor...happy oso ppl comprain.....aiyohhhhhhhhh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Author Share October 1, 2009 not sound so unhappy...obviously they will be happy right...wonder why need to conduct the survey in the first place....the only thing that i can think of is that the govt want to tell the public come and join them and you will be safe from turbulence, storms out there in the private sector.... the survey basically "Bird Talk" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Ya lor..no 1 stopping..civil service so many kinda job, take your pick... Policeman,fireman, army,teacher etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 i got one friend also like that....then in the end turns out he was rejected from the civil service LOL not good enough to go in then sour grapes hehe i dowan to talk about positions like CEO of temasek. ppl accuse that position of cronyism i no comment. but civil sector in general? must be related to MM before can apply meh? sour grapes for wat. ICA just announced 600 positions up for grabs. whole day chop passport only, iron rice bowl. if ppl apply and feel happy doing this work, go and apply oso lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Ya lor..no 1 stopping..civil service so many kinda job, take your pick... Policeman,fireman, army,teacher etc... road sweeper, army cook....customs occifer....landscape architect the way ppl tok here like so easy to get into civil service...hahhaa....first thing is isd look their records nia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 You think civil service so good? In turbulent times it is good because you have a job and stability. In good times, they can only sit inside and watch their private sector counterparts outside get half year, one year bonuses. At best only get 2-3 months. The opportunity cost of job stability is that you don't get as much bonus in the boom times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 You think civil service so good? In turbulent times it is good because you have a job and stability. In good times, they can only sit inside and watch their private sector counterparts outside get half year, one year bonuses. At best only get 2-3 months. The opportunity cost of job stability is that you don't get as much bonus in the boom times. I think in the end is the same as if you level out, those bad times, Civil servants still get their just amount....and thus, being contented with it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 I want to apply censor those undesirable film job, get to watch latest movie everyday and keep those bad movies from corrupting the minds of the innocent people! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Author Share October 1, 2009 aiyah...you see me good i see you good kinda of thing....end of day most impt every mth has paycheck and continuous cpf contribution to pay off housing loan...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Civil service is like this. If you are a scholar on fast track, with your career mapped out for you, earning a fat pay check, then why not happy? If you a just a typical graduate, or non-graduate, then you get stepped on everyday, earning 70 - 80% of average pay compared to private sector, and no matter how good you are you still get passed over... how to be happy? Everywhere has it's own sh&t, it's not just the enviornment, but how you fit in I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remus325 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Try doing the same survey when the economy is booming and the result will most likely be reversed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Author Share October 1, 2009 thats why i said the survey "kay chua" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 (edited) http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1008605/1/.html NBCB....really talk c0ck....of course they are happy, dun need to worry abt retrenchment, the most is pay freeze or pay cut, if work performance not up to mark, most hanta taki....still woon woon eat beehoon until retirement....within 1yr 2-3 times bonues or one-time off cash type somemore..... You are wrong... It is out of a sense of duty and idealism, if i say so myself *cough* *cough* In a private company, whatever my efforts, are all translated into profits going into pocket of shareholders and top management. What do i benefit the society and general public? Very little. A public sector job allows one to contribute to the benefit of society and gives many opportunities to assist people - whether they realise it or not. Like teaching, for example... When the extra effort on the job can help even just a few out of the many served, the feeling of satisfaction is great. That contributes to the general feeling of happiness that the efforts are really worthwhile. So far i see everybody just talk about the trade-off between job stability and bonus size. Never talk about sense of duty and service? Edited October 1, 2009 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 (edited) I want to apply censor those undesirable film job, get to watch latest movie everyday and keep those bad movies from corrupting the minds of the innocent people! I want to join anti-vice squad and go undercover as a brothel customer. Hopefully the hookers are only rounded after the "transaction" is completed. It's the least I could do for my country. Edited October 1, 2009 by Darth_mel ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...