Is this a new trend?

Sg2303

I see more and more motorcyclists riding with 1 hand only!

The other hand is often placed on the laps or left dangling on the handle bar.

On a few occasions, I even spotted motorcyclists (MY plates) riding with the other arm behind their backs!

All these happened on small roads and expressways.

Anyone else had similar sightings?

I really wonder what they are trying to prove! [hur]

yeah if they like to show off their stupidity let em....Like hamburger say...as long as I don't get inconveniced as a result of their antics

don really bother mi as long they don buang infront of mi <_<

I once saw a motor cyclist suddenly buang right beside me during peak hrs in lane 3! Heng it is peak hr and the lorry behind him not moving fast else my car will be splattered with his blood and i will have nightmares of seeing him literally crushed by the lorry [sweatdrop]

I see more and more motorcyclists riding with 1 hand only!

The other hand is often placed on the laps or left dangling on the handle bar.

On a few occasions, I even spotted motorcyclists (MY plates) riding with the other arm behind their backs!

All these happened on small roads and expressways.

Anyone else had similar sightings?

I really wonder what they are trying to prove! [hur]

eh...that's nothing compared to the Indians....look at this:

This way of riding is very dangerous!

They may not be able to react in time if there's any sudden change in traffic.

And if suay suay they cannot react properly and anyhow siam in front of you.

Then that's it: 1 x stupid dead rider and 1 x innocent living driver.

used to ride, also once the bike reach the top gear, crusing on expressway etc, i'll use 1 hand also, unless traffic is tight. due to the sports bike riding position, back easily pain. as long as see traffic around starts to get tense, then back to both hand riding.. but now never ride liao, so dun flame me lol

Edited by Melvinnn

aiyoo. im a rider myself. still riding to work now. riding with one hand not to show off. do u know its tired plus backache riding a small kupkia. plus whenever front view is clear, i tend to use one hand too. i know its dangerous. lol. but watz the different with driving with one hand? dont u guys at times drive with one hand too? trend? at times i use one hand to drive too bcoz my right hand is busy smoking. LOL. *unless u are not a smoker*

soooo...... riding with only 1 hand on the handlebar prevents backache?

Wow... this is new cure, sia! Must announce to Singapore Medical Association. [shakehead]

from TP website:

http://www.spf.gov.sg/stats/traf2008_concern.htm

Motorcyclists & Pillion Riders Remain the Most Vulnerable Group of Road Users

Making up 108 (or 48.6%) of the 222 fatalities in 2008, motorcyclists and their pillion riders remain the most vulnerable group of road users (Table 1 refers).

Failing to have proper control,

failing to keep a proper look out and

following too close to the vehicle in front

are the top three causes of motorcycle accidents.

Knowing that is dangerous but then again, how?

I'm a rider before. Unless one is performing something real stupid with one hand handling... Riding bike is not as comfortable as driving car tho.

Saw a bunch of them on the N-S one behind another going at around 100....crazy man...they were nearly bumper to bumper...donno wat slip stream they looking for...